Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
191 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary Byzantine School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
I have had four children pass thru SMB with one just starting pre school this year. Our oldest graduated SMB in 2008. We love the school and we love the church. A small neighborhood feel with a caring and very close knit family atmosphere and excellent academics. Dicipline is strictly adhered to (as we like it to be) and parents who complain about the high expectations thankfully don't last at SMB. The principal Rita Basalla is someone who deeply cares for her students and her families. This school/church doesn't just offer catholic lip service, they live it every day. Kids always make field trips even when parents can't afford to pay, and sometimes even winter coats find their way to the families that need them (just as a couple examples). Of course volunteering and fund raising are a part of this experience, this is a small school with not a lot of money. The parent who complained about these things in another rating obviously isn't one who cares about the school community enough to offer to help out. If you are sending your kids to a small catholic (or any small city private) school this is the norm and the way that good programs like this one exist. If you don't want to help then go to cleveland public for the education your kids deserve. Sports are at times lacking because of small size and affordability of many city families is always an issue. That being said, ALL of my kids have played sports at SMB. Basketball and volleyball mainly. This school and church are the main reason that my family has not moved out of cleveland yet. Go Blue Angels!

St Mary Byzantine School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Basalla, mrs. Potoma, father Merick. Thank you for all you have done for my family and for so many other families at SMB. You make our school what it is.


St Mary Byzantine School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Very strong and family like atmosphere with high expectations from teachers. Much of what goes on at SMB is framed with traditional eastern catholic values. The majority of teachers espouse these values. Your kids will be learning the ten commandments at this school, and attending church at least once a week. It is about traditional values.

St Mary Byzantine School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Depends on the grade and on the teacher. Some teachers seems to give WAY more homework than seems realistic, while others seem more reasonable. I am of the feeling that overall, the amount of homework is ok, but it can be overwhelming at times. More homework seems to be the modern trend.

St Mary Byzantine School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Thru strong a academics and programs like the annual science fair, the student body at SMB learns to see things thru until the end.


St Mary Byzantine School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Dicipline is a chief tenant of this school. This leads to a strongly respectful and caring environment to learn in.

St Mary Byzantine School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Thru the eastern catholic values, this group always goes the extra mile for their families and community. They don't just offer talk, they offer true compassion, help and families that attend here and struggle financially will be taken care of. Things like affording field trips, meals and even tuition at times. I know that these examples of true charity for others is observed by all who attend SMB and the students and families seem to see it too. It shows in the way that many of the kids here treat each other.

St Mary Byzantine School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
This school strongly represents values of high a moral compass and strict and caring dicipline. The principal Rita Basalla sets a high bar and expects it to be upheld by staff, students and parents. She always sets the strong example for everyone else to follow.


St Mary Byzantine School 4

Posted February 05, 2013
- a community member
I graduated St. Mary's Byzantine back in 2001 after attending K-8 there and I have to say, even though this school is tiny and the funding isn't so great (as compared to bigger parochial schools), they certainly make do with what they have. The teachers there, for the most part, are lifers with a huge dedication to their students. The small class sizes are great because teachers really get to know their students and take a vested interest in the success of their students. I will say at the time the school had a "one-size-fits-all" teaching style. I struggled terribly in math due to a learning disability and it wasn't until high school until I really understood math. But despite that, I continued on to a parochial high school and then to a prestigious private college. I am now in graduate school and I fully owe it to the dedicated teachers at SMB. If you want to send your kid to a school where the teachers actually care about the success of your child, send them to SMB.

St Mary Byzantine School 5

Posted January 01, 2013
- a parent
St. Mary's Byzantine is an amazing school. It is a small community and led by a dedicated, devout Catholic (Principle Basala) who really cares for the future and spirituality of each child that attends the school. The school offers great programs for as small as it is and as little of budget that it runs on. The people who work there are truly dedicated since they work there for the love of helping children, not huge salaries. I was sorry to see the previous rating, because it really misrepresented the school, because of a family who is choosing to slander the school out of a misguided over piousness. St. Mary's is a wonderful place to educate your child in the faith and it offers a small school environment with a variety of educational opportunities. Don't miss out on this gem of a school for your kids.

Nearby schools

St Mary Byzantine School
4600 State Road, Cleveland, OH  44109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (216) 749-7980
Last modified St Mary Byzantine School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top