Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sedalia Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 489 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2013

I LOVE this school. All 3 of my children are enrolled there. The principal and staff are outstanding. Everyone there is kind and polite. They truly care about the children as if they were their own. They try to make sure none fall through the cracks. I have seen such compassion displayed not only for each other but for the students. Time and again I have seen the teachers bend over backwards to accommodate so many. I would highly recommend this school and for others to get involved and see for themselves what a precious gem we have in our backyard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I believe this school to be lacking greatly,my son missed some school this year due to medical reasons and then his dad who was deployed for a year came back and so he missed a little bit to see him, not only did they clearly have an attitude with me for thisbut they were so busy trying to prove that they were a great school and we were so negligent that they let my son slip through the cracks, they refused to help him find time to re take his tests. anytime i approached the subject, all i got were excuses why its just not possible for him to be able to make it up.His third grade teacher was more appalled that i was upset about her non cooperation then she was about a student lacking what he needed.Then when i tried to talk to the principal and tell her my opinion, i was greeted with judgemental remarks and unprofessionalism, in front of the whole office.I even observed the secretary telling a visually sick little girl with a fever that she could not get something to drink, to go lay down and wait till her mother came or whoever was picking her up. Also, my son missing some school is still getting some of the best grades in class, tells u something bout the cirriculiumdifficulty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I have had 1 kid at this school k-4th and she loved it and miss this school so much.The teachers are excellent with their jobs there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

I have had three children walk the halls of Sedalia with positive results. Next year a fourth and final to start K. I have seen positive improvments over the years. I am always welcome into the building and they are always willing to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Two of my children have been going to Sedalia for K-5 and my last child going into K has been overflowed to Dunloe do to over crowding, even though he has siblings at the other school. I am very unhappy with the school as well as the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Two children now one for a year when it was k-5. Both have happily and safely mastered all areas some of which have taken personal attention (writing). I have been a guest teacher and know the love that pervades the building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

I believe the change in leadership with Ms Ayres on board had done a great positive impact on the school. I know it has for my child and i am glad.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female83%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanic84%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female80%
Male81%
Black, non-Hispanic84%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled71%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic81%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled64%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female76%
Male63%
Black, non-Hispanic60%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled31%
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female73%
Male58%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled15%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students65%
Female63%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanic62%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled31%
Non-disabled72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetBelow
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
93 (2011)
 
90 (2010)
 
89 (2009)
 
90 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 74%
Black 41% 16%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matthew D. Decastro
Fax number
  • (614) 833-2429

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Sedalia Dr
Columbus, OH 43232
Phone: (614) 833-2014

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT