Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 3

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Very average. My experience started out bad, got better and now is just kinda "eh".

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
The first grade teachers are really excellent, which is important in this particular developmental period.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Again this varies from teacher to teacher. In their defense, the curriculum is not really their own and there is a lot of "teaching to the assessments."

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
It depends on the teacher, really. I have had experienced excess homework and also just the right amount. The excess homework was REALLY excess though.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
In my experience, there is really no persistence or grit being taught. There is little time for any individualized teachings unless your child is involved in the gifted class.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
The staff does try to promote respect between children. But, again, the amount of yelling at the children does not really promote respect between adult and child.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
There is a lot of yelling that takes place, and this does NOT promote compassion or empathy.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
The teachers usually try to get children to work out their differences. They make children return things that don't belong to them if the realize their is an issue. Sometimes they don't allow children to explain situations and may jump to incorrect conclusions.


Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff are excellent and caring. Many special needs children get great care from the educators at this first rate school.

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School 1

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
My child has attended LMA for several years. I have not been entirely satisfied with our experience. My child has special needs, and I feel they regard her as a nuisance rather than help her succeed. Also- They are too quick to offer medical advice; telling us what kind of medication she should be on, what kind of mental disabilities they think she has (even though her doctors have ruled out all of these diagnoses repeatedly). My child is now behind in her studies and I don't feel she's getting the attention neccessary for her to thrive academically. The principal and teachers are nice people, I just wish they would pay more individualized attention to students with special needs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
10308 Baltic Rd, Cleveland, OH  44102
(216) 631-3151
Last modified Louisa May Alcott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Louisa May Alcott Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top