Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oakstone Academy

Private | PK-6 | 200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Columbus

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $85,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 19, 2014

I have been going to this school for a decade and I can both brag about it and distrust it all at the same. The teachers are the best, having real passion in what they teach and care about each student succeeding. The teachers set a high standard of good teaching, higher than any other school. I haven t even considered homeschooling because of them. Our current principals of the elementary, high, and middle school are some of the best leaders you will see, and need more say in matters in my opinion. Word of caution: cronyism and nepotism are the norm (allowed because the school is not public). This is true in most schools, and this school does have a higher staff-kids-to-non ratio, but there are too many instances to mention here of obvious favoritism (strangely enough, doesn t happen very much in the classrooms as far as I see, it is mostly in anything extra-curricular.) The lack of transparency in most of the leadership doesn t help. At least I haven t really been bullied here like I probably would be at another school. Overall, I wish I could be much more proud of my school, but I ll give credit where credit is due and not where it isn t. Also the schoolwork is insanely easy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2013

My school absolutely amazing. The teachers are helpful. When ever you need help with school work and homework, teachers will help you outside of class time as we'll. This is my 7th year at Oakstone. The principal is really helpful and genuine. Students here are well behaved. If there is a conflict between students, teachers will address the problem to prevent the issue from happening again. I love that Oakstone is small and not over populated like most high schools today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2013

As a former ASD student at this school, my assertion is that the attention is drawn mostly to the "typical peers." The ASD students are looked down on, not taken seriously, and spoken to as if they are two year olds. This also sends the message to the "peers" that as long as you are society's definition of "normal" you can expect to have everything handed to you and it's alright to treat people with disabilities with disrespect. The teachers tried earnestly to talk me out of enlisting in the Armed Forces-which in the long run, has simply made me more determined. The "vocational" building was a mess. There was nothing "vocational" about this place-it was a place opened up to dumb us down, make us feel degraded and humiliated and show that "disabled" people have NO place in society. The building was cramped, filthy and smelled. The "grad" students were put in with the nonverbal, low-functioning and remediation students and expected to do rudimentary first-grade level work. Several of the teachers were snappish and rude. They were not encouraging of us in any way going into challenging careers, i.e. first responders, the military, etc. Do NOT enroll in the vocational building.


Posted November 19, 2012

As stated by previous posts from parents, DO NOT waste your child's time at this school. Trust your instincts...if things seem too good to be true, they probably are. As a former teacher at this institution I can assure you that this place is toxic and that the best interest of the child is no longer at heart. Teachers are often asked to implement negative and punitive behavior plans and children are treated harshly. As a parent, I would not allow my own children to attend this school based on what I have seen and how some children are treated. The individualized needs of children are not being met at this school. The classrooms are stacked with behaviors that not only impede are their learning, but also the learning of their peers. Great teachers who are willing to go above and beyond, however, with an administration that controls every dynamic of the classroom it is often challenging. Administrators at Oakstone are cold, harsh, and treat their staff like there are disposable at any moment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2012

While my ASD child attended Oakstone the following problems were observed: lack of security, the receptionist is never at her desk,ANYONE could come in and take a child and they would never know. Parents are not allowed to peek in to the classroom unannounced. Incorrect use of PECS system ,only targeting bad behaviors, not enough teaching of good behaviors. I received no communication about my child'sprogress or struggles, but everyday you will receive at least 3 emails on donating money.Current expenditures per pupil for public elementary and secondary education was $10,297.At OA the current expenditures per pupil for private elementary and secondary education is $28,000. I met a few teachers that left OA and they told me the same thing "Funding is NOT distributed correctly, the principal and directors control the flow of money in the school, cutting supplies and necessary items that teachers asked for.The teachers that left OA have all said that they were asked to do things that went against their better moral judgement. My child has made more progress in 1 mth. at Dublin than she did a whole year at OA. Do not waste your child's time on this school. ASD kids deserve much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

My son has attended this school for 4 years and has had highly professional and loving teachers. He is consistently scoring in the top 5% of the nation in standarddized testing. His teachers know and understand his personality giving him the right balance of nurturing and challenge. Readers will notice that many of the reviews on here are either excellent or awful. In my opinion, you need to see the program and talk to parents and staff to make your own judgement. No school is perfect, but Oakstone is aplace that makes me feel good about my child's academic, social, and moral development. I feel good leaving him there and know he will continue to flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

Oakstone is a wonderful school for typical kids and kids with disabilities. Everyone is welcomed and we are all family at Oakstone. And this school does get you ready for reality. I love it here. All the teachers are willing to help and they love each and every one of their students. Best school I've ever been to. I recommend this school to everyone its safe, family oriented, and amazing. I LOVE YOU OAKSTONE!!!


Posted December 1, 2011

This is my sixth year attending Oakstone, and I have nothing bad to say about it. The staff there is amazing. If you need help on any of your homework, or even classwork, the teachers will help you with it. I am a typical student there, and I have learned to appreciate my autistic piers. Oakstone has a student leadership team, Young Life, which is a youth group, and a few sports. All in all, I'm happy to be a student of Oakstone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2011

Ever wonder why the focus room doesn't have a camera or one way window? Wouldn't an honest teacher be ok with being watched? If nothing was going on and everything was on the up and up why not? But if you ever question the conduct of a teacher look out! The elementary principal (the founder's sister by the way - no other way she could be a principal) will literally yell at you. I was told to stay by the phone because if my child needed to go to the focus room I would have to come get him. This was after asking about my child getting hurt while in the focus room. After that I was treated coldly by staff. My child was hurt numerous times while at that school. Don't get me wrong I do have a difficult child, but Oakstone supposedly works with difficult children. Just think about my review and others before you send your child there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

horrible school teachers have no clue what they are doing and how to cope with a child on the spectrum, a few yrs back when i went there i was severly depressed due to the way that the teachers treated other who were severly autstic.


Posted May 4, 2011

My son Peyton has been at Oakstone since it first opened. We did try our home school for a month but they would only allow him to be in a secluded classroom and no opportunities to be mainstreamed in a regular classroom. Well, after a month of seeing nothing normal, he got worse. I quickly got him back into Oakstone and well 10 years later he is thriving and has accomplished more than I ever dreamed. Oakstone has a way of presenting curriculum that is understandable for kids with autism as well as their typical peers. They have offered our family support, sibling workshops for my typical sons along with any other support we have asked for. This is a very unique school in that everyone is accepted and typical students enjoy being leaders and helping their autistic friends. Peyton has overcome so many obstacles and continues to this day to become more independent. I am thankful everyday for Oakstone and what their staff does for my son. I hope one day more schools will realized that kids with autism need a chance to be normal and given a chance to reach their potential and isolating them in classrooms with no exposure to real life is not the answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

I'm writing this as a heads-up to prospective parents. Note before beginning: My comments reflect upon the middle/high school building, where I worked for one year. As a parent, you should know that while I was a teacher at Oakstone, I observed multiple inappropriate things that took place. Administrators told me not to share certain information/events with parents, even when these events related directly to their child. Parents were not allowed to come in and observe unless it was a planned observation - no unannounced visits. The administration runs the staff as if it's a popularity contest, and I only use this comparison because I don't know how else to explain it. If you're "in" then you fall in line and do what you're told. You're "out' the moment you try to express an alternate opinion, even if you believe that opinion to be in the best interest of a student. I believe schools should have an open-door policy to parents, and that parents have a right to know truthful details about how staff handle their child if he/she misbehaves. Ask a lot of questions if you visit this school, and trust your instincts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2011

Both my daughter on the Autism spectrum and my typically developing son attend Oakstone. I must admit, I'm a little confused about some of the points made in these reviews. First of all. We have never been asked to sign away the right to place our daughter in therapy outside of school. She is engaged in therapies both in and out of school. As one reviewer mentioned, the need for extended attention and services for children with ASD is great. My daughter has made fantastic progress in the year and half or so that she has attended Oakstone and our son has flourished as well. I've certainly seen his sympathy for those afflicted with ASD increase. He is far more understanding and compassionate toward his sister. I also find the staff to be particularly good at what they do. The teachers are compassionate and understanding as well and the staff has never been anything but professional. Their financial department has also been surprisingly flexible -- which is very important. Compared to similar programs available in the local school districts, Oakstone stands a head above. My children will both be attending Oakstone again next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

This school may accept people of color in the class room, money is green, but they are discouraged to hire people of color. The so call employment department will scheduled an appointment with people of color and once arrive and see that you are non white you will meet with a Representative of the dept and told that there was an emergency meeting and he will not be able to meet with you. Never to receive a reschedule or phone call from human resources. Never to hearing anything. There has been six people who attempted to gain a face to face interview and three white and three non white the white people received an interview and the three non white were met with there was an emergency meeting. I was told things about this school but I had to see for myself.


Posted November 30, 2010

This is the first year for my son at Oakstone Academy. He is in the high school. The team of teachers he has are wonderful. It has been a welcoming environment and my son is being more academically challenged than he was in his public school program. So far we have been pleased with his progress and the school as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2010

We moved to Columbus so our three children could attend Oakstone Academy. I am so happy and find the school to be a blessing. Our boys (both Autism) and our daughter(peer) have thrived. They love school and all the staff. It is a true joy knowing that they want to see my children succeed as much as we do. Words cannot say enough about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I have children that are peers the attend both the elementary and middle school bulidings. also this is our first and last year that I will allow my children to attend. I was very disappointed in the professionalism of the administration. It may be good for children with austism but not for peers. This is our families first and last year attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

These reviews are a little skewed! My children went there for years after my home school district refused to put my AS child in the same school with her peers. I was always relieved to have my kids in the same building and I did feel that the teachers liked my AS daughter and enjoyed her company which is way more than the average school will give AS kids. I would also totally disregard the 'agreement' that parents are required to sign to NOT use outside therapies. AS kids need way more intervention than they can get in a 6 hour school day. Oakstone needs to stick with what it provides: a school for AS kids and their sibs. Funny though that so many parents opt to keep their typical kids out of Oakstone...parents on their own board (it's just weird IMHO).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

I have had my typically developing son at Oakstone since he was in preschool. Over the years that he has been a student at Oakstone, he has grown into an extremely compassionate, well adjusted and well educated child who obviously has learned a great deal from his teachers as well as his classmates. I also work at Oakstone and I am blessed everyday to be a part of such and extraordinary school full of a well knowledged staff and the wonderful bright students that we service. It is a community that I have learned so much from and that have given so much in return to the many families that they service.


Posted October 8, 2009

Sadly, we had high hopes for our grandchildren, but over time we found the administration to be unaware or unwilling to meet the most basic IEP requirements for them. This came with a cost to them and we are very sorry about that. m
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 77%
Black 18% 19%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Nicholas L. Kerns
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (614) 865-0468

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2655 Oakstone Drive
Columbus, OH 43231
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 890-7854

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oakstone Academy
Westerville, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT