Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hawthorne Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 649 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 25, 2014

Hawthorne is an amazing school! The teachers go above and beyond to meet the needs of every student by differentiating instruction. We work hard to find new strategies and new ways of teaching that are engaging and encourage the students to be active participants in the learning process. Our students discuss, debate, create and add to the learning daily. We are so proud of our students and our school family!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2013

Hawthorne came under new leadership for the 2012-2013 and now this year (2013-2014) things are really sailing along in the right direction. Teachers are great, administrative support is enthusiastic, and parental involvement is on the rise. The PTO is rebuilding and able to support more activities and extras at the school. The music teacher has a strings program for the older students. There is an in-building gifted program. Because there are several classrooms of each grade, teachers work together and sometimes co-teach, or divide all the first graders among the first grade teachers for math in groups by ability, as well as other innovative strategies. The school has a classroom garden and composting program, and teacher creativity is rewarded. The school also has beautiful grounds where students sometimes can eat lunch outside or walk along the paths.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2012

Hawthorne used to be an amazing school. Dr. Klein's leadership was phenomenal and the school prospered. But under Mr. Tombaugh's guidance the school crumbled, the school became a prison. They are currently unable to teach students and instead are handling misbehaving students 24/7


Posted November 10, 2011

My kids attended Hawthorne for Kindergarten, and then we lotteried them in to the magnet school program for 1st grade. The teachers at Hawthorne are wonderful, but Hawthorne draws from a low income area and parental involvement isn't very high. It did not feel like a community, it felt very fragmented, with parents acting stand-offish and keeping to themselves. When they do have events, it isn't a place where everyone knows each other. It is very easy for your above-average child to be top of their class, and I'm not sure that gives them adequate motivation. I am really happy that we only did kindergarten there. I have spent a decent amount of time there, and rarely saw the principal (whereas at the magnet school, the principal is very visible and involved).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I have only GREAT things to say about Hawthorne. From the Principal (Dr. Kline is just outstanding), to the teachers and staff, everyone is beyond helpful, courtous, kind and truely concerned for your children and their education. I'm more than pleased with the school and the activities that are given, and the facility is always clean. Most importantely, is that my son loves going to school and loves his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

My boy is in 2nd grade at Hawthorne and really seems to enjoy going every day. The principal (Dr. Kline) does an outstanding job as well as the teachers and staff. Great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

Our son is in 1st grade at Hawthorne, and we have had a wonderful experience during the last few years. At the beginning of this school year, our son broke his arm, and the genuine concern of everyone from the principal, teachers and staff was wonderful. Also, with the help of the Reading Recovery program, our son is reading with a new confidence, and at the level he should be at--thanks to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

my child had a cold last year and whent paralized in his right leg he ended up with mylitis (inflamation of the nerve).everybody was so great. his teacher's and principal came and visted him at the hospital and even gave him get well cards from his classmates,it ment so much I will keep them forever.when he whent back to school everbody took the time to work with us we was so scared about everything i would of never thought a simple cold would turn life upside down.so i would like to thank eveyone from the bottom of my heart for working with him and understanding what he was going through.to me this is the best school thay do care and keep children's safty first.again, to the teacher's,principal,and parent's thank you I can't say it enuogh and to joey's friends and classmates a very speacial thank you for being there for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2006

Good quality teachers and Principal(Dr. Kline) Excellent academic programs. music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities are available. Is a school that i will recommend to any one that i know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2005

I've been extremely fortunate that both of my children have attended and still attend Hawthorne. I can't say enough about the faculty, the administrative staff, the PTO, and the principals. Dr. Klein and Dr. Gibbs, there just aren't enough words. It's time for my daughters and I to move, but so much of my decision not to do so is based upon trying to keep my youngest at Hawthorne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

Staff is very caring towards the children. Everyone has excellent skills in dealing with parents and kids. My daughter has attended 3 years now, every year is better and better. Very outgoing school, principal and staff. Goes above and beyond. Principal is very involved in every aspect, including the children themselves! They all call her by her first name. My youngest can't wait to go there next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

I went to Hawthorne 2 years ago for kindergarten through 5th grade and those years I spent there were wonderful and often wish I could go back. I very highly reccomend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled65%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)63%

Reading

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanic80%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Disabled59%
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female81%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled52%
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)71%

Reading

All Students90%
Female>=95%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanic89%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled71%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female86%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled47%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)75%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial93%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled53%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)68%

Science

All Students70%
Female75%
Male65%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial86%
White77%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
94 (2011)
 
93 (2010)
 
92 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 74%
Black 37% 16%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 13%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Brett M. Gambill
Fax number
  • (614) 797-7131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5001 Farview Dr
Columbus, OH 43231
Phone: (614) 797-7130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Oakstone Academy
Columbus, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT