Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Matthias School

Private | K-8 | 274 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $52,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

Excellent teachers. My son transfered to St Matthias because of teachers not teaching at another Columbus Catholic school. St. Matthias has the best teachers who care and really enjoy teaching. My son is also being challenged to another level when they discovered that he was bored. Also the Principal is very active and structured. Our children are getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2010

I would reccommend this school to anyone who likes to fell excluded, likes to be bullied and likes to be picked on because of their religion. The teachers only pay attention to the catholics and the librarians wouldnt let my 4th grade daughter check out A Nancy Drew book! One of the girls in the classroom had all the girls gang up on my daughter and they all picked on her. The principal only dealt with issues that concerned money. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!!!!!!!!! IM WANING YOU! YOU WILL REGRET THIS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

The faculty and staff at St. Matthias are absolutely the best. I have a 5th grader and one in Kindergarten and both my husband and I love the school. Father Smith and Sister Marie are involved with the school and are there every morning greeting the kids with a smile. Not only do they get a great education they get great volunteers for sports!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

it was a difficuly decision to leave the comfort zone of our sons old school but we knew he was not being challenged. Our switch to St. Matthias has been wonderful. From the first day we visited and were greeted by Mrs. Riether right down to the friendliness of each and every staff member it was a win-win for our family. Mr. Kinley, Mrs. Riether and all of the teachers are the best as far as we are concerned!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

I would recomend this school to anyone who values a GREAT education and a fun safe environment. I am a new parent at the school but have been a member of the church for several years and I am simply amazed at what my kindergarden son has learned this year. Being a teacher myself I can see the differences between the public school education and St. Matthias! I also love the fact that the school encourages parent volunteers. It is a blessing to be able to spend more timewith my son in my hectic life. I was able to coach soccer and baseball which is offered to the younger grade levels along with basketball and football. It is so nice that the children can begin to learn team play at such a young age. There is nothing about the school I don't like! If you want the best you found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

As a prior student and current parent of this establishment, I hold it in the highest regard. St. Matthias does a wonderful job preparing the children for life with a perfect balance of education while helping to providing a solid moral foundation. St. Matthias is located directly next door to DeSales High School and there are many activities that benefit the children because of the outstanding relationship that is maintained between the two schools. St. Matthias has little to no turn over within their staff. With nearly 30 years of some type of interaction at the school personally as a student, parent or coach, I have had the pleasure to meet and or establish some type of relationship with most of them. They are all top of the line. In closing, I would recommend this fine school to any who may have the opportunity to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

The faculty and staff at St. Matthias are absolutely the best. They work very hard to make sure each student in the school receives what they need to succeed. The reading program is excellent. The teachers work well as a team and the principal knows all the students by name. Father Smith and Sister Marie are involved in the school and truly give the students a 'Catholic Education.' Sports are available starting in 4th grade. Instrumental music instruction starts in 5th grade. Parents are invited to participate in all levels of their children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am very pleased with the academics of St Matthias. It was a challenge for our daughter when she transferred to this school from another local catholic school, however, she has recevied the help she has needed. Mr Kinley does a very good job operating this school and seems to be well respected by the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 77%
Black 20% 19%
Asian 16% N/A
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Daniel H. Kinley
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 268-4681

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1566 Ferris Rd
Columbus, OH 43224
Phone: (614) 268-3030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT