Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Watterson High School

Private | 9-12 | 1019 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

Every student is nice and respectful. The teachers are great! The building is nice and clean. The education is top notch!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I am a senior at BIshop Watterson and the past four years have been amazing. I was prepared very well for college, so much that every college I applied to I was accepted to. The students treat everyone will very much respect and same with the teacher. Not only is Bishop Watterson excellent in the classroom but they are excellent in athletics, with many league and state champions in almost every sport.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

I have 5 children. Three attended Bishop Watterson High School two attended an All Boys Catholic High School. Bishop Watterson has an excellent academic program and a very competitive athletic program. The school is the largest central Ohio Catholic High School but still maintains its Christ Centered mission. We would highly recommend Bishop Watterson High School. Well worth the extra money to send our children to a Christian, Christlike educational enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

The faculty and traditions at Bishop Watterson prepared me incredibly well for 4 years at the college level at the University of Dayton. The care for students success, academics, and extracurricular activities make this a well rounded school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2007

My son is a sophomore and has absolutely thrived in the environment Bishop Watterson offers. The academics are very challenging and has made him work even harder. The sports he participates in have taught him even more respect for elders, teammates and the value of time management. The Christian atmosphere is truly felt throughout the school and it is amazing to see my son grow into a person who cares about others while learning academic subjects including theology. I wouldn't have him go to school anywhere else. We love it! The traditions of the school both academically and in sports run deep and are felt by many. Having graduated from Watterson, I can see how the school has improved and changed with the times, but the Christian values and principles which are being taught, have stood the test of time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2004

We are Asian-American and this is a wonderful school. The teachers are knowledgable and respectable, the parents are the nicest people in the world, and the students have a very innocent and earnest quality. I love to see my son's smiling face as he climbs into the car at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2004

I am not a parent, but as a 2002 graduate of Bishop Watterson High School, I can say that I was intellectually challenged in my four years there, more so than I would have been if I had attended the local public school. The teachers, faculty and students gave me the skills I needed to enter a well-respected university and also the skills to excel when I began my studies there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 77%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 19%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. MARIAN A. HUTSON
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 268-0551

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

99 E Cooke Rd
Columbus, OH 43214
Phone: (614) 268-8671

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Graham School, The
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT