Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is great....My son came from a CMSD and his reading was off....And now at TIS he has been getting the help that he needs to reading at grade level. I would recommend this school .

Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
My son is entering his 4th year at TIS. I am very pleased at what he is learning. The class sizes are small which is ideal for learning and teaching.


Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted May 09, 2011
- a parent
TIS is the best!! The teachers and staff are very friendly and everyone seems to work together to insure that students LEARN. The smaller classroom structure, provides so much individual attention and help. Parent participation is a requirement, children are encourage to read half an hour each night,plus visits to nearby Nursing Homes, teaches students to respect Seniors and to be more compassionate. Dr.Whitehouse is a sincere and dedicated principal, that loves her students and wants them to succeed!

Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted August 06, 2010
- a parent
As my grandduaghter once said Ms. Cudell is the best teacher ever!!! This school is the best ever. I love the interaction of the teachers with the students. You can tell that at the end of the day they have enjoied being at school. Also the teachers are always willing to give a report to the parents on the days activites.

Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Intergenerational School, The 0
no rating

Posted April 01, 2010
- a parent
I love TIS. My son attended TIS for two years and it was a wonderful experience. The teachers are caring and supportive, Dr. Whitehouse is an excellent leader, and the class size is unheard of in an inner city school. Unfortunately due to family circumstances I had to pull my son out of the school and enroll him in an area school closer to our house. I wish he could have stayed. It was a great experience.

Intergenerational School, The 0
no rating

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
So glad we found this school--they are providing the quality education that what we had hoped to find at our area public school, but did not. TIS is a wonderful school in many ways.


Intergenerational School, The 5

Posted January 31, 2009
- a parent
Our children are in their 2nd year at TIS. The limited classroom size, integration of age levels, intergenerational programming and focus on basics is proving to be very positive for both of our children, one of whom has an IEP. The philosophy that the school espouses shows in their programming and curriculum--including test preparation. A school like this will not be for everyone--there are few 'extras' and the multi-age classroom can have its pros and cons, but there is no false premise here. Every element of the school day is specifically geared towards the highest level of learning and interaction between the students, teachers and beyond (reading mentors, etc). It is a tight ship, and Dr. Whitehouse is firmly at the helm. Parents are expected to engage with their children's learning everyday ad we find that the student body reflects this parental commitment. We are very happy with the school!

Intergenerational School, The 4

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
Changing my son's school in third grade was a tremendous leap of faith for us, having previously attended a parochial school where he had been nurtured since the age of 3. After 1st grade I felt there were delays in his math and writing skills which were not being addressed. My concerns were met with comments like 'Sometimes it just takes boys longer to focus in these areas.' That was just not acceptable. While watching a segemnt on schools of choice I was introdeced to TIS, and I can't begin to tell you the didfference it has made. While my child still has some math struggles, his math teacher and other staff are all on board, and we work together as a solid unit to get him the help he needs to make sure he is succesful in all areas of his education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Intergenerational School, The
12200 Fairhill Rd, Cleveland, OH  44120
(216) 721-0120
Last modified Intergenerational School, The is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Intergenerational School, The Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews.