Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Woodcrest Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2013

Woodcrest is a great school filled with fabulous teachers. The teachers are always looking foor new and exciting ways to teach. My girls come home excited about their day . I give Woodcrest an A and would suggest this school for everyone. This school has the best principal Mrs. Kubli, and she plays a large part in the schools success. Thank you Woodcrest staff, you are forever in our hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school is not a top school of choice. I though when I first came there that it will be a great choice for my son, but the teachers does not teach them. She takes hip hop songs and turn them into "learning" songs; my son is always in trouble, and other things. When talking to this teacher nothing seems to click. I think this school needs a total makeover from education to size of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

THIS IS THE BEST SCHOOL MY KIDS HAVE ATTENDED IN COLUMBUS! I GREW UP IN THE COUNTRY AND THIS SCHOOL REMINDS ME OF HOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2012

Good Good School with Great Great Teachers!!!!!!!! One in a hundred in acity of Columbus Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

I love woodcrest school. My son has attended woodcrest for 5yrs and he loves it as much as we do. We are very pleased with the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

I am the parent of a Kindergartner and, my son loves his school, teacher, and classmates. I think that it's wonderful that the school is open year round, it helps to keep what they've learned fresh. I would have to say that I give Woodcrest an A+. My only concern is the neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

My Daughter has attended Woodcrest for the past six years and is preparing to be part of the first full term graduating class since Woodcrest reopened. If I had to sum up our time at Woodcrest in three word it would be wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I could not have scripted a better elementary experience for my daughter. Great teachers and staff. Not to mention the best Principal in the business. They keep a tight rain on discipline so my daughter doesn't have to deal with peer pressure, bullying and fighting I hear about at other schools. The extra curricular classes: art, music gym and library are fantastic. If I were to tell everything that I love not like about this school it would take more space than they give. So I'll just end by saying that Woodcrest is the cream of the crop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I am very pleased with the education my son is receiving at Woodcrest. He has attended since 2003 and has had 3 wonderful teachers. He is prepared for all tests, and has learned a wealth of information (especially in reading and math). Additionally, the principal, Mrs. stockard, is tireless in her efforts to make that school the best place to be. She knows all of her students and families. She has her fingers on the pulse of instruction and ensures that all teachers are on top of the curriculum. My son is in Choir and is considering band. He enjoys the activities and loves the concerts they have twice a year. The productions are great and the performances are heartwarming. I am very pleased with the my child's elementary school experiencs and with the climate of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

I absolutely love Woodcrest because there is strong leadership and dedicated teachers. The music and arts program are well represented and filled with competent and caring teachers. They truly act like a school community not to mention the PTA is very active. They support the children academically and socially. Any parent would love to send their children to Woodcrest because they are stars indeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2005

Woodcrest is a wonderful school to attend. Since it's year round your child has the opportunity to grasp everything he/she needs. They have music programs and massive teacher involvement. They have movie nights programs for both boys and girls such as the gentlemens club, (they teach the boys to tie ties and etiquette). They have a club to teach the kids how to make responsible decisions under peer pressure. There's plenty of ways for involvement for everyone which will enrich a childs education immensely!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female44%
Male32%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled25%
Non-disabled43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female76%
Male46%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled42%
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female34%
Male58%
Black, non-Hispanic48%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial40%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female84%
Male92%
Black, non-Hispanic89%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female41%
Male38%
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Disabled0%
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students50%
Female53%
Male47%
Black, non-Hispanic48%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled21%
Non-disabled58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students42%
Female41%
Male44%
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Disabled14%
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
84 (2011)
 
87 (2010)
 
88 (2009)
 
90 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 77% 16%
Two or more races 9% 4%
White 7% 74%
Hispanic 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lindsey S. Kubli
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6751

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5321 East Livingston Ave
Columbus, OH 43232
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6747

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT