Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Denison

Public | PK-8 | 679 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

School sucks. seriously the teachers don't pay attention to what happens while there backs are turned and the kids who do good are the ones who get yelled at while the bad kids get off scot free


Posted September 6, 2012

Awesome awesome!!! I love this school for my child. I transferred my child from Charles Mooney and I have to say it is hands down best decision I have every made. My son is learning so much more and he seems to be happy and not frustrated. He tells me the teachers are nice and patient with him and they don not yell at him like they did at Charles Mooney. The office staff is fabulous and they help you with anything you need. The teachers care and they are wonderful to my son. I appreciated they give my son the attention that is needed. I am very please and at eased with the decision I made and so is my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Because it has great teachers who really take the time with each student my niece went from ds and fs report cards to the honer roll after transferring to Denison school. They take pride in their students and community. Go Denison Dragons


Posted August 22, 2009

i am a student and i just got out of denison school.i would like to say that the staff at this school is wounderful and if you ever had a problem with drama then go to the security guard because they are wounderful.i went to this school kdg thru 8th and it was wounderful i wish they would of made it a highschool to.but i must say that when i went into my 6th 7th n 8th grade year i did get in quite a few fights.but other then that its a wounderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

I have a first grade daughter, First time at this School. Her teacher is doing a great job educating her and I can go to work everyday without worries because I know she is in good hands, I also want to give the Denison Staff for the great organization every morning. Keep up the good work Denison!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I like Denison Elementary they are very good with education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2007

Denison Elementary is a great school dedicated to the students. I must say I am also happy that the uniform policy is in effect starting this year. It is for our kids safety. Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

I love Denison School. They have teachers that care and want to see their students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2003

I have two children who received a very solid foundation at Denison, in a diverse and caring school environment. The teachers and principal are very committed to all the students, and encourage parents to be more involved. Denison is a top-notch elementary school that delivers a high quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son has attended Denison for the last three years and I am very impressed by the teachers and the great staff. His first year of school was taught by one of the finest teachers I have ever met, not only did she do a great job with the students she always had time for the parents as well. She always made you feel welcomed. Ms. Busse made my son first year of education a postive and rewarding start of his future. Safety and Discipline was other major concern and I feel very secure sending my son there every day. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2003

My child was a kindergartener this past year and I was very pleased with his teacher and aide. I can't say enough good things about them. The principal is very involved with the children and parents. That's what makes this school so Great!


Posted June 14, 2003

I have 2 children and both went to Denison. I can not say enough good things about this school. My daughter was in the gifted classes and did wonderful. All the teachers and staff are so helpful and most parents are involved in the day to day business and I think that is why this school is so great!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female50%
Male42%
Black, non-Hispanic28%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female63%
Male29%
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female78%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic47%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled44%
Non-disabled76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanic87%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled69%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female38%
Male39%
Black, non-Hispanic20%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female48%
Male39%
Black, non-Hispanic13%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students14%
Female19%
Male9%
Black, non-Hispanic7%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female38%
Male53%
Black, non-Hispanic25%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled43%
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic70%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled71%
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female26%
Male35%
Black, non-Hispanic16%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male57%
Black, non-Hispanic58%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female42%
Male50%
Black, non-Hispanic47%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students19%
Female21%
Male17%
Black, non-Hispanic0%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveAbove
Grade 5AboveMet
Grade 6AboveMet
Grade 7AboveAbove
Grade 8AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
84 (2011)
 
78 (2010)
 
76 (2009)
 
78 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 36% 16%
White 34% 74%
Hispanic 24% 4%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. LESLIE J. TRANTER
Fax number
  • (216) 778-6578

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3799 West 33rd St
Cleveland, OH 44109
Website: Click here
Phone: (216) 741-2916

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Rocco School
Cleveland, OH




Lincoln Park Academy
Cleveland, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT