Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin Heights High School

Public | 9-12 | 1158 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

This is a great school but not the best. The teachers will help me achieve my goals in life that's for sure. But sadly, the students there made my freshman year not the best. I really like the school though
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2013

I currently go to this school and I am not very fond of it. Many students here don't care about their work and get terrible grades. You have to sign up for advanced classes in order to get into a class of decently behaved kids. Teachers don't do a very good job of preparing kids for college. There's a lot of underachievement, and not a lot of discipline. Good if you're just looking to get a diploma though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2013

I read about those who had a fantastic time at this school, or how wonderful it truly is. And I have to wonder, are we really talking about the same school? This school was terrible. Realistically, it was overcrowded, and with the exception of perhaps two or three teachers, the faculty didn't much seem to care about their work and care with young adults. Bullies were on a rampage and the faculty did very little to help those affected. I sincerely hope things have changed in the last nine years since my graduation. If not, then Franklin Heights High School is still the worst place on earth for a young adult.


Posted December 21, 2012

Great teachers, excellent communication to the parents from the staff. My freshman loves it. The teachers truly prepare you for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

This school is okay, 1st day of my freshman year I didn't really like it very much. Most of the kids there always try to put other kids down because they are different. Its too much people that goes there. I would rather go to a different school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

Franklin Heights is a melting pot of cultures. People from around the world come together in one school and work together to achieve their goals. The teachers put fourth the best effort and never give up on the students. I'm beyond happy to have gone to this school and i hope that when i have children they can come here too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2009

I love this skoooooooooooool It has alot of people with different cultures. Now we can learn about different teachers and students who all love to teach and learn.. I love this skool. And i hope it is always this fun and great. Thank You for reading my review about this wornderful skoool..
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

I just transferred here from Harrison Central High School, and it is extremely over crowded, but what to expect coming from a school with no more than 500 students. But it's alright. And More advanced, so it gives me a challenge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2008

extremely overcrowded, at least one fight every day, but awesome teachers that want us to do well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

This school is great, we just need more money for events anf other things!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

I see a staff that wants student success and will work with concerned parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

i personally think franklin heights highschool is one of ohio greatest schools my daughter just transfored there from grove city and she loves it :) the school is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

i wouldnt say they are the best high school there is but it is a good place to get your education
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial92%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)69%

Reading

All Students80%
Female88%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic67%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial92%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)69%

Science

All Students66%
Female70%
Male61%
Black, non-Hispanic49%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial75%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled23%
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)52%

Social Studies

All Students70%
Female75%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracial83%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled27%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)66%

Writing

All Students70%
Female83%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracial67%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabled16%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
90 (2011)
 
89 (2010)
 
90 (2009)
 
88 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

51%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

77%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 74%
Black 23% 16%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 17%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Ronald R. Meyer
Fax number
  • (614) 278-6303

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Demorest Rd
Columbus, OH 43204
Phone: (614) 801-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Briggs High School
Columbus, OH


West High School
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT