Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Columbus, OH
Students enrolled: 638

5 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Charles Prep has an outstanding but rigorous curriculum that prepares these young men for college and life after that. By the time they've graduated, they're ready for anything university can throw at them. There is no shortage of sports or fine art activities in which to participate. All the teachers care about the individual student and will help them before or after school and peer tutoring is available. My son offered, unequivocally, that he could not imagine himself anywhere else. The main component when considering this option for your son is for you to be certain that it is HE who wishes to embark on this challenge, not you. This is not for someone who struggles because they put forth minimal effort toward school. The academia is not for the faint of heart and your son should be a self-starter with good organizational skills to fit regular studies in his schedule, especially if he partakes in sports. If that's the case and he is engaged in this positive manner, then you're right on the money for this spectacular prep school. Go CARDS!
2 people found this helpful

St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Very pleased with quality of education given at St Charles Prep. I have no doubt my son will be completely prepared for any college or university he chooses to attend. Thank you, St Charles!


St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted May 04, 2013
- a student
Great Teachers, that are willing to help each student individually, no matter the circumstances. Is known nationally for its tough academic rigor, and therefore accepts those with a lower GPA from here than other schools. A Harvard University recruitor said to the lacrosse coah that: "I would rather accept a student with a 3.5 GPA or higher GPA from St. Charles than a student with a 4.5 GPA at another school." The recruitor said this because of the workload of homework given each night to the students. On average you can have around 1.5 - 2hours of homework a night. When you come to Saint Charles you have to be willing to work but it will all pay off in the end. The graduating class of 2010 had all but one student go and attend a four year college after graduating. The student who did not attend a four year college enrolled in the Peace Corps.

St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted August 27, 2012
- a student
Saint Charles Prep is a school for those who want to excel. They treat the student like an adult, where respect and hard work are returned by the faculty. It is where boys come to learn, and where men graduate with success in mind and on their horizon. The faculty who teach there aren't there for a paycheck, rather, their mission is to simply better the students' chances for success. Each and every one, from the principal down to the advisors live the St. Charles motto: Facta Non Verba. The atmosphere of St. Charles trancends that of normal schools. There are no cliques, no internal social groups: it is a brotherhood of men comparable to comrades. There are no women there to impress, and the "immaturity," as smoe may call it, is simply the ease at which these Carolians can relate. The men of St. Charles are forged into a single unit, where each can go to each other for advice, by the crucible of the rigorous academic standards. At St. Charles, nothing is held up higher than the academic standards. For the students, taking a test outside of St. Charles, like the ACT or the SAT, is often easier than the tests taken in school. There is much more I would say, but I am out of room.

St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
We could have never guessed the total committment to Fratres Semper which is Latin for "always brothers". The Alumni and families of Alumni are dedicated to helping past and current students at St. Charles. This was the best decision our Son could have made. We left the choice to him because he has to do the work, not us.


St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a student
I graduated from St. Charles in 2003 and went on to attend Carnegie Mellon. The high school education I received was so rigorous and demanding that it prepared me for real life at a young age and I am truly better because of it. My strong high school preparation gave me the ability to focus on running clubs and being extremely active in other organizations in college while maintaining high grades. College was much easier than high school which says a lot to the difficulty of making it through St. Charles. Educators there have true passion and are there for one reason and that is to prepare the students for real life. They are extremely well educated themselves and demand respect and attention from everyone in the classroom. The school beams with pride at past success and makes students realize that the duty of living up to the title of a St. Charles man does not end at graduation. Not only was failure not an option after an education like this but the morality taught alongside the rest of the coursework gave me a strong understanding of what life was truly about. I only wish every child had the opportunity to get the education I was fortunate enough to receive.
1 person found this helpful

St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
We have six children and pay a lot of money for a Catholic education. We don't have a lot of money, we sacrifice vacations, drive old cars, our house is falling apart, and we are so willing to pay the price. St. Charles is worth every penny. Our son is blessed to be able to go to a school like St. Charles there is a huge difference from the other Catholic high schools. I just wish our daughters had the same opportunity.

St Charles Preparatory School 4

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
Yes this is a great school but what I cant believe his how they nickel and dime you. Also the true cost of the school is never told to you and is not on there web. No were does it state that if you can pay the whole price up front that they will charge a 5% fee. So on top of the 8300 you pay they are punishing people who cant pay the whole amount by adding another 750. On top of that they make you use this payment system and they charge you fees. If you are going to list the tuition rates on your web sight it would be nice to have all this out there. Here I am trying to figuring out if I can afford this by what is on there web sight and that isn't even the right cost not even close. I guess the 32000 dollars you will pay for the four years your kids are there isnt enough money for the school. I just don't get it.


St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a community member
You know how people sit around and talk about how easy kids have it today? Well you had better not say that to, or about, a Graduate of this high school. Saint Charles excels in academics and character building. They do more than teach, they build upstanding men from boys. The curriculum has been proven effective in creating well rounded well prepared college students. Each year graduates attend the top high learning institutions in the country. From the military service academies and ivy league schools to state and smaller private institutions men who successfully graduate from Saint Charles have limitless opportunities as a result of complete one of the most rigorous learning regimens available today. One of the key to the schools success is it administration. The principal and vice principal, dean of men, advisors, and teaching staff are what make this institution great. Sticking to core principles that many lesser institutions have abandoned, the faculty and staff create a stable environment that is conductive to successful and effective learning, and character development.

St Charles Preparatory School 5

Posted February 19, 2011
- a student
Without a doubt, the hardest, toughest, and greatest school in the entire state of Ohio and all the Midwest. Just look at the school's website for a glimpse of its might at www.stcharlesprep.org
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Charles Preparatory School
2010 East Broad Street, Columbus, OH  43209
(614) 252-6714
Last modified St Charles Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Charles Preparatory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top