Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton Township High School

Public | 9-12 | 750 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2011

I enjoy HTS it has been a good school and I have a few teachers whom I really enjoy and help me if I ask. My only problem is I feel as if I am being looked at as a grade and not a student. The office can be a little rude as well...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2011

I have been nothing but pleased with Hamilton Township. All 3 of my kids have gone there for the last 9 years. The teachers are great, the buildings are all brand new and the students are getting better and better every year. None of my kids ever want to move out of the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Demographically we are one of the poorest, least educated Districts in Ohio. We run the majority of our extracurricular activities on parent volunteer power, and community support. We have managed to make upgrades to our buildings and stadium. We are also slowly, but steadily, raising our OGT scores. Our children stay strong and proud through their struggles to rise above. I am proud of our progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2010

I would NEVER send my kids here. I attended Hamilton 8th grade through out high school and I hated it. I have encountered soooo much racisim and even broke school records in track for throwing but NEVER reconized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

This school was amazing through the years I was there (02-06). The school is really improving and has caring teachers and support staff who are very approchable. The athletes programs are good not great and the marching band was one of the top in the state. The theatre department is very active and they have many other groups. Good school and a safe community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2009

I am impressed with all the improvements in the school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I am a graduate of Hamilton Township HS, along with my mother, aunts, uncle, cousins and friends. I recommend this school to any. It may not have water polo or a hockey team but it does have a great drama program, student council, DECA, and many more programs to help in the growth and development of your student. It's a small town feel with a world of opportunity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2009

This school is awesome......my Grandson has attended the Hamilton Twp. Schools since the beginning of his school days. He has excelled at all times. Thanks to his teachers!


Posted November 15, 2008

I am a graduate of Hammy High along with my Mom and sisters. My daughter is proud to be a third generation in this district. Her teachers are great and have always been there if she needs anything extra. Our little township is growing...it may not be a high end community, but either are our taxes! Hamilton Twp is a great place to raise a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I'm attending HTHS as a freshmen this year. It's not all that bad. The teachers I feel are trying their hardest to get through the last year of this old building. I'm just glad i get to attend both old and the upcoming new high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

There has been many negative things said about HTHS on here and with some I can see why but now the school is doing more and more to improve. Brand new schools and facilities will be a large boost for students and teachers (too bad im going into my senior year and will be unable to attend them). The board is making many changes to the schools operations for the good. I feel that in a few years that Hamilton Township High School will be very respectable and acredited school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

This school is great for all 6 of my kids they all went on to college and it makes me sad ididnt get the chance to attend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I went to Hamilton my whole life, K-12 and it kills me to see the bad things people say about it. Ive always felt like my teachers were there for me and gave me all the help I needed. It amy not be the richest school around but I can say they do the best with what they have and The teachers there helped make me who I am today. Miss. Conenll and Mr. Morbitzer especially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

Hamilton twp schools are terrible! They charge too much for fees $100 for high and 50.00 for elementary. Yet they can not tell you what the mystery fees are for. Also, they do not give adequate notice for special assemblies or pictures. They are unorganized. Teachers have no control over class rooms, letting students run wild. If punishment is implimented it is on kids who are outstanding! I do not recommend hts to any parent. Also the supplies sharing has got to go. By the 2nd month of school my children have no supplies since they have to share them with others who ruin them, so I have to buy more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

The teachers at Hamilton care about their students. In addition, much class time is wasted because teachers have to deal with unruly or unmotivated students when they could (should) be giving instruction. It is inaccurate and unfair to place blame for the district's short comings on the teachers...they do the absolute best they can with the funding and community support given to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

My child graduated in the top 10% with a 3.8 GPA and many accolades and recognitions, however I do not credit the school for any of these accomplishments. He had to work extra hard because the teachers were no help. The school system is getting worse every year. I still have one more child to get through school. It will not be in the Hamilton Township school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

We have a few very exceptional teachers that struggle to keep their jobs with substandard leadership who are there for the pay and not our students. As a parent you can approach the Administration (leave a message), but they ignore you and treat our children worse. If possible, send your child(ren) elsewhere since the flawed Administration is here to stay with the blessings of the School Board. It's a very poor learning environment for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

The High School is terrible. The teachers do not care about the students. Their AP classes are too short, the principle has no interest in supporting the AP and College Prep classes. The teachers aren't qualified to teach the AP classes. My child was reading a book in her College Prep class that she read in 8th grade. Not a challenging at all. Academically the school is behind. No assistance for students seeking higher education. Not the best school to send a gifted child/teen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

They don't have an open door policy. Most off the staff isn't approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

My daughter is a Sophomore at Hamilton, she has a 3.2 gpa. I have often wondered how she would do compared to students from other districts. Recently she took the early form of the ACT and tested very well. One portion above 80% of the population taking the test. It's my belief that if parents do not work with their children and have high expectations of them, it doesn't matter what school system you send your kids, they won't be successful. Does Hamilton have financial problems? Yes. But the district also has a fantastic core group of teachers, adequate facilities (New Middle School!), and a nice working middle class community surrounding the school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial92%
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial92%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial92%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled55%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial92%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabled60%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students93%
Female>=95%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic92%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracial92%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabled65%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
103 (2011)
 
100 (2010)
 
98 (2009)
 
98 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

67%

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

96%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 74%
Black 11% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Female 47%N/A49%
Male 53%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 11%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1105 Rathmell Rd
Columbus, OH 43207
Phone: (614) 491-8044

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Starr Columbus
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT