Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Devonshire Alternative Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 434 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2014

This has been my daughter's first year in this school. To be honest, I was a little nervous to send her here, because a few people told me they didn't like the school. My experience with the school has been wonderful! My daughter loves it! She has gotten to take part in many unique opportunities and field trips. It's true that the principal knows each child by name, and is well acquainted with each one. The teachers genuinely care about each child, and it they generally keep parents well informed. The PTA is top-notch, too! Very welcoming. The school is hands-on, has a good appreciation of the arts, teaches chess to the students, and has a wonderful gifted program. The student population is very diverse, which I love! My only complaint is that sometimes the active kids will lose recess, if they are acting up. In my opinion, children should not lose recess, as that tends to make them act out more! But I think that is pretty common in all schools. I love Devonshire, I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

My son has attended Devonshire since kindergarten . I have came to a true liking of all the teachers that I have came across here. This is his last year in elementary and yes he will be attending Devonshire. I have been asked by others what did I think and I highly recommend this school and its staff to others. They have truly took the time out to get to know my child things about my child. Including the principal. I really like her she take the time out to speak with the parents. The teachers are also very involved in how there students learn and what will help them to learn and stay in track. I will miss them after this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2012

Both of my daughter's have attended Devonshire. My oldest attended K-5 and my youngest is currently attending. The teachers and staff have always exceeded my expectations. I've read other reviews that the curriculum is not challenging enough, but to be honest, communication with the teachers can change this. My daughters teachers have gone above and beyond to accelerate subjects to meet the needs of my children and have been excellent communicators. The principal is very involved and knows each child by name (which is not something I've ever seen before). The climbing units and overnight camping is wonderful. Definitely an A+. I would recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My son has now been at Devonshire for 2 years. For the most part we have absolutely loved it. My only complaint is that the curriculum is not challenging enough, but that has more to do with Columbus Public district policies than the school itself. The staff is wonderful, the social education is excellent, and the kids are truly happy to be there. The climbing unit and camping trip each year are some of the high lights for the kids. My son has had the best teachers and have been great at working with and challenging him. The principal is also very involved and the kids adore her. It has also been a great place to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

I am a parent . I attended Devonshire as well when I was a child in the eighties . I loved the school. My son is in PK and I see nothing have changed with the parent involvement and the caring teachers. This is really a great school.Definitly would recomend this school to another parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Teachers seem to be very involved with the children and genuinely care. My son likes going to school, he loves his teacher. Parents are very involved in school functions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2006

I have two children that currently attend Devonshire. They refuse the possibility of going to another school. The teachers are wonderful examples of how teachers should be. They have a charism and enthusiasm that teachers' of my generation lacked. There is a progressive academic structure that challenges the children and keeps learning new and exciting. The parents are also very involved. Theres no better school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

I would recommend Devonshire to any parent in the Columbus Public School System. My son went to Devonshire for K - 4th grade and I was disappointed when we moved and had to put him in a new school. The teachers there are some of the most caring and friendly that I ever met. Devonshire is a great example for a Columbus Public School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2004

Devonshire is a wonderful school! Their 'hands-on' approach really makes learning fun. I have 2 kids in the school and they both love it. The staff cares about the kids and even the parents are extremely involved. I'm so glad my kids had the opportunity to go to Devonshire!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

This school has provided a strong foundation for my granddaughter to grow on. Everyone is so involved with the children and the teachers go that extra step in helping the students. With all the activities that this school has, the students are never bored. The students learn while they are having fun. The district needs more schools with staff like those at Devonshire.


Posted September 9, 2003

As a past student, I feel that this is a great environment for a young child to learn in. Now my nephew which is in the kindergarten is attending and seems to be doing quite well. The climbing walls in the gym were an added bonus.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female69%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled15%
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)64%

Reading

All Students67%
Female66%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled23%
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female69%
Male63%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled36%
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%

Reading

All Students73%
Female84%
Male63%
Black, non-Hispanic70%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female57%
Male74%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)46%

Reading

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanic68%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)62%

Science

All Students58%
Female50%
Male65%
Black, non-Hispanic53%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
90 (2011)
 
85 (2010)
 
92 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 16%
White 22% 74%
Hispanic 17% 4%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia A. Price
Fax number
  • (614) 365-8094

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6286 Ambleside Dr
Columbus, OH 43229
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Marburn Academy
Columbus, OH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT