Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alpine Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2013

My daughter attended kindergarten at Alpine, and I most say I was very impressed by her teacher. From the very beginning she displayed a kind of patience and wisdom to not only teach, but to connect with the children; many of whom were ill-prepared for kindergarten. She didn't slow the entire class down because a few weren't excelling. She approached them as individuals. I only hope that the first grade teachers are as wonderful as she.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

GREAT school. There is plenty of parent involvement. The teachers are great and always return phone calls. I agree with the extra steps taken to protect the children - such as having the school doors locked. They helped my son with his reading & speech issues. Always accomodating and helpful. I love that they have opportunities for the children such as safety patrol & chess club. I am disappointed at the new grading system. There are no more award ceromonies. And my son didn't have a ceromony for his 5th grade class graduation. They need to remember its about acknowledging the kids who have succeeded. Like many schools they want to be all inclusive as to not bring anyone down - all that does is deny those who have worked hard the privelege of being rewarded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Excellent School. Great Parent Involvement. Good Teachers and a wondergul Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

I am so happy that both of my sons were at this school! My eldest is now approaching high school and has carried the things he learned here with him. My youngest has Ausberger's syndrome, and the accomodations that they have made for him have made all the difference. He has gone from a supershy, never-say-a-word kid to a very outgoing young man. I am genuinely happy to say that 'we have been here'. From the principal to the teachers, to the PTA and all the extra-curricular activities, this school is TOPS with my family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

I love Alpine and I am truly going to miss this school when my son leaves for middle school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

What a great school Alpine used to be! I have 8 years of experience with this school and loved it for all but the last year. They always worked so well with my oldest son and surprisingly well with my younger, autistic son. Then last year we got a new principal. The attitude toward special needs children has changed and not for the better. There is a new grading system, awards assemblies and Grandparents Day are gone, etc. We removed our special needs child last year. We're sad about these changes, because most of the teachers are excellent and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I have been associated with this school for over six years. I have found it to be one of the best. I have never had any complaints until the last couple of years. The teachers are GREAT, but the new administration has a long way to go. The school doors being on locked, the new grading system just to name a few. I will be removing my child from this school, as are several others I have talked with. I am very disappointed about the past two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

This is a wonderful school with a high level of parental involvement. My daughter just completed her kindergarten year and suffers adhd. Before sending my daughter to this school, I had a great deal of trouble with her doctor getting her the help she needs. The entire faculty fought for us and with us to get her help and brought her from failing grades to passing kindergarten. I love the way they challenge the students academically and creatively. I don't think there was a single class she didn't like but her favorites were art and phys ed. The school actually takes that extra step in showing the parents and children that they really do care. I would definitely recommend Alpine Elementary to anyone who wants their child in a school that challenges academically and yet instills good moral values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

parent involvement at this school is very high. the pta is very active and does a great job! most of the teachers are very supportive and very helpful with ideas to help the child having trouble. My child had a reading problem and once the problem was discovered and addressed I think the teachers did a great job helping her overcome her obsticle.This school has high expectations which I like. They are constantly challenging the students to do their very best.They acknowledge the good behavior and grades with award presentations every grading period and peak free parties. I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

Parent Involvement is quite high at this school which makes it one of the top elementary schools in the CPS system. Art is a major part of the curriculum. We lotteried into the school from another Columbus neighborhood and it has been a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

My experience with Alpine was one of some disappointments but mostly a feel of support from the principal on down. I was encouraged as a parent to participate in school activities. They constantly gave me options for any problem that I encountered. I have recommended that my sister send her son and he is excelling academically in all areas including his social skills. I have gone to plays, to a pancake breakfast. Overall this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female78%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female67%
Male86%
Black, non-Hispanic72%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled10%
Non-disabled88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female68%
Male93%
Black, non-Hispanic81%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black, non-Hispanic68%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students73%
Female80%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
94 (2011)
 
99 (2010)
 
100 (2009)
 
92 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 16%
White 27% 74%
Two or more races 11% 4%
Hispanic 10% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 13%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Cheryl D. Lumpkin
Fax number
  • (614) 365-5358

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1590 Alpine Dr
Columbus, OH 43229
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Marburn Academy
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT