Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dunloe Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Dunloe Elementary School is where my grandson attends. He completed his Kindergarten year during the 2012-2013 school year. When my daughter invited to events at the school I found the staff to be very friendly and inclusive. I also like the fact that they do Individual Planning with the child & parents. However, I do believe that there needs to be bus monitors on the buses. Since I go to my daughter's home every morning & afternoon to put on & take my grandson off the school bus, there were several times where he was bullied by a third grader. When my daughter called the school, she was told that the school has nothing to do with bus incidents and that she would need to call the bus garage to make a report. After two weeks of requesting that somethng be done my grandson's seat was moved. I wtinessed another parent whose kindergartner experienced the same thing with a bulling 4th grader. I also witnessed the bus driver yelling at children (not my grandson), as well as other bus drivers speeding thru the neighborhood, especially in the afternoons.


Posted September 26, 2010

This is a great school with outstanding teachers, and a top notch principal. Very active PTO. Kids love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

My daughter spent Kindergarten and First grade here. It has been an awesome experience. The teachers are great and do there best. Plenty of school activities and the PTO is always active and present. The current school principal is a loving but firm parent figure for all. If we were not a military family due to move this summer, I am sure spending another school year at Dunloe would suit us just fine. My only grief is about the parking lot. The way it is set up and because it is so small. I dont understand why dont they use some of that land and make it bigger if not set it up where getting in and out is not a hassle. All these SUV's and trucks and school buses make it painfully stressful if not dangerous. Other than that, We loved Dunloe and its staff and Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2008

The last of my 3 children is a 5th grader at Dunloe. This is my 16th consecutive year at Dunloe, I have been through 3 pincipals and been there as long or longer than a lot of the staff. I would give this school the highest rating. The teachers are absolutely wonderful, as well as the (office) staff. I would much rather be in a school district where the actual people that spend all day with my children are caring and committed to the children as to maybe a school district that is more finacially stable. This school district struggles for support and doesn't always receive it through levys; however I would not trade this small school district for all the money in the world. I think Dunloe is a exceptional example of what a school should possess.--Rhonda Seel, parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

My child goes to this school and she thinks it is absouluteley wonderful.Everything about this school is wondeful the teachers have a great way of relating to the kids.The lessons are explained well so that they are understandable.They get specials such as art,music and gym which they get involved in.I suggest that people in the Groveport-madison schooldistric have their children go to this school. Sincerely, a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

I like the way the principle tries very hard to improve the quality of the learning enviroment for the children. There is also a big encouragement of the student population to respect each other and their school. You can see that these students are happy & proud to be a part of Dunloe Elementary due in part by the caring nature of the teacher staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

My child is in her first year at Dunloe Elementary and I have to say that I am very pleased so far. Miss Keiber is an excellent teacher and very good with the kids. I have observed the classroom first hand and know that she is doing a wonderful job with the kids. The principal, Ms. Curry, is very involved with the kids and you can tell that she is very dedicated to the children at Dunloe Elementary. My hat goes off to the both of you and a Great Big Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2006

I have 2 children who attend Dunloe Elementary and I am greatly disappointed in several health and safety issues that my children have been involved with. The lack of supervision during certian activities such as playground time concerns me. Also due to over crowding I saw a lack in consistancy when it came to my kindergardeners school work. Had my husband and I both not spent hours every night working with my child she would not be ready for first grade. Ex. all through the school yr my child hardly ever brought school work home. On occasion a homework packet came home. Good concept unfortunatily not consistant. At the end of year when my daughters work came home again many good concepts but not finished past Oct. My child would have suffered had I not taught her myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

My daughter is in first grade at Dunloe and I cannot say enough about her teachers both last year and this year. Both Miss Keiber (K) and Ms. Frisbee (1st) have gone out of their way to make my child's academic career a success. I am also very happy with Mrs. Curry, the principal, who makes herself readily available to parents and children. At orientation, Mrs. Curry went so far as to give every parent/guardian her home number. Excellence is the goal at Dunloe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

I have several children who have attended Dunloe Elementary and we can honestly tell you that we have nothing good to say about this school. My biggest complaint is when my daughter was able to check out library books and was given homework to bring home that required them or allowed them to read things that were not age appropriate. After complaining to the school of this, the books remained in the classroom along with the library. These students have more homework than college kids. I was told that one of my children cannot bring pop to school in there lunch bag, yet they give it to them in after school programs or birthday parties etc due to it not being healthy?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

This is the first year for my child to attend Dunloe Elementary and I am disappointed in this school. Several incidents have happened throughout the year where my child, a first graders , health and safety were put at risk. Also the lack of structure and discipline within the classroom was awful. I can honestly say I taught my daughter this past school year as she would come home every day with at least 8 pages of work and we would spend from 3:00 to 7:00 doing school. I do not know if this is due to the over crowding or what but I hope that by next school year I'm able to enroll my children in a safer more structured school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

Despite the financial difficulties the distric faces, the staff at Dunloe are exceptional and give every child the best education possible. Overcrowding is an issue, but if more individuals would support a levy, that would dissipate. The staff at Dunloe are involved with all parents, and definitely respond to those parents who show an interest in their child's education. Groveport Madison is a great school district with wonderful teaching staff; they lack the community support required to make them exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female82%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female>=95%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanic86%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female53%
Male80%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic88%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female57%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic61%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female62%
Male77%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students69%
Female67%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
86 (2011)
 
87 (2010)
 
88 (2009)
 
90 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 16%
White 41% 74%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 13%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Emily J. Curry
Fax number
  • (614) 833-2007

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Dunloe Rd
Columbus, OH 43232
Phone: (614) 833-2008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT