Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted March 16, 2009
- a parent
My son is a first grader at Immaculate Conception and our experience has been great. His teachers are attentive to student needs, they are well qualified and do a great job of teaching and motivating the students. There is tremendous parental involvement in the school and it shows in the quality of the school and extra curricular programs offered.

Immaculate Conception School 0
no rating

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
We have children in the lower grades (k - 5) and have enjoyed the school, its teachers, and absolutely love I.C.'s wonderful community. The active families that participate in the church and school will make you feel welcome. That said, this school is great for the typical student..if your child has special needs, the funding, unfortunately, is not there to cater to their issues. I think they do, however, a good job with the academics and religious education. This school has one of the lowest tuition rates in the diocese and so I find this school to be a great value for the money and realize I may have to out source some of the extras a public school would offer. I.C. does not have the marketing staff or technology to promote the school like others but your child will definitely receive a solid catholic education.


Immaculate Conception School 3

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
Teaching is just okay - most public grade schools run even par or possible better. But the fundamentals of catholic christian faith is the big difference and the whole classroom is not crippled by one bad kid .

Immaculate Conception School 1

Posted November 04, 2007
- a parent
Unfortunately my personal experience shows that this is an under-funded school with the inability to keep new, fresh staff. It's leadership reflects a stale, heavy-handed, 1940's approach to governing and student interaction. The overall quality of the education is very poor. Look elsewhere for you child's education.

Immaculate Conception School 4

Posted December 11, 2006
- a parent
I had to include my review since I strongly disagreed with one that had been sent in by another parent. Grammar, which by the way, was misspelled by this reviewer, is taught daily through journal writing, worksheets and text books. It is taught as early as Kindergarten. Safety is always a concern of the school and they have secure buildings and run drills regularly. They have a strict discipline code of conduct as well. An area where IC can improve dramatically is in their specials (Library, Music, and Technology). Teachers in these areas need to work on better classroom management and rapport with students. P.E. and Art teachers handle their classrooms with no problems. Perhaps they can help their colleagues. Finally, the parent involvement at IC is phenomenal. They run wonderful programs. They sincerely want the best for their children.


Immaculate Conception School 4

Posted April 18, 2005
- a former student
An excellent school to send your children to. Math and reading are taught daily, and it is a great stepping stone into high school. If you can't find something to do outside of the classroom, your not looking... from sports, plays, musicals, concerts etc... are regular features at I.C.

Immaculate Conception School 2

Posted March 28, 2004
- a parent
This school is overall a bad learning enviornment. Grammer is neglected and math is taught rarely. This school is also terrible with safety. Not a place to send your child!

Immaculate Conception School 5

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
First rate eduction long with the religious teaching we believe in. Great school from the principal on down.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Conception School
366 North Broadway Lane, Columbus, OH  43214
(614) 267-6579
Last modified Immaculate Conception School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Immaculate Conception School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.