Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitney Young School

Public | 2-12 | 311 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2013

Yes, WMY is a gifted and talented school but since they've added 2nd-5th to the mix, I feel that it doesnt give the REAL high school experience. I'm in 8th grade and have been here since 6th so I've been observing the high school area for a while and I definitely would NOT consider going here. Its not a real high school. Just a bunch of grades in 2 buildings. The students are nice for the most part but there are cliques and mean girls that I really hate. But I guess that's in every school. Ms. Scharf is the funniest and best teacher you will ever have! She's the main reason why I wanna stay! WMY is def overrated. They also don't assist you in your career choice. Like I said, we're a Gifted And Talented/Honors school but if what they're teaching me won't help me in my career choice, then why am I there?


Posted February 6, 2010

This is a very good school. the teachers are there to help, and the students are nice i am an eigth grader and ive been at this school since 6th grade. this school is overrated alot of times. but it is a good school. for high school it is not as good because there is not much college prep or extracurricular activities.and because of the middle/high school i feel it is not a real high school experience. even though i am not in high school yet. and the school needs alot of physical work, that needs to be renovated like walls and bathrooms, tiles are falling of the ceiling and because everyone thinks this school is so great, they forget that it INDEED needs alittle more work : ) and the principal is very good at her job. and makes wise decisions for us. she is Mrs. Karen-Byron-Johnson !
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2009

WMY is a great school! I am a current student and compared to my friends that don't attend WMY - I'm WAY smarter than them and I'm glad I'm at the school I'm at. But as far as my principal Mrs. KAREN BYRON-JOHNSON, she is NOT a good principal at all! She doesn't take the time to listen to what anyone has to say not even some of the parents. But if you're looking for a REAL highschool then wmy isn't the place for you. We rarely have any school dances or any other fun things that regular highschools do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2008

I'm a freshman in college and I have attended Whitney Young from 6th to 12th grade. Academically, it seems as if the students not only lack motivation, but they are below par. They don't prepare you for the real world, there are no real consequences for your actions, and they don't do enough to involve students that are not interested in the very few activities they have. There's too much yelling in the classroom going on, and not enough teaching. Many of the teachers are developing an indifferent attitude, which is reflected with the grades of the students. I would never recommend anyone to go here, ever. You'd be better off at another public school or in PSEOP.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

This is a great school. My daughter has been there now for 3 years and she has come a long way form where she was. I appreciate the fact they acknowledge students with good grades and give them opportunities to get better. I hope that my daughter continues to grow while attending Whitney Young so before she goes to college she can already know what to expect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

I'm currently attending whitney young for ninth grade i been at this school since my sixth grade (2005-2006)school year and to me the teachers at the school dont teach to everyone level they teach at one level not foucing on all the students needs and help problems. Another thing is they do not have act. For everyone because of the school been 6-12 they dont let the kids out of the building to go on trips or etc. The principal mrs.Karen byron-johnson dont allow the staff and kids to do alot of thing such eighth grade junior prom, high school homecoming, etc. So to me i think that the staff of the school and cmsd need to make the school either all gifted and talented middle school(6-8) or high school(9-12) so the students in middle and high school can get the same treatment as the other student in the other ms/hs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

this is the best shcool i ever went to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2007

I loved this school when I went there. I want to go back, but I am going into my senior year. I made a lot of friends at WhitneyYoung nad I will never forget them.


Posted July 12, 2006

Whitney Young continues to be a bright spot in the Cleveland Municipal School district. With all the bad press students and teachers are still committed to excellence. My child has been challenged and stretched this school year. I would love to see more parent participation. We have a Family Liaison and a parent group(SPO). We all know that when parents partner with schools students are more successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Staffing rates 50/50. For as many teachers that are caring and efficient there are those who seemto be there in order to get paid.Dealing with all types of students can be challenging to say the least but i get discouraged when my child's teacher remarks oh well you just have to try harder without any offer of help. Good thing another teacher was willing to offer help when their colleague turned away. Some teachers merely earn a degree while others actually teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Back in the 80s and 90s this school was fantastic. As of now, 2006, Whitney Young has gone down... way down. The students are terrible. Daily fights and all kind of trash talking goes on in the hallways and cafeteria. I talked to the principal about taking action on the disrepectful kid, she acted as if I was speaking a different. My advice to all, don't waste your time registering your kid to this school. Whitney Young is like any other inner-city public school...Bad! The teachers as well as the principal scream and yell just as loud as the students. What kind of example are they really setting for the kids. The school's academic is not up to par. The work is like a grade behind. My two sons, 6th + 9th gr. were not being challenge. They have fallen behind. I'm searching for a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

I am a student at wmy. I attended this school from 6th grade to 10th. When i was here in the 6th grade i loved it. but as years went on the quality of the school went down. The main problem in my opinion was changing it from middle school to highschool. They dont have alot of the classes that most highschools offer. The only non academic classes are art and gym. The students have no way of getting experiences in classes they might want to continue in college.We only have two homerooms in the 9th class with about 25 students in each class and the same for 10th grades. Alot of the teachers gave up on the students. We dont have any highscool activties or sports for kids to participate in. I think wmy had the best of interest in making it into a highschool but shouldve gaveit more thought.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

10 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabledn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students85%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female92%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students81%
Female85%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic81%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic91%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female82%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female93%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students78%
Female74%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet
Grade 6MetMet
Grade 7MetMet
Grade 8AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
105 (2011)
 
100 (2010)
 
100 (2009)
 
98 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

100%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 4%
White N/A 74%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A47%
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 40%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 7%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Karen M. Byron-Johnso
Fax number
  • (216) 295-3547

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17900 Harvard Ave
Cleveland, OH 44128
Website: Click here
Phone: (216) 283-5220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Lomond Elementary School
Shaker Heights, OH



St. Dominic School
Shaker Heights, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT