Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cleveland Heights High School

Public | 9-12 | 2038 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2014

The education quality in the school is decent, with a strong AP intiative, however because of the interdepartment/small school politics very little is ever achieved. The current security initiative is a joke and the security has ridiculous amounts of oversight, just as an example, a friend of mine entered the school in the morning and was hassled as to where his id was, however no mention was made of the large canister of liquid nitrogen he was carrying. It's incidents like these that make school policies commonly lauded as jokes in the school.


Posted October 14, 2013

I am a sophomore at Heights and I can say from personal experience that it is not a conductive learning environment. The small schools were supposed to help gear students towards a career, but they are horribly mismanaged. I am a Legacy student, who chose legacy based on the math, science, and engineering aspects of the school. However when I started at a freshman, I was placed in "The Impact of Science on World History" a combined world history and physical science class, physical science being the 8th grade standard that I had taken the year before. I was them placed in algebra 2 even though my recommended class was honors algebra 2. I was told that neither of these could be fixed because my combined class was a set legacy class and legacy did not offer honors classes. They did however offer a honors "option" where you do slightly more work without learning anything different in order for it to appear as an honors course on your transcripts. When I tried to transfer out of legacy I was bullied into staying by staff members. The overall learning environment is loud and distracting. Fights and riots break out over nothing and staff do nothing to control it. Horrible school.


Posted July 31, 2013

My daughter will be a junior this year and my son will be a freshman. AP US History was a rigorous class. The teacher assigned a lot of essays and worked with my daughter to improve her writing. She earned a 4/5 on the AP exam, so I'm confident that the instruction was very strong. The music program is first rate, and reflects our community's passion for the arts. There were 16 AFS students in the Renaissance School last year representing countries from Europe, Asia, and Africa. We have met some wonderful families through Heights Soccer, Baseball, Lacrosse, Golf, Hockey, Cheerleading, and Singers. There are many high quality opportunities available at Heights if you are willing to work hard and take initiative. The workforce is competitive. Brazil, India, Russia, Mexico and China (with the USA) will be the six most dominant economies by 2050. My kids are gaining a competitive edge by learning to work, learn, and live with people who have different perspectives and cultures than their own. If students run out of academic opportunities at Heights, they are eligible to take courses at CSU, JCU, Case, and CCC for college credit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

We moved out of Cleveland Hts before my kids had to attend here. My step-son attended CHUH High and it was horrible. We weren't informed that he wasn't showing up at school until his report card came - NO ONE attempted to let us know. Great. The whole 3 years he was enrolled, he floated through without doing any homework - they just kept passing him to the next level. His father pulled him out & had him do his last year with an online school. He couldn't pass unless he did the work. Duh. Communication with parents was non-existent. Administration was gruff and disgruntled. What dress code? Pants below knees on boys, and very inappropriately dressed girls, horrible language, all with no words from staff. Gang fights in the hallways & at sporting events were not uncommon (check the news). No respect or sense. The "Small Schools" initiative sounded like a good idea, but it was horribly mis-managed, very disorganized, confusing, a big failure. We made sure to move away before our other kids would be subjected to this poor excuse for a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

The ratings of 5 of 5 stars in 2009 & 2010 are completely ridiculous. Have to be administration or some of the rare few people that had a good experience here during this time. Bad bad BAD school. I can't think of anything good to say. Well, the elementary school - Gearity - wasn't too bad, but the district is closing that school, so no.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

This has to be one of the worst, poorly run high schools I have ever encountered. I say this nOt only as a parent of 2 children who attend, but also as a graduate. The security guards are a joke at best, way too friendly with students, poor communication skills, often off chatting amongst each other, there does not seem to be any dress code in place, boys pants are down to their knees, girls are in everything from night clothes to evening wear. The language in the halls in the presence of school administrators is a disgrace and never corrected. Both my children have managed to maintain high GPA's I accredit to my husband and I being very involved parents, incredibly terrific, focused children, and a few great teachers. I am overjoyed that this is my youngest child's last year. I would highly recommend home schooling before enrolling a child here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The amount of progress this institution has made since the Small Schools Initiative is impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

I graduated from here a few years ago and can honestly say I loved Heights. I really miss the experience, the people I met there, and the excellent education I received there. Heights is a rough school, but what you take away from it can completely change you. I transferred here after attending catholic schools in the city, and found my education experience much more satisfying. What you get out of Heights is up to you; the opportunities are there for you to take or leave, I was prepared for college and the 'real world' after I graduated because Heights showed me a sense of reality that the world isn't a lilly-white paradise. I can honestly say this school changed me for the better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2009

i am a senior at cleveland heights high and i've been there all four years. i love it.the small schools are amazing because it makes it seem as if the school isnt really as big as it is. the teachers are awsome because they do anything and everything to help you succeed. the honors/ap courses are very good and challenging. extracurriculars are plentyful.pretty much CHHS has a lot to offer and as long as you take advantage of it you will love it. downside:the kids who just dont care and make trouble
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

Im a senior at heights and i really enjoy this school. they offer all different kinda of clubs and sports to get invovled wih. Also Cleveland Heights has wonderful Pseo programs and is one of the only 2 schools that participates in Seniors to Sophmores which is a advanced form of pseo where you take all class ona college campus and get you in excellent shape for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2008

You really get what you put into Heights. If you're average, easily tempted and distracted, it's definitely not the school for you because it's easy to slip through the disruptions. The regular level classes are ok, but can lack rigor and order depending on the teacher. The AP/Pre-AP program is stellar and really prepares the student for college. I really enjoyed attending Heights, because the experience alone is an education. The teachers do an excellent job, despite the changing demographic and declining student focus on education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2007

this is a great school I learned a lot and met lots of nice people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2007

this chool is excellent it just need to stop all the fighting other than that excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This is a school that totally reflects the saying 'you get out of it what you put into it'. Where there are certainly pockets of students who suffer from lower expectations of themselves, there is also an unparalleled opportunity for motivated, gifted and hard working students to excel! There is an excellent AP program, a substantial Instrumental Music Dept that exceeds practically every other district in the area, and a lot of super, high function kids doing impressive things from A to Z.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

The administration and staff do a terrific job against terrible odds. It's not the quality of education that is lacking at Heights, it's the quality of students. Racial imbalance, lack of discipline, and lack of student's 'getting it' is what hurts this school. I don't know how the teachers manage to convey anything, given the attitude of majority of students. If your kid can get in AP classes, it's the way to go. Otherwise, they just sink like stones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

Just a great place all around. Some discipline problems but the academics cannot be matched.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 7, 2006

Experienced and devoted teachers who do their best, but would quickly go somewhere else if their retirment was transferable. The common attitude among the students is that of little effort and little respect to others. The district is currently well funded by corperate dollars durring a small school experiment, but who knows what will happen when the money runs out in two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Heights High can be a difficult school to attend. If your child is in the advanced placement courses, it is a much better school to be in than if he or she isn't. The AP courses are excellent and well-taught. The staff is dedicated and enthusiastic, despite now traditional budget cuts, and most parents are somewhat involved with their kids' education. The experience of attending Heights is an education in itself and, while not always the easist or most pleasant, I would recommend the school based on that alone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2004

The Height's Schools are quite good for all levels of students. The reason many people send their children (often against their wishes) to private high schools can, in many if not most cases, be attributed to one word: Black. Any school with over 10% black enrollment is presumed to be sub-standard. This belief is what keeps most of the University Heights students out of Heights High. My children have often commented that their education was richer for having been in the minority for a change. In 21 combined years in the high school, my children were subjected to zero fights or other dangerous behavior. Assuming some way can be found to fund the schools, I would recommend them to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

Heights High is one of the best high schools in the state of Ohio. The district's music program is outstanding and there are over 400 students involved in vocal and instrumental music at the school. All of the core academic courses are offered at four levels to meet the needs of all students. The staff takes a personal interest in each child. Heights serves a diverse student body and both black and white students are achieving at higher levels than in comparable suburbs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

469 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

468 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial85%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled31%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male63%
Black, non-Hispanic54%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial85%
White92%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female80%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled32%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students81%
Female87%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanic76%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial95%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled32%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
92 (2011)
 
92 (2010)
 
97 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

59%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

78%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 16%
White 16% 74%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 18%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 2:50pm
School Leader's name
  • Johnetta D. Wiley
Fax number
  • (216) 371-6506

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Sign Language
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13263 Cedar Rd
Cleveland Heights, OH 44118
Website: Click here
Phone: (216) 371-7100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hebrew Academy of Cleveland
Cleveland Heights, OH


Beaumont School
Cleveland Heights, OH


Fuchs Mizrachi School
University Heights, OH


Lutheran High School East
Cleveland Heights, OH


Hathaway Brown School
Shaker Heights, OH


Mosdos Ohr Hatorah
Cleveland Heights, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT