Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
250 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Comment responses: - January 27, 2015: Thank you for your concerns. Our current principal actually has a certificate that was signed by the Diocesan Superintendent in April 2015, which according to Diocesan Policies, permits her to be principal. More information can be found: http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Licensure/Apply-for-Certificate-License/Non-tax-Certificate-for-Non-public-Teachers-and-Ad And although she is new, our principal's passion for Catholic education is certainly evident, and she desires to continue to foster and build both academic excellence and spiritual growth at Saint Mary's. January 27, 2015: Thank you for taking an interest in your child's homework! Our teachers are always open and receptive to scheduling conferences, so a possible solution is to schedule a meeting with your child's teacher to find out what can be done to best meet his/her needs with regards to increasing the amount of homework.
February 11, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary School
no rating

Posted February 11, 2016
- a school leader
Comment responses: - January 27, 2015: Thank you for your concerns. Our current principal actually has a certificate that was signed by the Diocesan Superintendent in April 2015, which according to Diocesan Policies, permits her to be principal. More information can be found: http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Licensure/Apply-for-Certificate-License/Non-tax-Certificate-for-Non-public-Teachers-and-Ad And although she is new, our principal's passion for Catholic education is certainly evident, and she desires to continue to foster and build both academic excellence and spiritual growth at Saint Mary's. January 27, 2015: Thank you for taking an interest in your child's homework! Our teachers are always open and receptive to scheduling conferences, so a possible solution is to schedule a meeting with your child's teacher to find out what can be done to best meet his/her needs with regards to increasing the amount of homework.

St Mary School 5

Posted February 07, 2016
- a community member
The principal, Kayla Walton, is extremely friendly and contentious. She is willing to work with the parents and students. She will go out of her way to include students and say hello. Kayla does not only work with students and parents one on one, but she also encourages teachers to be proactive when determining potential issues with the children's education. May the Lord continue to bless the work that is being done at St. Mary's.


St Mary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
My child's teacher is in her first year of teaching and hasn't found a balance between st. Mary and her other job. My child had approximately a dozen homework assignments from Halloween to Christmas break.

St Mary School 2

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
This used to be a great school. This year they decided to hire an inexperienced 2nd year teacher as the principal. By the way she is NOT a licensed administrator. My issues with that are endless.

St Mary School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a community member
As a member of the Saint Mary School community, it is difficult to express all of the good things that take place at this school. The teachers are engaging, and the students love to come back every day. Keep up the great work!


St Mary School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
What a wonderful school! It is a God-send for my children who used to go to public school. The academics are so far superior and my child has wonderful, caring teachers and also have fun!

St Mary School 1

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I find it funny that someone on these reviews would say "a few students left" - it was 65+ students - at a school of 220 that is more than a few. This year even more are leaving - reasons like - the administration is a hot mess & the principal is a disaster, are just a few of the emails I have gotten from parents who decided to give this school another shot & were more than disappointed by the outcome. The new teachers come without experience, most apparently without a backbone because they are willing to work for a woman who has destroyed a school and a community. The low level of students they are accepting is only more proof how how far this school has fallen - disciplinary issues, weapons in school, lack of screening in allowing new ed choice families to join the school are all a direct result of the horrible leadership inside this school. What could have continued to be a place of hope, stewardship and incredible education has been reduced to a lack luster, sad shell with walls & floors and a "leader" who believes that passive aggressive behavior is the best way to handle the immense problems that St Mary faces, good luck if you attend or plant to attend, you'll need it!

St Mary School 5

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
I just posted... I am a full paying parent... I saw some additional complaints about a program called Ed Choice. This program is for students that would attend schools that are on academic probation based on where they live (all the public schools in the area). These parents are still paying over $2,000 a year for their students to attend Saint Mary. I think we should be thankful that some parents care enough about their kids to send them to private school than to give them a ticket for failure (sending them to these schools that are rated a 1 out of a 10). They are still paying parents. It s a real shame that people can t just appreciate what they have


St Mary School 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a community member
All in all, I am extremely grateful for this opportunity for our students to receive a Catholic education. This school is such a gift to so many families, and I am so grateful for all of the good that has been done here. I look forward to see the ways that our Lord continues to work in the lives of those who pass through the halls of Saint Mary School!

St Mary School 5

Posted January 04, 2014
- a parent
St. Mary's is a great school. All of my children love their teachers as well as the new teachers. Our teachers are there for the Children and not just a pay check. I recommend that if anyone has thoughts on coming to this great school then please set up a time to come and visit and see what a great environment we have.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mary School
700 South 3rd Street, Columbus, OH  43206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (614) 444-8994
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top