Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbus Africentric Early College 1

Posted May 04, 2014
- a community member
This school is in danger of closing after years of poor performance. Africentric is labelled as an alternative school and students have the opportunity to take college credit courses at CSCC. Nonetheless, the school is ranked bottom of the CCS and less than a handful of students are enrolled to CSCC. Administration lacks leadership and staff morals are low with high turnover ratio. In 2014, CCS Board decided to make changes in administration to save the school but it is a bit too late because the damage has been done with past administraion's failure to turn the school around. They catered to the terrible kids and lack of discipline, the good kids that wanted to learn ended up leaving even going back to their home schools. The infrastructure of the building is out-dated, parents were promised to have a new building completed by 2013 but it never fell through. Previous administration had failed to recruit good students and let everyone in, so the students who got expelled from other schools ended up in Africentric and continue to disrupt the school.

Columbus Africentric Early College 1

Posted October 23, 2012
- a parent
One of the worst schools in the district. The principal and assistants are all unprofessional, students are always noisy, rude and not there to study. I placed my daughter after reading the early college program, it's a joke as only 1/2 students attend columbus state so it's a early college for name. Teaches don't teach and adminstration doesn't do anything. Never send your kid or let someone else send there kid here


Columbus Africentric Early College 4

Posted February 09, 2011
- a community member
I found this to be a good school. If you are not open to an African-centered perspective. Students still learn the from the core curriculum of the Columbus City School district, just from an Africentric perspective where students see themselves in what they are learning. They can apply what they are learning to everyday situations. The outcome is remarkable in the area of self-concept, self-esteem, and racial identity development. The students prepare for college and by the time they graduate, they can have their high school diploma and associate degree. The guiding principles of Nguzo Saba and Maat is a great base to teach from. Parents should be willing to participate in the school's activities and their child's education, if not, then that is sad.

Columbus Africentric Early College 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
sorry to say I would not recomment this school to anyone a good school starts with good leadership and 2 weeks my d aughter begged my to take her out and after I three week I did and took her back to her school of 1st choice when the school year started back what they were teach was 4th grade level and she was in the 6th grade at the end of the day it is n ot just about being with your race its being where the better place is for your child my faimlly members have also taken there kids out

Columbus Africentric Early College 1

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Columbus Africentric Early College 1

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Columbus Africentric Early College 1

Posted April 21, 2009
- a parent
This school lacks discipline. If your child is eager to learn this environment is very distracting. The principle will let the kids do almost anything and get away with it. Children like to push limits and if there is no limit there is only chaos.

Columbus Africentric Early College 0
no rating

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
I have three boys who have attended from elementary. I think the academic program that our school offers is a God given opportunity for those students who are willing to work for the grade. Africentric is a partnership between teachers/administrators and Student /parents. The greater that door of communication, the better the success plan for that student. Our school is village oriented and teachers must desire to be apart of that culture in order to push students to succeed.


Columbus Africentric Early College 5

Posted October 29, 2008
- a student
Wonderful school, it allows student in high school to earn their Associate of Arts or Associate of Science transfer degree from Columbus State Community College, upon completion of the program.

Columbus Africentric Early College 5

Posted June 25, 2007
- a parent
I have 6 children at Africentric ( Ist, 3rd, 4th, 2 in 10th and an 11th grader). All of my children are boys. Africentric has helped them grow and open a wide door of opporutunity to have some sort of success in the world. We are pleased with the program and happy to have our children there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus Africentric Early College
300 East Livingston Ave, Columbus, OH  43215
(614) 365-8675
Last modified Columbus Africentric Early College is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus Africentric Early College Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.