Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary Byzantine School

Private | PK-8 | 191 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cleveland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $49,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2013

I graduated St. Mary's Byzantine back in 2001 after attending K-8 there and I have to say, even though this school is tiny and the funding isn't so great (as compared to bigger parochial schools), they certainly make do with what they have. The teachers there, for the most part, are lifers with a huge dedication to their students. The small class sizes are great because teachers really get to know their students and take a vested interest in the success of their students. I will say at the time the school had a "one-size-fits-all" teaching style. I struggled terribly in math due to a learning disability and it wasn't until high school until I really understood math. But despite that, I continued on to a parochial high school and then to a prestigious private college. I am now in graduate school and I fully owe it to the dedicated teachers at SMB. If you want to send your kid to a school where the teachers actually care about the success of your child, send them to SMB.


Posted January 1, 2013

St. Mary's Byzantine is an amazing school. It is a small community and led by a dedicated, devout Catholic (Principle Basala) who really cares for the future and spirituality of each child that attends the school. The school offers great programs for as small as it is and as little of budget that it runs on. The people who work there are truly dedicated since they work there for the love of helping children, not huge salaries. I was sorry to see the previous rating, because it really misrepresented the school, because of a family who is choosing to slander the school out of a misguided over piousness. St. Mary's is a wonderful place to educate your child in the faith and it offers a small school environment with a variety of educational opportunities. Don't miss out on this gem of a school for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

at least one family recently pulled their children out of this school after 3 months into school year. their new school claimed they were behind in phonics, reading and comprehension after months of wasted time at st mary's. also the mother had the look of horror on her face shouting horrors taking place in this school/st mary's


Posted September 7, 2009

This is the same school I attended while growing up, and now my daughter attends St. Mary's. This school is outstanding, the teachers are dedicated to the students learning process, and the children are well behaved and respectful to other students and staff. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

As an alum and a parent of three current students (another one to enter in 2 years) I truly appreciate the sense of community the school offers. I agree that some of the facilities need help, but that is what the fundraising is for. We are one of the few schools in the Cleveland area that has been operating financially in the black for the past four years - that means your tuition remains stable. They now offer an advanced math curriculum to help with high school transition and I beleive they have one of the best science programs in the county. I purposely sent my children to this school to receive a Byzantine Catholic education and to have a sense of community and spirituality while receiving an excellent education. I feel the students are some of the most respectful, pleasant children that you would want your children to socialize with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Outstanding staff, caring and compassionate atmosphere, well behaved student body, great parent teacher interaction, but has some sub standard facilities. Overall a great start for preparing your child for a local competitive private high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

I graduated from st mary byzantine last summer. I think this is an average school,although the students and teachers are very close-knit. very good history program! It did not prepare me for high school level math, just an FYI. I would say my favorite teacher ther was mrs. tirpak. Not a very well- rounded spports program. st marys has the following sports available; basketball, baseball, volleyball. they host 2 concerts annually a spring showcase and a winter showcase, including the choir, band, and younger students. Little to no ethnic diversity... Beware- this is a very small school=hard to adjust to high school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 2, 2006

We have found St. Mary Byzantine to be a challenging and rewarding school for our daughter who will be starting first grade this fall. She has blossomed as an inquisitive and responsive child who asks questions and expects intelligent answers. Mrs. Verardi, her kindergarten teacher, was absolutely wonderful and has been teaching there for 20 (?) years or so. I recommend this very affordable private school to parents in the Old Brooklyn community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

academically not the best not enough extracurricular activities besides fundraising parental involvement to the school means fundraising
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

Great school. Teachers are caring and very dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

The Principal is very caring, the teachers are very knowlegable and the office staff is very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 77%
Black 4% 19%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rita Basalla
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (216) 749-7775

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4600 State Rd
Cleveland, OH 44109
Phone: (216) 749-7980

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pearl Academy
Cleveland, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT