Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newton D Baker School

Public | PK-8 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2013

I believe someone is posting false positive reviews to boost the rating. Come on, four reviews with five stars all written on September 9th. I am giving it two stars from my child's experience there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

This is the best Cleveland Elementary/Middle school in Cleveland. If you are moving to Cleveland, you definitely want to move to West Park so your child(ren) can attend this school. All 3 of my boys went to school here from K-8th Grade. They have so many programs for your children to involve and enrich themselves in. Art Club, Music, Band, Drama Club, Dancing, Sports, Reading Club (My boys were highest readers in the school and met & had dinner with the Harlem Glob trotters, Cleveland Browns & Cleveland Indians as rewards). The School is ALWAYS neat and clean, Teachers are very friendly and supportive if your child has special needs too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

Newton D. Baker School of the Arts is a phenomenal school. It is located in the heart of West Park. West Park alone, is the best city to live in, in Cleveland. The staff, volunteers and programs are a tremendous value to this school for students. My daughter attended NDB from K-8th. She still talks about how much she loved that school and misses it every day. You will not be disappointed. Your child will grow and learn so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My parents first stuck me in that constellation school behind NDB when we moved to Westpark. I hated Westpark community school. The principal Ms. Balldizzi was mean, the lady never smiled. I was being bullied and when I went to her to tell her what happened, she told me to toughen up. It went on for months until my mom and dad pulled me out and put me in Newton D Baker. Everyone was super friendly, no one picked on me, I was well liked and the teachers have a zero tolerance for bullying. Mrs. Sheppard the principal at NDB is very very nice. She gives great hugs and is always encouraging us to have a great day and keep up the good work. GO WILDCATS!!!!


Posted September 9, 2013

Just moved here in July to Westpark. Both of my daughters love NDB. Teachers were very helpful with the transition for them and welcoming them into the new area. One of my daughters has Asperger's and the school has all the fundamentals to help her stay focused and achieve a successful future highschool adult life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

I went to this school 1st - 5th grade. Im am 26 now and have always said if I ever have kids this is the elementary school they will attend. This school was so fun and they challened me, if I was told to draw a sphere they wanted a sphere and a circle was nowtgonna do lol and I loved the challenge. AMAZING SCHOOL


Posted August 5, 2013

My 3 year old daughter attending Preschool there in May 2013 fell off the playground there, broke her arm and received ABSOLUTELY NO MEDICAL ATTENTION WHATSO EVER. It wasn.t even reported until the next day when the teacher seen my daughter was absent. Their Preschopl program haas a teacher and a teacher aid so there were 2 staff members at the site of the accident. They claim my 3 year old showed no signs of destress which I thought okay maybe until she reinjured ths summer and I knew just by her cry it was her arm. My daughter got sent home on a bus saying Dear Mom your daughter fell off the playground this morning. She cried for awhile so she sat next to me thanks. I understand accidents happen but once I reported it I still haven't received ANY PHONE CALLS FROM THE SCHOOL, BOARD OR TEACHERS!Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

Newton D. Baker School of the Arts is a thriving, learning environment that accepts all cultures, backgrounds, and diversities. Their teachers exemplify a caring atmosphere determined to change these young children's lives. Newton D. Baker School of the Arts and their surrounding West Park community engage students young and old to follow their passion. The staff is inspiring and engaging which reflects why they were awarded the Blue Ribbon of Excellence. It is my hope that the city, state, and nation grant schools like this more of an opportunity to expand their arts department as it is a valuable and core curriculum for these students. While being in the middle of a failing school district, Newton D. Baker has continued to strive for excellence in the face of defeat. I recommend this school to all parents and guardians looking for the opportunity to give their child not only a chance in Cleveland but an education that is always evolving, improving, and inspiring. Keep up the great work.


Posted May 26, 2009

I am also a former stundent of NDB . I have to admit i did have its downfalls but what school does'nt. But dont get me wrong I LOVE THAT SCHOOL . I will always carry the lessons that i have learned at NDB and cherish them . If you are thinking of take yopur child here i say YES ! . You find that everyone is friendly and ready to learn . My mother loved that school so much that she would take me from 147st in kinsman on the east side to 159th in westpark . There are i great mix of races . And when they say no child is left behind they truely mean it . GO WILDCATS !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

it the best Blue ribbon school it has great teachers and students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2008

I am a former student at Newton D. Baker, and i loved that school. I started going there in the first grade, and left in the eigth. I relly appreciate all that came out of it. I really miss that school, and will never forget the people who got me where i am today. I now attend John Hay, and i was prepared for high school coming out of N.D.B. I reccomend this school for any body is ready for challenges, and loves opportunities because. at Newton D. Baker you can find all that and more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2008

I have gone to ndb since kindergarden and i have one more year to go. i really appreciate the teachers i have had because the have helped me to get where i am. i am a straight a student. i have been in many of the extra cirricular activities my school has offered such as dance ensemble, violin (w/ atotal of 6 yrs!), art club and many more. i encourage parents to send there children here because at ndb no child is left behind. it is unfortunate i will b leaving next year but i cnt wait for high school. o and GO WILDCATS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2007

my daughter has been going to NDB for almost 5 years now and I am so glad we were able to get her into this school, she is excited about learning and focused on her goals of becoming a dancer. Between all her regular classes she is in art club, dance club and conflict mediation and has begged me to never take her out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

My daughter has went to NDB for 4 years now. We are getting ready to move out of the city and I will certainly miss NDB. It has been a wonderful experience for her, the teachers and staff are wonderful. She was able to take Dance, Drama, Violin, and Art club. This is one of the best if not the best school in CMSD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Two of my children attend N.D.B. and they very much like their teachers. The academic quality of teaching is outstanding. My only worry is the security at the school where all kinds of people, be it parents or other, are allowed to enter the building with, what seems to be, little supervision. This is a great concern for me. The security in the school should be re-evaluated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

We have two children at Newton D. Baker School of Arts. The staff and the programs are excellent. I would highly recommend that anyone in the CMSD consider sending their children to this magnet school in the Westpark neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

The quality of teachers at Newton D. Baker is outstanding. Our Daughter is happy and excited about going to school each day. She is learning so much! We are so pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

This was my children first year at N.D.B. kindergarten and first grades. The teachers are the best. With my first gader attending another school for his kindergarten year I had the chance to compare teachers from two schools, and I have to say the teachers at N.D.B. are excellent, their caring, patient and kind. They always strive to make sure the students are learning a variety of subjects that can be carried on even into adulthood. They make sure no child is left behind (like I experienced at another school). Parents from other schools (some private) are amazed at the knowledge my children have at their young ages and how well they adjust to other cultures. I tell them it's all because of N.D.B. I wouldn't have it any other way! The entire staff,parents, principal are all wonderful. -Peacenlyn (V.P.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2004

My daughter just completed kindergarten. We are moving out of state and NDB is what we will miss most. NDB is wonderful! She has flourished this year. Her school experience this year was very positive, and has given her confidence that she can succeed. Academically, she is far ahead of her old friends from the suburbs who attended kindergarten half days. This school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2004

I love this school! I currently have two children here and one that graduated from here and I can attest to the fact that NDB is one of the best schools in the district if not the best! If it were not for NDB going to K-8 I was considering homeschooling my son now it is not even a consideration. When my daughter left NDB and went to the school of science her new teachers were so impressed with the education that she had already recieved and commented on how much more advanced she was than some of her other peers that did not attend NDB. So believe me when I say that the children of NDB really do learn more! -Alicia
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female31%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female62%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female35%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female63%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic67%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic75%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students73%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic67%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female50%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanic38%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female81%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic35%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled50%
Non-disabled72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female57%
Male52%
Black, non-Hispanic35%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled50%
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled8%
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanic74%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled42%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students16%
Female14%
Male18%
Black, non-Hispanic17%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled0%
Non-disabled23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Below Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetBelow
Grade 5BelowBelow
Grade 6AboveMet
Grade 7MetBelow
Grade 8MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
86 (2011)
 
92 (2010)
 
87 (2009)
 
93 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 16%
White 29% 74%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 44%N/A49%
Male 57%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 29%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Juliane F. Shepard
Fax number
  • (216) 476-6829

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3690 West 159th St
Cleveland, OH 44111
Website: Click here
Phone: (216) 252-2131

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Menlo Park Academy
Cleveland, OH



Riverside School
Cleveland, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT