Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary Magdalene School

Private | PK-8 | 190 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $61,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2009

FAB School! The kids are so well behaved and, some of the teachers teaching there now were even students at one time! Now that is commitment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

Smm had 100% of their children pass the state tests. The children have smaller class rooms and more interaction with the teachers. The principal knows all the kids, not just the ones in trouble. The uniforms and rules allow the children to grow and give a great them all a great sence of belonging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2006

My son and daughter both graduated from SMM and I couldn't be happier with their progress. My daughter just graduated 8th grade and she excels academically and athletically. SMM is a great place for kids to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2006

Tradition, Pride and Excellence. A school where the students love to learn and learn to love. The respect, discipline and academics are of the highest degree. As a parent I have no regrets of sending my child to St. Mary Magdalene. He has received the foundations of a quality education, friendships and the importance of service in a faith-filled environment that will last forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2005

My son graduated from 8th grade last year and is now a freshman at Bishop Ready High School. Not a day goes by that I don't thank God for leading my son ( family ) to this wonderful school. I've seen him grow spiritually as well as academically. His school years ( k-8) at SMM were filled with the highest standards academially. Everyday he left with a smile on his face. This is a safe, close community where chidren are taught respect, discipline, and tolerance as well as excellence academics- and faith is at the heart of it all. This is truly an education that doesn't cost- it pays! Sandy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

My son just graduated kindergarten from St. Mary Magdalene and we could not be happier with the level of education and dedication that was displayed. Our son loved his first year. Parent involvement was always welcomed and appreciated. The parents received weekly newsletters telling us what could be expected. These came from the principal as well as his kindergarten teacher. We hold this school in high regards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 77%
Black 8% 19%
Hispanic 7% 3%
Two or more races 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rocco L. Fumi
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (614) 279-9575

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Columbus
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2940 Parkside Rd
Columbus, OH 43204
Phone: (614) 279-9935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT