Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
4 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Prairie Lincoln Elementary School 2

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Not all teacher's but a few teachers have very poor teaching styles. There are a few teachers who don't have the patience or personality to work with children. Some children are not treated fairly. I have a child who is crushed by the way his teacher treats him. It's heartbreaking. How do you prepare your child for an adult with authority to mistreat them? I don't know how to explain this to him other than some people are just not nice. I realize school is not all about having fun but he is losing his enthusiasm for school. I have contacted the school board but no response, met with both the principal and teacher. This year there is no homework and it is very hard to work with your child if you don't know what is going on. How do you study? How do you prepare your child for when they do eventually have homework? Students are penalized for getting correct answers but not using the correct strategy in math. Very frustrating. Wish I had other options. Praying that teachers will do right by the children. Teachers helps shape their life and they are our future.

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Mrs.Walsh does an excellent job. She is good with the kindergarten kids and she genuinely to seems to care.


Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
I dont feel that all teacher's are ineffective just some. I would like to feel like my childs teacher cares.

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
I have never heard of an entire school not giving homework. How do you prepare the children for when they do eventually have to do homework?

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Children are not encouraged to do good. The way you talk to students makes a difference.


Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted February 07, 2016
- a parent
Not all students are treated the same. Some teachers there do not have the patience or personality to be around kids.

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
So far our child is receiving an excellent education at Prairie Lincoln Elementary School. The teachers have been fantastic and have engaged us when necessary to address the status of our child s education. We keep an open line of communication with the teachers and Principal and they are always quick to respond to emails and phone calls. The PTA is well meaning, but parent participation is low. The PTA also fails to address the main issues facing the school: improving student test scores, student extracurricular activities, and increasing parent involvement. This school faces a unique set of challenges due to the fact that there is high poverty, roughly 6 in 10 students receive free or reduced lunch, and there is a large ESL, English as a Second Language, population. The ESL student families do not attend the standard PTA meetings and have little to no involvement in helping with PTA related activities. Hopefully the school can find a way to better integrate the ESL student families with the PTA to improve the student experience for all and increase parental involvement in the PTA. The school building was constructed in the 1950 s and is scheduled to be rebuilt by 2016.

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School 1

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
Not for us at all. The curriculum is deplorable and everything is out of date.


Prairie Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted March 01, 2011
- a parent
Some of the office staff are not very friendly. I don't feel they challenge some of the student enough. My daughter is advanced in Math and she brought home her first C this year and we knew it wanted because she doesnt know it it's because she is getting bored in class because she is not being challenged. After getting in trouble she brought the grade back up which showed us that. The school is ok but I am looking into alternatives for her.

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
I am amazed at the respect, diversity, and teaching that occurs at our Prairie Lincoln. The teachers and principal strive to see all the children become 'Self Managers.' with virtues of respect, self discipline, and caring that truly makes the education process better for the children. Though known to be on the 'West side' and not a part of the 'Elite Grove City', I am extremely proud of this school. With test scores at 92%...just a few points away from the state 'Excellent' rating, I know that the educators are the best we could ever ask for!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Prairie Lincoln Elementary School
4900 Amesbury Way, Columbus, OH  43228
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (614) 801-8300
Last modified Prairie Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top