Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dominion Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

my school is the bomb its smart talented and achieveing we rock they coach good teams and make us really smart and educated


Posted May 21, 2013

My son is now a seventh grader and rates the school a 4 star. He had never had played and instrument and now has played the trombone for two years and loves it. His band teacher, Mr. Carlson is one of the BEST! He also thinks all of his other teachers are great and makes learning fun. He like art, however did not like the art teacher at all. She needs to retire. My son does miss the old vice principle Mr. Brown
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

I am a sixth grader at Dominion. So far I believe that this school is wonderful. The principal is always involved in activities. The assistant principal is not the best but I have not had problems with him yet. Dominion takes bullying very seriously but have not had that problem because the students I have met were very nice and encouraging. This school has amazing teachers in academic classes. All the encore (arts) teachers are great too except the art teacher who is very rude and mean. This school is outstanding and if you want a great school, Dominion Middle School is the right choice!


Posted May 10, 2010

i used to go to dominion and i loved it it was fun a small school so everybody knew each others and it was fun!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2009

i think diminion is the best school i have ever been to , the teachers are like family . this school is awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2008

i rate this school with five stars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

i love this school it is the best. they care about us students alot
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

Parents have implemented a spring intermural baseball/softball league for all grades. In addition, 6th graders have the opportunity to join a soccer team through the nearby rec. center. Personnally, I've been thrilled with Dominion overall, with the exception of a couple of shaky teachers over the years. The new principal works extremely hard!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

Quality of academic programs- as Ohio state education curriculum there is nothing to worry about - I am only bit worried about the load and outcomes of social studies s home work for 6 grader - however as useful as they can be my concern is about, how students can memorized that load of subject for coming tests? Availability of sports particularly for the six graders - who don't start any of those sports b4 they re at 7 graders - make me wonder if the 6 grader term are not bit boring - my own son is a very good soccer player - but he cannot take part to the team of the school because he s a 6 grader ? he s better than everyone of those players I have seen playing for Dominion. Parent : there are a lot to do in that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

My second son currently attends Dominion MS. My first son had an exemplary experience. My second son has some learning challenges. I have found that the teachers bend over backwards to assist him in any way. They respond promptly when I ask for assistance. They push and encourage him to do his best, yet are flexible when he needs it. The teachers and principal go above and beyond on a consistent basis. My child will have earned five high school credits by the time he leaves. This school tops the local Catholic and charter schools by miles and has a beautifully diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

this school is great my daughter goes to dominion midddle school,and she used to be bad at math at her old school...now she has mr lisi and loves math
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

I have had one son complete middle school at Dominion and a second son is in 6th grade this year. My older son had a wonderful experience despite the inconsistencies in principal leadership. The teachers are excellent, caring, and concerned about each child's success. This school is a great environment for children to learn to work together, problem solve, learn, and be accountable for their own success. Love the new principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

Three principals in three years? Give me a break! The lack of a continued vision and relationship with students and staff cannot be a good thing for any building. There are many involved parents but they seem to be ok with the status quo. The gifted program is being whittled away and the arts have suffered do to busing changes. My older son told me that the teachers let kids fall between the cracks whereas at his first MS they would have been held accountable. While one of the better MS in CPS, much still needs to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

I have 2 sons at Dominion, both have failed for 2 years straight,in my experience the school has not provided them with all the necessary tools to thrive. I beieve if there are testing available to help with certains problems and issues, they should be done in a timely manner. I felt like I had to force the school for help, help that they should have already provided, considering that both years my son's were failing was in this school. I feel testing and the right amount of external help would have made a difference in the beginning stages, not 2 years later. What happened to 'No child left behind'?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

My child is a 6th grader at dominion middle school. It is a great school. There school is very neat and tidy. The teachers there are very helpful. I would recommend this school to all parents who have middle school children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

My son is in his third and final year at Dominion this year. He has had a wonderful experience. He has made many new friends from our Clintonville neighborhood over these years. He has made excellent academic progress and is earning high school credit this year in three subject areas while he attends middle school. Band, sports, and drama are all presented in a fun and inclusive environment. I know my child is prepared for any high school challanges. This school is truly a gem in the Clintonville community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female86%
Male67%
Black, non-Hispanic49%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial70%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled37%
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female84%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic51%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial70%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled53%
Non-disabled79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female71%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial58%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled23%
Non-disabled75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female83%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracial92%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic60%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled61%
Non-disabled91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students51%
Female48%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic25%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled26%
Non-disabled56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 6BelowMet
Grade 7MetMet
Grade 8MetAbove

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
91 (2011)
 
92 (2010)
 
89 (2009)
 
93 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 74%
Black 27% 16%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A47%
Female 43%N/A49%
Male 57%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 16%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Dorothy K. Flanagan
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6018

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 East Dominion Blvd
Columbus, OH 43214
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT