Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 59 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Menlo Park Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a student
Overall, although it is not specifically taught, the students simply behave nicely, so that it is not nessasary for highly developed skills to be developed further.

Menlo Park Academy 1

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
I am updating my review of a couple years ago, when I had rated it highly. The school has changed, and not for the better. It is a terrible place for kids who are not perfect gifted kids. If your child has a learning disability or any kind of learning difference, run don't walk away from Menlo Park Academy. They now have very poor IEP/ special needs supports, and the place is chaotic. There have been 4 school directors in the past 5 years and teacher churn is awful. Last summer there was a mass exodus, including all my child's teachers who quit the month before school started. Parents should know the teachers are paid badly, there are too many kids in the classes (gifted like other special ed should have small class sizes and they INCREASED class size Summer 2015), the building is dreary and over-crowded, and the current director is weak. The place is a disorganized mess.


Menlo Park Academy
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to my student for putting up with the nonsense at Menlo Park Academy this year. I am sorry I did not move you to a different school for the 2015-16 school year. If I had know that all your teachers would quit the month before school, there would be a new director, and more and more chaos... I would have transferred you earlier. I regret not moving you to a different school when I first had the instinct to, even if it meant starting a few weeks late in a different school, and I regret that this year has been a complete and total waste.

Menlo Park Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The amount of homework students are given at this school is completely ridiculous. They literally have it every night, even in kindergarten and first grade. Total overkill and not good for the kids.

Menlo Park Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
It is hard to be effective when the environment is completely unstable. How people function and kids learn anything at this school is beyond me.


Menlo Park Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Most of the students who come to this school have these characteristics already. The ones who don't will fall between the cracks, because there is no consistent programming to help them develop these traits.

Menlo Park Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
Poor leadership, inconsistent. It is hard for the students to develop respect when they don't feel respected and when the leadership is unstable, the teaching staff is a revolving door, and there is no charisma at the top. They just have to be lucky enough to have a decent teacher who can somewhat shelter them from the chaos and provide some guidance.

Menlo Park Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 24, 2016
- a parent
The school is really too inconsistent to make a judgment on this; I am not wowed by any special character skills that are being championed consistently throughout the school. Seems it just depends on whether you are lucky enough to get a decent teacher.


Menlo Park Academy 5

Posted January 30, 2016
- a student
I have been a student at Menlo my entire life and anyone who thinks that the rich kids get more, are completely wrong. Menlo submits to everyone's needs and brings out every unique part of every person.

Menlo Park Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 30, 2016
- a student
Though the homework can be a little heavy sometimes, it prepares students for high school and the rest of their lives.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Menlo Park Academy
14440 Triskett Rd, Cleveland, OH  44111
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. (440) 925-6365
Last modified Menlo Park Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top