Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James the Less School

Private | K-8 | 497 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $52,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 18, 2013

I currently have two children attending St. James the Less. They both seem to be doing very well. I love the multicultural feel of the school. This school focuses on helping children become well rounded individuals. The school does not seem to focus on creating "Catholics" but rather Christians. The students do learn about the sacraments and those that are Catholic receive them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

My husband and I both went to this school and graduated in 01'. This year our daughter started the 1st grade. It was a wonderful school then and it is a wonderful school now. My daughter is advanced and the teachers accommodate her with extra curriculum to make sure she is challenged. Most of the teachers are the same ones that taught when I went there. My daughter s teacher is one of the newer ones and she does a wonderful job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I currently have a student attending this school and very disappointed with the teachers and principal. The principal does not seem to know what is going on. Teachers are under qualified and the school has a high teacher turn-over rate. I feel my child is not getting a quality education. Do not send you child to this school. The Catholic Diocese needs to step in and totally revamp this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2011

I am a former student of this school, i went there for 4 years and the schools' academics are way behind all public schools even columbus public. They don't prepare students for the future at all. The teachers are rude- always yelling loudly at students, they spread rumors about students to other parents and they are certainly unqualified to teach. The school overall is dirty; there are roaches in the back of the cafeteria and bathrooms and theirs ants in the food. This school did not prepare me for high school only pushed me farther back, my parents wasted money on that school thinking since its a private school than the education would benefit me well. They regret every penny they spent on my tuition. It needs to be torn down or inspected. Those years i spent there were the worst years of my life. If you want your kid to be successful, avoid this school!


Posted May 22, 2011

The Principal needs to ask parents their feedback about the staff performance. Teacher aids are so under qualified to work with young children (K,1 and 2 grades). It does not feel like a religious environment whatsoever. They are always yelling, pulling and carrying unhappy faces. Every single time I volunteered I have seen the same teacher aid abusing young children. Ask your children...find out this info..it is so disappointing that the current principal is not aware of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My children have been going there since preschool. The teachers really care about the kids and will work with you to help them develop in to polite, caring, Christian adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

I went to St. James and graduated in 1984. I am still familiar with it and I can tell you that little has improved since I left. The school is in terrible shape and the teachers are sub-standard at best. I had a very bad experience there and I know from parents that have and have had children there that the present day situation is as bad and in some ways worse than when I attended. I honestly don't see how anyone could give this school a good review. The school should either be demolished and rebuilt or at minimum, repairs should be made. One would think that they would at least keep the school clean for the sake of the students health.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2008

Myself and my child love this school. I went there as a child, as did my entire family. I'm 40 now and my 7-year old has attended for 3 years. The staf is excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

What a fantastic school. The kids come first here with a caring and dedicated faculty and staff. The children are safe in their secured building. From kindergarten through 8th grade the children are shallenged and taught at their individual level whether it is remidial or advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

Horrible. Never send your child to this school. The staff is unprofessional. Don't waste your time. Unclean, old, falling apart, horrible teachings and I wouldn't even let my child out on the playground!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

It's a good school, your child will have lots of fun there while recieving a great education. they have good teachers who are kind and fair and has time for everybody. Plus they have a very fine dress code policy and well behaved students. Students who go to this school always get a chance to help people all around the world with some of their faboulous service projects. Plus it is a nice religoius area where your child can find a good path to a good future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Great school-Great one on one with students. Parent participation is great. Never had any problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 3%
Black 29% 19%
White 26% 77%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Yvonne R. Schwab
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 262-6798

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1628 Oakland Park Ave
Columbus, OH 43224
Phone: (614) 268-3311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT