Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Electronic Classroom of Tomorrow

Charter | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $59,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 23, 2009

This school has been so great! My teachers call and let me know how I am doing. I had my little boy last December and the teachers were very understanding about when I got my work in. Since I've been in Ecot I can do my work on my own schedule, it works great for me and my son. I got all A's and B's and passed all my OGT's with an advanced in math, and I've never been good at math, until now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2009

I'm currently attending this school and i am proud to say that i am a student at one of the best schools ever.the reason i am talking about this is because if you sit down and think about the fact that there is no reason that any one should fail this school there are no excuses but, the fact of the matter is that this school kept me from dropping out due to the fact that i couldn't take the pressure of other students bothering me about how good i am doing or how i look. now i have a FULL TIME job and i am graduating this year so anything is possible. i think that the teachers are great and you will learn alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2009

I pulled my two children from our local 'Excellent' school because they were getting failing grades, while their OAT scores were above (often WELL above) average. There were constant issues with discipline, and a disturbing lack of any support from the public school teachers or principal. IT was always the children's fault for not meeting the expectations. After a quarter at ECOT, their grades are nearly 100s in all subjects, and my daughter finally doesn't feel like she is too stupid to do math. I can track what they are doing constantly, and I can intervene to make sure they can 'catch up' where they've missed or forgotten something, and enrich the program where their interest lies. And not one teacher has ever told me they don't have time to work with my child because they have too many other students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

I am a student at this school and highly recommend it to anyone considering k-12 online schooling. I am able to graduate a year early and take challenging courses that suit my needs. You can either use their computer that they give you or the computer you use normally. I use my own computer as I like to use Google for more information if I want it, and can talk to my friends on instant messenger while doing homework. The teachers are all very nice and respond to my messages swiftly. When I was in public school my grades were poor because I was distracted. Now I have A's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 13, 2007

This school is horrible. Computer never works. Always have to have them replace it, there system is always down, needs lots of improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Flexible, professional, challenging. Great teachers who get back to you very quickly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

This is our first year at ECOT and we are more than pleased! The education is excellent and I am able to see exactly what my children are learning. The teachers are very helpful and plan interesting lessons so the children are not doing the same old thing everyday and every week. I wish I would have taken them out of public school earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2007

My kids grades have gone up and so has there confidence. I do not regret pulling my kids from there public school and putting them into this program. I have 2 kids that need special education and the staff here are fantastic in seeing that we have everything we need. There is constant parent teacher communication and they are always there to help when needed. I would recommend this program to anyone who is thinking about putting there child into a program like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My four children have been at ECOT for two years. I am not impressed. Quality of their programs is mediocre. Availability of extracurriculars is minimal. Level of parent involvement is dependent upon each parent. Teacher involvement is minimal. This year has been a worse experience than last. High school teachers are assigned 200 students per semester! No wonder they can't keep up with grades or messages. We're looking for a new option next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2005

It is an excellent school for any age student. They are also very good for special needs students. They have an excellent program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2005

I am a student at ECOT. I was going to drop out of my other school since I became pregnant and the teachers and students at the other school were harrassing me constantly. I just wanted to give up. I ran across ECOT. It has been great! I am now getting all A's and B's and I also have moved up a grade. I am doing very well in my classes. The academic programs are great. The classes are still a little difficult but not too bad. It's not taking the easy way out. The work is just like in regular school. There is a high need for parental involvement. You can space you time out how you need to. Teachers require check-ins weekly, and you must turn in work on weekly-basis. I recommend this school to anyone struggling in public schools. Their is also a guidance counselor for everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2004

I am a student enrolled in this school. I've been in this school for 4 years know I love this school and i would rather work with ECOT then go to a school to deal with the harassing and all the other garbage that goes on at a school. I have always had timely responces from teachers and all admistrators I've never had a problem with shipments being late or anything like that they have been great for me and I reccomend them to everyone and anyone that doesnt like school give ECOT a shot and its free.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2004

ECOT is a wonderful school! My kids would not attend any where else. My kids concentrate on their school work, not on the other kids or what they are wearing. Although they don't see the other kids on a day to day bases, they have Prom, online chats, and parent teacher conferences. As for the computer system going down, it happens rarely and thats bound to happen when using the internet. My kids teachers have constant communication wether through email or phone calls. My kids love it and so do I. You never have to worry about your children being in harms way when they are on a protected internet in the saftey of your own home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

Ecot is awesome! My kids hated school and were ready to drop out. Now, they have passed there tests and are staying in school. The teachers are the most caring I've ever worked with. They always work hard to fix the problems. Ecot is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

My son has been enrolled in ECOT for 3 years. We have never had any problems, and my son is doing great. Not only did he pass all of his proficiency tests, but he scored advanced on his Math, Science, and Citizenship tests which are taken in person. They arranged a nearby location that was very convenient for us to travel to. I think the cirriculum is great and exceeds that of the public school in the district where we live. Lori Cox
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

ECOT (Electronic Classroom Of Tomorrow) is terrible. Their network is down frequently, teacher to student communication can be very poor, and it can be near impossible to solve and problems. Their shipments are usually late; they can be up to 6 months late! Their mail packets (they are used when a student cannot access ECOT through the computer) are sometimes incomplete and even the wrong subject. They use the 'Honor system' to deliver tests. Very few people stick to that system. I would never recommend ECOT to anyone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2003

We have 8 children 6 of which are enrolled in Ecot. My children are recieving the best education of their lives. The teachers are absolutley wonderful. I would recommend this school to everyone I meet that is interested in a charter and /or homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

237 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

560 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female40%
Male39%
Black, non-Hispanic28%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial20%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Disabled23%
Non-disabled46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female57%
Male57%
Black, non-Hispanic56%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female39%
Male33%
Black, non-Hispanic10%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Disabled19%
Non-disabled40%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanic67%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabled41%
Non-disabled72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
Female20%
Male19%
Black, non-Hispanic5%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial17%
White21%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Disabled14%
Non-disabled22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female52%
Male46%
Black, non-Hispanic25%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial58%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students29%
Female29%
Male28%
Black, non-Hispanic15%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial25%
White31%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Disabled22%
Non-disabled31%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female42%
Male33%
Black, non-Hispanic31%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial36%
White37%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Disabled11%
Non-disabled47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female63%
Male55%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Disabled28%
Non-disabled70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female37%
Male37%
Black, non-Hispanic22%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial28%
White38%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Disabled14%
Non-disabled44%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female65%
Male55%
Black, non-Hispanic41%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracial72%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female48%
Male51%
Black, non-Hispanic42%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial44%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Disabled18%
Non-disabled58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial70%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students45%
Female40%
Male49%
Black, non-Hispanic33%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracial30%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Disabled22%
Non-disabled51%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet
Grade 6MetMet
Grade 7MetMet
Grade 8MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

1438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

1438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

1436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

1428 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

1435 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female63%
Male60%
Black, non-Hispanic45%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial76%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial89%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students56%
Female55%
Male57%
Black, non-Hispanic35%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial71%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabled24%
Non-disabled64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female64%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic57%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial80%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Disabled38%
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female78%
Male63%
Black, non-Hispanic62%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial75%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
83 (2011)
 
82 (2010)
 
81 (2009)
 
76 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

8%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

35%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 74%
Black 15% 16%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A47%
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 20%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School end time
  • 24 hours
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Fax number
  • (614) 492-8894

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3700 South High St
Columbus, OH 43207
Phone: (614) 492-8884

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Starr Columbus
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT