Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clinton Elementary

Public | K-5 | 346 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2011

Our son started first grade today. We are so happy to be part of the Clinton community. This school has great teachers and a dedicated and responsive principal. The school very much reflects the values of the Clintonville community -- diversity, inclusiveness, creativity, hard work and good humor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

We loved Clinton and will miss it dearly. My son just finished fifth grade at Clinton and I think I cried at every event the last two weeks of the school year. It was emotional for a number of reasons. Even though the physical building is being renovated, the love, desire and commitment of the staff, parents and students was just as strong on Hubbard Ave. The programs they create for the children are memorable ones. The teachers care about the success of your student. It is a family that our family will miss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Not too happy with teacher this year....my daughter came home crying often, not wanting to sleep at night because she didn't want to go to school. She kept saying her teacher was mean to her. I talked to a few parents and they told me no wonder my daughter feels this way, the teacher is a drill sargeant. They told me at this school, I should always request who I want as a teacher for my kids because only half of them really care. I just prayed my daughters days would get better & I'm praying next year she will be with a teacher she can relate to and feel good about. I am not sure which are the better teachers so I just hope she ends up with someone good. The principal just blows you off if you have an issue and she lets everyone know your personal business so I am not very comfortable speaking with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

Clinton Elementary is a lovely school filled with engaged parents, kind and committed teachers, and a fabulous principal that will insure your child's education & emotional needs are being met. I have 2 sons that attend Clinton (entering 1st & 2nd grade.) Kindergarten teachers are gentle and encouraging. They continued to challenge both my boys and allowed them to progress through the curriculum in areas in which they excelled...and took time with them in areas that needed extra attention. Principal Leffler is outstanding! She presented options/solutions that I would not even known existed. With her leadership she has allowed my oldest son to stay with his peer group, yet continue on with advanced grade curriculum to challenge him academically and support him emotionally/socially. Clinton truly is a Great Place to Grow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

My daughter is entering second grade at Clinton next year and we have been delighted with her education. She is challenged and supported---and above all, happy and safe. Clinton is a neighborhood school--a gem where kids of all kinds learn together and feel a real sense of community. It's very reflective of Clintonville as a whole--respectful, caring and family-oriented. Parents, one of the best parts of Clinton for us has been the instant community we, as adults, have found with the parents of our children's friends. What amazing people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We are thrilled with Clinton for our kindergartener and will be following the whole crew down to Hubbard during the renovation. I've seen the plans and this will be a lovely school when it's renovated--the physical plant will match the quality of my child's experience this year. One of the commenters said that it's a family at Clinton and I could not agree more! And above all, my daughter is learning happily with great kids and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Very active caring community driven school with a special dedication to children with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

Great principal, teachers, parents , and kids. Every day after school is like a party on the playground with all the parents mingeling and the kids playing. My 3rd grader loves it and is getting a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

Our son is beginning his second year at Clinton Elementary, entering 1st grade. My wife and I both hold PhDs and work at OSU--many other parents of Clinton students have similar educational and professional backgrounds. While we believe strongly in the value of a public school education, we carefully considered several several private schools before settling on Clinton Elementary. Our decisions was made on the basis of recommendations from other parents/colleagues and the school's fine reputation. Our son's time in kindergarden was a remarkable introduction to the educational experience. His teacher, deeply gifted and dedicated to her students, awakened in him a love of learning and a strong enthusiasm for school--most days he can't wait to get to the classroom. Could a parent ask for more than that? The principle, too, is outstanding. Clinton attracts excellent teachers because the best teachers want to work with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

My son has attended Clinton for 3 years now and absolutely loves it. He enjoys all of the teachers and I enjoy how much the school reminds me of the one I went to as a child (which was in a small country town in northern Ohio). You really couldn't ask for a better school to bring your child to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My child is in the 4th grade in Clinton Elementary and we love this school. They have excellent teachers that work hard to educate the kids and rating of academic excellence on their state grade card. They have a great arts program with an excellent music teacher, many of her students are going to the Ohio Honors Choir Camp this summer. They have an awesome art class and plenty of after school/lunch/recess clubs and activities: Science Club, Baton Club, Girl Scouts, Daiseys,Destination Imagination, Scrap Booking Club, Art Club, Chess Club, Gardening, and many others. The PTA is one of the strongest I have ever seen and fund many activities at the school as well as supplying books, playground equip., field trip busses. The PTA also supports many family activities at the school: Family Fun Night, Ice Cream Social, Movie Night, Wellness Wed, The Columbus Zoo. You couldn't get much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Someone posted about Clinton and said there wasn't much in the way of 'the arts'. I beg to differ. In suburban schools, like Upper Arlington, children do receive music twice per week and art for an hour. However, what is the quality of the program? And is there a choir offered? Here at Clinton, we have a high quality Kodaly Certificated Music Teacher. While she only sees classes once per week, they are packed with cross-curricular teaching and the students actually read music by second grade. There are two choirs, It must be worthwhile if there are 60 kids involved who give up recess time and come before and after school to practice. There are about 10 performances per year, including a musical. Band and strings are offered and art class is 1 hour.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 29, 2008

This is a great neighborhood school. All the adults, from the principal to the teachers to the instructional aides, go above and beyond for their students. And fortunately there's a new secretary this year! Yes, more 'extras' would be great, but Clinton Elem. does a great job with the resources it has. We are thrilled with the education our children are receiving. Clinton provides a wonderful environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

The school itself is wonderful and the academics are great although they should have a little more money so the kids can experience more programs and activities. The staff is not professional as a whole and I've wondered quite a few times why the secretary still has a job. She is rude and she and other staff seem to not like kids at all. It is clear more staff than not are there for a paycheck not to go over and beyond for our precious children. The school lunches are horrible as in the cold food is too frozen to eat/drink and the hot food is also cold. I feel truly bad for any child having to eat lunch here as they eat off of a truck due to no cafeteria. It gets very hot in that school but the only air conditioners are in the offices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2008

We have a son in his second year at Clinton. His kindergarten experience was good: he learned to read, he loved his teacher, he made friends. Enrollments are high, and there isn't much in the way of arts and extra-curricular activities, but the basics are strong. The principal is an excellent leader, and she seems to hire good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

I have 2 kids currently enrolled here. And my third child will be starting next year. The teacher's are all great. They go way out of their way to make sure the kids are getting the education they need. Parent involvement is wonderful. Everybody I've came across at the school genuinely cares about all the children who attend this excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

All 3 of my sons have gone here or are currently enrolled and I am so blessed to have them here. The parent envolvement is beyond words and the teachers are wonderful and always available if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

My children all attended Clinton, and I have been very satisfied with the education they received. The teachers are knowledgeable and caring, and parent involvement is incredible. To those people who consider leaving CPS for suburban schools, but don't want to leave Clintonville, Clinton is a wonderful choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Clinton Elementary is a good school. There have been many positive reviews. My kids really like it there and are doing beautifully. There grades are really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2007

Clinton Elementary is a fabulous school! Three of our 4 children have attended Clinton and our 4th should start in the fall. We open enroll to this school. We have found this school to have wonderful teachers and a friendly staff. We, as parents, follow up with work and encouragement at home. Parental involvement is large. It's very much a community school with a small town feel in a large city school district. The extracurricular activities are fun and keep our children excited about going to school. If you are a parent getting ready to choose a school, definitely take a look at Clinton Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled85%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled85%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male88%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled80%
Non-disabled94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students84%
Female88%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabled67%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveAbove
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
109 (2011)
 
107 (2010)
 
103 (2009)
 
101 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 74%
Black 10% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Katherine R. Leffler
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6530

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Clinton Heights Ave.
Columbus, OH 43215
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6532

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT