Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
261 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Catharine School 2

Posted April 09, 2016
- a parent
The curriculum is not preparing children for more rigorous high school studies. Teachers definitely exhibit strong favoritism towards specific students due to the social status of parents. Education should always be top priority, especially not politics when referring to elementary or middle school. Lastly, the principal is blatantly deceitful. Again, she is the ring leader of catering to the elitist group of parents and has failed greatly to serve as the Christian values of the school are teaching the children. What better way to lead by example, with the exception of the staff and principal at St. Catharine. Any parent would be better off enrolling your children in any of the surrounding schools if you expect your family to be treated with respect and dignity.

St Catharine School 5

Posted January 14, 2014
- a parent
Our children go to St. Catharine School. We have our last one of 5 in Kindergarden now. Couldn't be happier with the curriculum, sense of community, and faith-based education.


St Catharine School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
This school is a gem. My Aunt Barbara Chavous (National Arts Endowment receiptant informed me (directly) that this is a school that doesn't look for attention and exceeds the standards for education. In fact, coming from a family that has multiple family members that have graduated from the likes of Harvard, Princeton, MIT, Howard, Spelman and Morehouse Universities. I would have no doubt that enrolling my child. Especially, for the best interest of my child.

St Catharine School 1

Posted October 21, 2012
- a parent
In our opinion they have failed to put our child best interest before their reputation. We feel strongly that the growth and achievement of our child in this school may be limited because, we feel that there is a lack of value, lack of responsibility, and lack of integrity from a staff and the leadership. From our experiences, we feels that they have failed to provide a positive learning environment for our child. We are moving to another school.

St Catharine School 5

Posted April 05, 2012
- a parent
I've had 4 children go through St. Catharine's and if we had 4 more, we'd do it all over again. The teachers and administration care deeply for the children and their mission and the results show it. The neighbood is fantastic with a great mix of young families, mature singles, and senior citizens. We moved to the neighborhood from out of town can't imagine a more welcoming community.


St Catharine School 5

Posted September 25, 2010
- a parent
This is our first year with St. Catherine, and we couldn't be any happier. The principal, teachers, and staff are wonderful and passionate about education for the children. We are very fortunate and grateful to be a part of a giving church and school.

St Catharine School 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
We bought a house in this neighborhood so we could send our kids to St. Catharine. I know many families who drive their children from suburbs to St. Catharine. The entire staff is fabulous! We love it here! Go Irish!

St Catharine School 1

Posted January 09, 2010
- a parent
We have children at St.Catharine and family that attend another Catholic school on the north side. St.Catharine is NOT preparing our children for middle school/ high school like some of the other Catholic schools in the diocese. We are very unhappy with the lack of constructive teaching that is being done and the lack of stable leadership by the principal. It seems like the principal will not make any changes for the betterment of the children and is unable to notice that they ARE falling WAY BEHIND other schools. I think that because of where we live, we have to attend St.Catharine. Our only other choice is a failing Columbus public school in the area of town next to us that has a high amount of crime! We are stuck at St.Catharine school unless we move! Ask any parent..most all will agree..they have NO other options for schooling except homeschool.


St Catharine School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
I moved out of a nearby, prestigous city to this neighborhood so I could send my children to St. Catharine School.

St Catharine School 1

Posted December 31, 2009
- a parent
The community is a wonderful environment for children, however, to say that we are in an upper-middle class is debatable. Our home, like most here, can be found for low to mid 100K-which isn't considered upper-middle class. There are 1 -2 young teachers that are dedicated to teaching the children properly and preparing them for future grades, but the majority are much beyond their prime and unfortunately it is the higher grade levels that encompass this group of teachers. The literature program is not sufficient for the students to be prepared for high school. In the English and Reading section for standardized testing they have faltered and when they attended high school, they were less than prepared as to the other students from different grade schools. It is not true to say this is one of the best schools in the dioceses. Sadly, I would not recommend this school.

Nearby schools

St Catharine School
2865 Fair Avenue, Columbus, OH  43209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (614) 235-1396
Last modified St Catharine School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top