Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duxberry Park Alternative Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 222 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

The principal is very involved with the school and the students. The teachers are great about discussing your child's academics thoroughly, with suggestions for the child to improve. The school is very inviting to get parent participation. The art curriculum is awesome. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

I have been a part of the Duxberry Park family for 6 years and absolutely rave about this school. Having children with very different learning styles, the arts in this alternative school has really made learning though challenging, better for my children to retain due to the hands on learning they get in drama, dance, art, and music. These arts that interact diretly with the curriculum gives children alternatives to learning then just sitting in a classroom all day. When choosing a school based on my children's learning capabilities i knew from the time i came for a visit, this would be our home away from home. The staff all work together in planning and the result is success. At this time I have nothing bad to say of this school, I give it a 8 out of 10.


Posted July 25, 2008

As a parent with 2 students at Duxberry Pk, I am not as appreciative of this school as I once was. Academically my children thrive there. We have had great to way over their head teachers. Amisdt all the learning and homework children need time to be children. I have visited this school to many times and heard to many staff members YELLING at students, Lunch time should be for student interaction they have been still & quiet for most of the day and yet they are to eat in quiet as well. They are being set up to fail in this area. Make learning exciting for most children and they will respond. Teachers that come to put in their 6-8 hours and have lost their passion for teaching are doing a disservice to our children. At the end of each school year teachers should be graded by parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

As a parent with children who are artistic, and show great interest in the Arts, choosing Duxberry Park was the best choice I could of ever made for them. I enjoy that if my child may not understand as quickly in math, they may get it in drama or dance. The school gives a well balance that I think all children need to learn in elementary, and I would recommend this school to all children going to elemetary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

Duxberry Park is a fantastic school. I'm in my sixth year of teaching here, and I ask for all parents to come and see what we're all about. If you are interested in having your child experience both the academics and the arts, Duxberry is the place for you!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 15, 2006

My children have been enrolled at Duxberry for the past 5 years, and although I could not be more happy with the quality of teaching, my kids are not challenged. The classes have too many kids for the one on one interaction that I prefer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I am a former parent and a current teacher at Duxberry Park Arts IMPACT Elementary School. It is a wonderful place to learn and grow for students, teachers and parents. Duxberry's interdisciplinary way of teaching through arts and academics fosters creativity, cooperation and viewing the world from various perspectives. These are three qualities we seem to be loosing in education. Adults are endlessly surprised at the outgoing nature of this student body. My own daughter was extreemly shy when she entered kindergarten and truely began to come out of her shell by the end of one year at Duxberry.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2004

Duxberry Park is a great school. The kindergarten's learn to read and write and do math. Homework sheets are given every week. The kids learn alot at this school. The teachers are hard working and caring for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanic71%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female85%
Male81%
Black, non-Hispanic83%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female48%
Male31%
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female69%
Male50%
Black, non-Hispanic59%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female33%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic17%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students48%
Female53%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic39%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students24%
Female27%
Malen/a
Black, non-Hispanic17%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
82 (2011)
 
90 (2010)
 
89 (2009)
 
87 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 16%
Two or more races 7% 4%
White 6% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A47%
Female 62%N/A49%
Male 39%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 12%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Deborah E. Carter
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6022

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1779 East Maynard Ave
Columbus, OH 43219
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6023

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fci Academy
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT