Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Constellation Schools: Old Brooklyn Community Elementary

Charter | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cleveland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $49,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

My son attends K at OBCES. The teachers are very dedicated to their students and have phenomenal communication with the parents! I recommend this school to my friends in the neighborhood with children approaching Kindergarten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

Living in the city of Cleveland, I honestly do not know what I would do without OBCS. I have three children who attend. The staff is totally dedicated to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

My son is in third grade at obcs and i love this school im proud to have my son attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son goes to OBCS and I love it. The staff is great and always present. They actually care about the kids that attend there school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

Both of my daughters have attended Old Brooklyn Community School since kindergarten. My elder daughter started with the school in the old St. Luke's Church facility. The school has weathered all sorts of changes: it has relocated twice,and it changed its curriculum from Montessori to character education. The curriculum change although necessary was hugely unpopular. I personally still miss the Montessori method. But, I don't see any other Cleveland public schools educating their children so well, so happily and so safely as the staff at Old Brooklyn. I think the principal is truly dedicated to giving each child a valuable educational experience and she has a knack for finding absolutely terriffic teachers. The staff here is great, the parent volunteers are highly motivated and involved, and the students continue to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

My child whole goals and out look has changed f0r the better...she can't wait to attend school each day thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

My son started 1st grade at OBCS last year. This year he will be joined by his brother who is entering Kindergarten. The school has done wonders with my eldest son who was failing behind academic standards but excelling beyond his class at a Cleveland Public school. The staff is marvelous they are friendly professional and caring. It's a safe and nurturing environment for children. The only area lacking is extra curricular activities. Overall a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

My children have been at this school for 7 years. It has undergone many changes, yet through it all, they have been able to maintain the best and most committed teachers, who take an interest in each child. They gave extra help to my son when he was falling behind, and now he tests above average in most of his classes. They also gave more challenging class work to my other child who is advanced and works at a grade level 3 levels above her age. I feel the school is safe, nurturing, and committed to a quality education and more. I don't agree with everything, but that is the way it is at every school. I reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

This school was started as a Montessori School in the late 90s. When we toured the school in 2005, we were told it was still Montessori. But on the last day of school in 2006, parents were informed in a letter that the school would now follow a traditional curriculum. What a big change to make with no input from the parents, and no advance warning! Those of us who want our children in a Montessori school did't have time to transfer schools because of the last minute notification. The principal, when asked about the changes, passed the buck and blamed it on the Board of Directors. And at the next board meeting, the directors made it clear that they were not interested in the parents' concerns. The Constellation schools are a good alternative in Cleveland. But talk to experienced parents to get the real story before signing up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

Our first two years at OBMS were very positive, with a really good Montessori experience for our daughter. Then, the principal instituted very anti- Montessori 'improvements' to the curriculum such as grades, a clas schedule, and workbooks. It very rapidly became a traditional school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

I couldn't ask for a better education. Parents, teachers and principal work together to benefit the child. children are taught morals and values. Individual needs are met. Very close-knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Curiously, without a full time nurse at OBMS, unless one is staffed this coming year, the board of Constellation Community Schools is intent on adding 4 or 5 more schools to the 11 already open rather than use available funds to improve services or facilities for these original schools. The teachers are excellent and committed. The administration seems without focus or direction. We sincerely hope this changes. At a meeting last year the principal lamented that charter schools didn't have the finances to defend against negative campaigns from established public school administrations, government offices and the media. Later in the same meeting, when asked if it would be possible for charter schools to pool their resources to help finance a positive information campaign, the principal said this wasn't necessary since any negative statements made against charter shools are no longer considered news worthy. Which is it, a problem or not news worthy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

This school does have an extremely dedicated and helpful staff. I was so happy to be able to enroll my son, especially after our horrible experience at Ben Franklin. I am amazed at my 6 year old son's reading and math abilities in Kindergarten! We love the school and our whole family is happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

My son has been at OBM since its start with only 32 children and its 2 teachers. I love the Montessori method of teaching. I have seen this school grow, watched many changes and still consider it one of the best educations my child can get. I have my concerns about its rapid growth and have noticed the Montessori methods decreased. But the parent involvement, teachers are still the best. Then again my opion may be biased remembering the 32 children at the start of it all. Generally, OBM would still rank in my top 5 schools for younger children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

My three children attended OBMS. One child for 3 years and the others for 1. Overall I would say this school is a good alternative for those parents who are not able to send their children to a private school. The school has a dedicated staff. There is a few extra curriculars available but not many. One major draw back for our family was what seemed to be a curriculum more centered around a heavy multi-culturism agenda. Discussions allowed surrounding everything under the sun, except anything to do with a Christian view. The main focus seems to be on every other culture except our Western one. OBMS is based loosely on The Montesorri Method of Teaching, and is becoming more and more like a traditionl public school. Again, if you have no other alternatives other than Cleveland public, this may be an option for you. K.McNeilly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2004

My oldest son has attended the school for 5 years now, and I am still pleasantly suprised every year by the growth and enormous amount of parent and teacher supprt here. I have a younger son in his second year of kindergarten and my other two boys will be attending soon enough! This school has the best staff, led by the best principal in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female94%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female>=95%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowBelow

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
102 (2011)
 
105 (2010)
 
102 (2009)
 
102 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 74%
Hispanic 17% 4%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Black 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 5%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cherie Kaiser
Fax number
  • (216) 661-5975

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4430 State Rd
Cleveland, OH 44109
Phone: (216) 661-7888

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Benjamin Franklin
Cleveland, OH


Pearl Academy
Cleveland, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT