Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Columbus Montessori Education Center

Private | PK-6 | 212 students

Our school is best known for providing authentic Montessori education.

 
 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $50,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2013

Columbus Montessori Education Center is a top notch private school and outstanding Montessori school. All three of my children have attended the school and I recommend the school to everyone I know. The students are encouraged to follow their interests, learning independence, compassion and care for others. The passion and care that each teacher brings into that school every day is amazing. Unlike other private schools in Columbus, CMEC is focused on creating a school that reflects the diversity of our city, nation and world. Students from a variety of socio-economic and cultural backgrounds attend. The school is also a leader in the Montessori community. American Montessori Society affiliated, CMEC has championed mixed-age classrooms in infant/toddler settings extending the traditional Montessori benefits to a younger student population. The school houses a Teacher Education Program on-site and not only instructs and certifies teacher within the schools, but grooms Montessori teachers throughout the Midwest. CMEC also serves as a founding partner and mentor for other centers switching to a multi-aged classroom environment. I cannot say enough about the school and its staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

My son has attended Columbus Montessori Education Center for 3 years. He is in kindergarten this year. I believe CMEC cares about the students and subscribes to the Montessori method (they are also a Montessori teacher educudation school). I often observe the classroom. The children are all engaged in their work and, for the most part, independently choosing works. I like that the children in a room are of mixed age and ability. I also like that the children are not learning to a "standard" at this age but are provided materials for whatever level they are currently learning - for example there are two children in my sons 3-6 room who are reading books from the elementary school this year. There has been turnover in staff recently and the school is currently looking for a new Director. I wish CMEC had a better method for ensuring all parents are provided with necessary information up front, but overall the school is doing very well at their job of educating the students in their care. CMEC also accepts vouchers for students from failing schools to attend - new from the 2012 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

We have been at the school for 3 kids and 5 years. You cannot surpass Montessori education models for young kids. All learning should be this individualized. The school is the perfect size, diversity, with high ceiling beautiful classrooms. The Montessori works and teachers who guide kids are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

Columbus Montessori has been the answer to my prayers. My daughter had been to several daycare centers who couldn't handle her constant and extreme thirst for knowledge. Since she was so under-stimulated, she tended to act out to create her own stimulation. Then I found CMEC! From the first day, she has been constantly learning new things, she's never bored and always happy. I love this place. She's 3 now and will be here until she graduates out of the 6th grade! Thank you CMEC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

The teachers really understand what is wonderful and special about each child. In addition, my children are confident and eager learners in a place they feel comfortable and respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

My two children attend and they amaze me everyday with what they learn. They are also respected and cared for as people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

My children have been attending CMEC for 3 years. My daughter will begin K level and my son in 2nd grade in fall '08. My son is learning time management through the use of his work plan. The teachers acknowledge and embrace the individuality of each child. We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

We send our daughter to CMEC, and we are impressed daily by the quality of care and intellectual stimulation the teachers provide. CMEC has taught us a lot about our daughter's immense capacity for independence and her level of sophistication. It's also taught us a lot about how important self-respect and social skills are to any educational program. Overall, a great experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2007

My son has been attending Cmec for about 2 years now. This is a great school. The school really focuses on self respect, respect for others, and being a leader. I love the fact that anytime during the day I can visit the school and have lunch, or snack and feel welcomed. I love the teachers, staff, security of the school, and playground. When I send my son off to school every morning I have peace of mind that he is learning, and having fun in a safe and comfortable environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

This is a quality educational facility that works with the child to realize his/her potential and to create life-long learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

My son went to CMEC from second through seventh grade. It was a wonderful educational experience. The teachers were caring and engaging, and put forth extra effort to assure that each child received a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

This is a wonderful school! My daughter came here in the summer of 2004, attended Kindergarten and is now attending elementary summer camp. Before coming here, she attended preschool at Kindercare. Kindercare wasn't bad but they really didn't know how to handle my daughter who is very intense and 'spirited'. At CMEC, the teachers worked with my daughter to channel her spirit into challenging educational and creative works. She has improved her self-control and conflict management skills and has learned to work more independently. I'm pleased with the math, reading and writing skills she has developed. She has learned about science, the arts and other cultures. The Montessori method emphasizes respect for self, others and the environment and I'm very impressed with the way CMEC ensures this philosophy is present in everything they do. If the Montessori method is right for your child, this school is the best in the class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2004

Top notch all the way. My child is thriving both emotionally and intellectually. The teachers provide him the tools and direction, but he discovers and learns along the way. He has been empowered to learn at his pace, rather than being held back or pushed to move ahead. All of this, in a diverse 'real world' environment. Thank you CMEC.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 77%
Two or more races 18% N/A
Asian 16% N/A
Black 12% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Japanese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • President's Award for Educational Achievement (2013)
  • Step Up To Quality 4 Star (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Nancy De Roberts-Moore
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAEYC
  • Other Montessori
Fax number
  • (614) 231-3780

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Adult education
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Global
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

979 S James Rd
Columbus, OH 43227
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 231-3790

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

All Sts. Academy
Columbus, OH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT