Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Spirit School

Private | PK-8 | 260 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $69,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2011

We love Holy Spirit Catholic School and the Holy Spirit parish community. We believe our children are getting an excellent education here. Teachers are all very involved with assisting children to learn, grow, achieve, and excel acidemically, personally and spiritually. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

I had to transfer to this school, and i didn't like it. The teachers always chose favorites, the principal never really cared, and i don't feel that there was any knowledge gained when i was in holy spirit. The only teacher that actually taught me anything was Mrs. Herbert. People were very negative towards her, but i never realized that she was such a good teacher till she was gone. Also AR reading doesn't make me like reading. It makes me loathe reading. It makes most students hate reading because there is always a test, and it is just another grade. And why cannot we have letter grades? what is a plus, check, or n? I have recieved perfects on tests many times, but because i never got the bonus they weren't a plus. A plus should be an A, and a 93 is an A. Just think about that please.


Posted December 5, 2007

This is a great school with some absolutely wonderful teachers (e.g. First Grade Teacher). The school provides lot of one on one interest in the advancement of my daughter by placing her in advanced reading and other courses. There is a lot of emphasis on reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

Our family has been involved with Holy Spirit now for 5 years now. We have 2 kids that really love the school, the kids, the parents, the teachers, and the principal. I only have 1 complaint and that is that during lunch the kids are not permitted to be free and let their energy out. The younger kids have to sit and listen to 'soothing music' and not get to run and play like normal kids. Also the kids do not like the teachers/parents in the afterschool care program. Some of the parent volunteers are a little too strict and the principal should address those situations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

Since my fmily was re-located to Columbus, Ohio from New Orleans, La in September we have enjoyed the school so much! The children do not want to leave! The school principal is so caring and giving to all of 'her' children, and that is how she preceives them 'is her chidlren' she takes very good care of them as if they were her own, she is completely involved in all of their lives and is concerned with them as a parent would be. I couldn't have asked to be united with a better school and church. Thank you for all your generosity to our family when it was needed! Thank you and God bless, The Widish Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2004

Having 3 children attend this school, one of which is now a Sophomore in high school, I couldn't be more pleased with the over all education they are receiving. The faculty members are totally involved and truly care about each child. The teachers are wonderful. The principal respects the students, and in turn, they have respect for her. She treats the students with fairness, and always listens. I know every day my children are safe and well taken care of. Its a wonderful feeling to know that my children are not only being educated, they are also respected and valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 77%
Black 19% 19%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Linda Saelzler
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 861-8608

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4382 Duchene Ln
Columbus, OH 43213
Phone: (614) 861-0475

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





A+ Arts Academy
Columbus, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT