Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastmoor Academy

Public | 9-12 | 764 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

Greatest attraction is the school never seems to close. Teachers and student are always there well into the evening. There are constant activities. I'm most impressed with the teachers who remain after class to tutor. They seem happy to be doing so. I have two granddaughters attending and they are doing very well academically along with their involvement with band, cheerleaders, drama, choir, and track. A great school with a great atmosphere, staff and administration.


Posted August 3, 2013

Iam a female junior at e.a. and ive spent three years so far here. Its a great school in so many ways. But like any school there is always some kind of downfall. Eastmoors arts are outstanding! And all the different clubs are great to join. I'm in the impact team,gospel choir.womens chorus,mixed ensamble.spanish club.drama club and ive did many sports since freshman year here.the teachers and principles will reconize you when you achieve something great and it feels great .ive been reconized 3 times so far and one of them was in the middle of class ! lol Yes they do give a lot of work academically but that part of learning. It may be hard at first to maintain all the work but it gets easier the longer you stay. Youll love it once you get into it.:)


Posted December 6, 2012

Great parent support! I am an Eastmoor High School Alumni with a child enrolled and am happy with the progress. The academic preparedness is top notch and the drama and athletic programs are stellar. EA is one of Columbus City Schools' gems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

The people are hurtful. The teachers can't manage the classes and the school is completely overrated. People don't understand that yes it may be ranked higher up but, the school is a terrible place to go. I know that I would never put my kids in such a place. I have been counting the days until I leave. The celebration won't be of my happy years, it will be of the fact that I never have to set foot in that building ever again. I have never hated a place so much in my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2010

Excellant school academic scores are off the chain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

If you are interested in an excellant education as well as sports this is the school. Alot of great entertainers and athletes came from this High School.


Posted July 21, 2009

Eastmoor Academy is an excellent school with excellent, hardworking teachers dedicated to the success of each student. As a parent, I am very sad to see Principal Darryl Sanders leave as his effectiveness has led to him to a promotion in the district, however, I am excited about the new leadership of the school. My experience as a parent has been outstanding. I recently spoke with a prior EA student who proudly spoke of prepardness for college which she credited to her EA experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Principal - Darryl Sanders Eastmoor Academy I had the most extraordinary opportunity of monitoring and observing the principal interacting with the students at Eastmoor Academy and I was extremely impressed especially with it being a without notification. The geniune, saftey,love and concerned that was shown for each child as they walked through the halls and in their classes the level of communication and sensibility for each student was phenomenal. It was a joint effort among the assistant principals as well as the staff. This school should be awarded for the tremendous work that they are incorporating for the whole student to prepare them for the future. Not only should they be rated a 5 star but, with the resources that they have to manage with, just think of the work they could accomplish as the board continues to support the principal and staff with increase revenue for the welfare of these students. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I currently attend Eastmoor Academy High School. I am a Freshman. So far I love this school and I haven't even been there for 2 months. I also like it because it is a College Prep school. So if you are not in school to learn you minds well not come to EAHS. Because the staff have zero tolerance to put up with kids that don't want a good education. So if you are looking forward to go to College this is the perfect school for you. I just think God cause I am in one of the best schools in Columbus Public District and there are many of kids that wants to be in my place. Our school slogan ' Where The Best Success'. So please be prepare when you come to this school, because the work is based on College Prep Level. Which is awesome for me and others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2006

All 3 of my children attended Eastmoor Academy, I found the experience to be Superb!!!! The Music & Drama Department is fantastic. The teachers really care about your children and really take the time to make sure they understand and know what they are doing. Parents stay involve in your children education to help them achieve their very best,Eastmoor staff is their to make the transition from high school student to college student an easier transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

I graduated from Eastmoor Academy in 2001 and loved my experience here. Eastmoor did a great job of preparing me for college life and college corse work. I also loved the fine arts department. Being apart of the school plays and musicals enriched me culturally and introduced me to a world I never knew!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 12, 2006

I think Eastmoor has the highest academic quality in Columbus Public High Schools. The drama program is known state wide and the sports programs is also noted for state titles in several areas. The PTA is perhaps the 2nd or 3rd largest in membership in the district. Several of our students have been accepted in leadership summits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

This School is best for any child that wants to goto school and get an eduction for the future bedcause they will say that if you dont want to be here walk out and we will get somone that wants to be here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2006

Excellent school that will prepare your child for college. Wonderful, caring teachers that offer innovative ways to educate students. Great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Choosing EA as the school to prepare my son for the real world was the best decision I made. The concern that the teachers & staff show for the kids is remarkable. They truly are concerned for the young men and woman they are mentoring. When you walk into the school you feel a since a professionalism. And when you leave you feel a since of pride. The doors are always open to you and the availability and the staff is great. My son has been attending EA since the 9th grade and he will be in th 11th grade for the 2005-2006 school year. I look forward to him going make to school and reaching is destiny in life. Eastmoor Academy is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

I love this school. I attend this school as a freshman. It was hard getting used to this stuff, but after a while you will get used to it. Eastmoor Academy is a school that will better you in a plethora of ways, I promise you that.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2004

I am a recent graduate of Eastmoor (class of 2004). I am curently enrolled in college and I feel like Eastmoor trully prepared me for the work load of college. Eastmoor is a great place to go. The teachers, staff and studnets are like one big family.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 11, 2003

I am currently a student at Eastmoor Academy. Eastmoor teaches me daily to strive for the best, and makes me believe that I can achieve all of my goals. Eastmoor in an excellent school for any child who wants to suceed in the future. The teachers are always there when you need them, and the principal always has an open ear for your comments or concerns. Eastmoor is a great place to send any student who is determined to learn.


Posted August 10, 2003

I really don't know to much about the new principal for this school year. Hopefully, he will be like the last. Respectful and very concerning about his students and their enviroment and learning.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Black, non-Hispanic82%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabled17%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Black, non-Hispanic90%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students78%
Female83%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabled44%
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
Female87%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female95%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic90%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled39%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
98 (2011)
 
93 (2010)
 
93 (2009)
 
93 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

81%

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

93%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 94% 16%
White 3% 74%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alesia N. Gillison
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6960

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

417 South Weyant Ave
Columbus, OH 43213
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6158

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT