Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
257 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Comment responses: - January 27, 2015: Thank you for your concerns. Our current principal actually has a certificate that was signed by the Diocesan Superintendent in April 2015, which according to Diocesan Policies, permits her to be principal. More information can be found: http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Licensure/Apply-for-Certificate-License/Non-tax-Certificate-for-Non-public-Teachers-and-Ad And although she is new, our principal's passion for Catholic education is certainly evident, and she desires to continue to foster and build both academic excellence and spiritual growth at Saint Mary's. January 27, 2015: Thank you for taking an interest in your child's homework! Our teachers are always open and receptive to scheduling conferences, so a possible solution is to schedule a meeting with your child's teacher to find out what can be done to best meet his/her needs with regards to increasing the amount of homework.
February 11, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mary School 5

Posted August 13, 2016
- a teacher
Saint Mary School is wonderful. The school is filled with loving children, parents, faculty, and staff. We are blessed to have Miss Walton as our Principal and grateful for her leadership!

St Mary School
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 13, 2016
- a school leader
Saint Mary School is wonderful. The school is filled with loving children, parents, faculty, and staff. We are blessed to have Miss Walton as our Principal and grateful for her leadership!


St Mary School 5

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
Both of my children have attended this school since pre-school. They are now in kindergarten and 1st grade. I am not Catholic, but a resident of German Village that loves the community and opportunites for my children to live in a small-town feeling urban area. Obviously our choices for school are limited in this neighborhood and the private schools in the city are nearly impossible to afford for the middle class families I know around here including myself. At St. Mary's while the admission process can appear disorganized and tedious, it is well worth it to jump through the hurdles. Their admissions process and financial aid available, as well as their payment programs make it very affordable. The religious aspect was intimidating at first to me... But exposing my children to things they would otherwise not have learned in our home has given them a more well-rounded view of spirituality. They do require that you participate in a lot of Catholic, faith-based education and activities but the basis of all of them is teaching morality and respect. I think regardless of your faith, those things become beneficial to their experience. Ultimately people choose to believe what they want, and no one has pressured us or treated us differently for not being a member of the Church. This is the epitome of a community-centered small private school. But all of the staff members have a laid-back, inviting way about them. I normally would not be so involved in school activities and parent volunteering as I tend to be introverted and not at all a helicopter parent, but because the school relies on fundraising to keep tuition low... We've met so many families in our neighborhood from all walks of life that otherwise we wouldn't have. We also have exceptionally close relationships with the teachers and administration. Our children get an amazing education here. They're challenged and have many opportunities. One thing you will notice that stands out to me is the children's attachment to their school and friends. There is no bullying tolerated and all of the children treat each other with consideration. This is a beautiful thing in such a diverse community. With 30 children per grade, the kids become more like siblings than peers. We tried St. Mary out because there were no other options, and I can't say enough how surprised we are at the beauty of our experience.

St Mary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
Principal Walton and Chelsea Gerth have been incredibly impactful on our children. They are both really great role models and are remarkably competent, kind and gifted at teaching.

St Mary School
no rating

Posted February 11, 2016
- a school leader
Comment responses: - January 27, 2015: Thank you for your concerns. Our current principal actually has a certificate that was signed by the Diocesan Superintendent in April 2015, which according to Diocesan Policies, permits her to be principal. More information can be found: http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Educator-Licensure/Apply-for-Certificate-License/Non-tax-Certificate-for-Non-public-Teachers-and-Ad And although she is new, our principal's passion for Catholic education is certainly evident, and she desires to continue to foster and build both academic excellence and spiritual growth at Saint Mary's. January 27, 2015: Thank you for taking an interest in your child's homework! Our teachers are always open and receptive to scheduling conferences, so a possible solution is to schedule a meeting with your child's teacher to find out what can be done to best meet his/her needs with regards to increasing the amount of homework.


St Mary School 5

Posted February 07, 2016
- a community member
The principal, Kayla Walton, is extremely friendly and contentious. She is willing to work with the parents and students. She will go out of her way to include students and say hello. Kayla does not only work with students and parents one on one, but she also encourages teachers to be proactive when determining potential issues with the children's education. May the Lord continue to bless the work that is being done at St. Mary's.

St Mary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
My child's teacher is in her first year of teaching and hasn't found a balance between st. Mary and her other job. My child had approximately a dozen homework assignments from Halloween to Christmas break.

St Mary School 2

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
This used to be a great school. This year they decided to hire an inexperienced 2nd year teacher as the principal. By the way she is NOT a licensed administrator. My issues with that are endless.


St Mary School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a community member
As a member of the Saint Mary School community, it is difficult to express all of the good things that take place at this school. The teachers are engaging, and the students love to come back every day. Keep up the great work!

St Mary School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
What a wonderful school! It is a God-send for my children who used to go to public school. The academics are so far superior and my child has wonderful, caring teachers and also have fun!

Nearby schools

St Mary School
700 South 3rd Street, Columbus, OH  43206
(614) 444-8994
Last modified St Mary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top