Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Hartley High School

Private | 9-12 | 715 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2011

A supportive House system, alternative teaching styles that encourage students to learn for themselves instead of by memory. 98 percent of the graduates go on to college. That says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

I am a 2009 graduate of Bishop Hartley High School and can attest that this school more than any other influence prepared me for success in college. I currently attend one of the most difficult and prestigious liberal arts schools in the South and am excelling tremendously. I highly recommend BHHS to any student. It truly will develop even the most struggling of students into studious and well-rounded adolescents.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

As the parent of a student with a few special needs I have found that the Bishop Hartley faculty members are supurb. They are very willing to work with the parent and student in providing a learning experience that meets the student's needs. They do so without compromising the high level of academics and personal growth experiences needed for success in college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

Great school. Technology is unsurpassed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

Hartley is a wonderful school! My oldest graduated in 2003 and my youngest is getting ready to attend there. The teachers and staff our excellent and the principal is very involved and great with the kids!!! I am so excited for my daughter to attend there and have a wonderful four years!! Go Hawks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Provides a quality education with a real sense of family and care for the students
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

Christ is the center of the learning expierence at Hartley. Hartley has a close nitt community both graduates and current students I believe it will prepare my children for the challenges that are ahead of them in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

This catholic school has a great college prep and close families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

Bishop Hartley is a school with teachers who truly care about their students. When my children return home from school and share their stories, I feel secure my decision to send them there. Teachers like Mr. VanDerMolen and Mrs. Servick are among the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

Miss Niswander, who teaches spanish is one of the many reason i like hartley. The environment is great and i love the teachers. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2007

Not much room for individuality and creativity within the classroom; difference of opinion and classroom discussion not encouraged; quality of teaching is pedestrian and traditional at best, for the most part; no school newspaper; paucity of extracurricular activities; no debate club; anemic intellectual atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

The teachers bring out the best in their students, they respect them and this is reciprocated by the students. There is a lot of school pride which builds unity amongst the students. The work is challenging and definitely preparing them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

BH is a traditional Catholic college prep high school. It is heavy on arbitrary rules, regulations, and conformity. Having been in Montessori programs from second to eighth grade, my son was challenged in adapting to the more restrictive, less creative environment. Most teachers are irrationally hung up on meaningless details and minutiae. BH prides itself on its academic environment, but it stresses rote learning and slavish reliance on scantron tests. The saving graces are the music and drama programs , and some truly dedicated counselors and teachers who care about the kids. Also, the overall environment is generally safe and supportive. If we had been in the Columbus school district, I would have sent my son to Fort Hayes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

I am currently a Junior, and looking forward to next year. Hartley has been a great experience so far, and definately the best time of my life. I actually wish high school were longer than four years, because there are so many classes and opportunities I still want to be involved in. GO HAWKS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2004

We have a sophmore daughter and upcoming freshman in the fall. We have been very pleased with Bishop Hartley. Our daughter has been very active in the many club and sports in the school. She is doing very well in her classes. She loves school! Her teachers are very educated and you can tell they love what they do. We are all, very pleased with this experience. Go Hawks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

I have a freshman at Bishop Hartley. Our experience at BH has been a blessed one. There is positive support from the Guidance Counselors to the Students. The Teachers really care about how well the students are learning. My daughters teachers have gone the extra mile to give her the extra help and boost when she needed it. Sending my daughter to BH has been one of the best choices I have ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I have a freshman at Bishop Hartley this year. The principal, Mr. Winters is outstanding! From day one the kids know what he expects out of them -- and that he genuinely cares about each one of them. He is an excellent Catholic role model for the students. The kids really do go to talk to their teachers, or another faculty member if they have concerns. My daughters teachers have gone above and beyond the requirements of their 'jobs' to make sure my daughter learns, and feels like she belongs in this 'new to her' school. The kids seem to look out for one another also, which made the transition into high school easier. The student body is very diverse racially, academically, and economically, which we see as a 'plus'. Our daughter has made friends from all over the city, with many experiences different than her, and now these new friendships are growing during their High school years at BH. This is also the first year for our daughter wearing a uniform to school -- which has been great! Uniforms are such great equalizers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

I am a graduate of Hartley and it has evolved into one of the greatest high schools I've ever seen. I feel lucky to have had such a great high school experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

As a former student, I entered college feeling prepared for the most part, but lacking a little in my science classes background. I had not had biology since my sophomore year! Since leaving Hartley, I have heard through the grapevine that they have hired new staff for science classes and in general are making the school better. They have made building structure improvements as well as classroom improvements. Now the students are equiped with their own laptops! I wish I had that while I was there. Overall, Hartley gave me the solid education that I needed to further myself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

Our daughter has just done so well here. The principal knows what he is doing and cares. You can tell. The staff is here because they are devoted to Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 77%
Black 19% 19%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Michael R. Winters
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 237-3809

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1285 Zettler Rd
Columbus, OH 43227
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 237-5421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eastmoor Academy
Columbus, OH






Cruiser Academy
Columbus, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT