Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Georgian Heights Alternative Elementary School @ Old Wedge

Public | K-5 | 433 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2009

I sent my daughter to this school after our other options didn't work out for us. I was apprehensive about sending her to GH, but we had to send her anyway. Well, I must say I was very happy for a lot of the year until the last few months when my daughter started telling me about how the kids misbehaved and were treating her an others. I think the academics are fine, especially science. Her reading skills grew as they should as did her math. The teachers are nice, and I was so happy about that. My kids will not be attending this school anymore though because, overall, the behavior of the kids (and my daughter is a first grader!) is not an example I want my kids to follow or have to put up with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

this is great school they have helped in so many different ways i am glad my kids go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I think the students are really smart and I've been at this school for 3 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

I think Georgian heights is a great school for students.their teachers do a great job at teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

I have dealt with this school for 5 years and all the teachers my kids have had have been wonderful, though the principal is a whole other thing there is little to no communication skills
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

e have been with this school for several years now. The academics are wonderful. The teachers are great towards the students. However there is a lack of comminication between teachers and parents. It seems like this issue is a work in progress. We wouldn't have sent our child to anyother school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Though we live in Galloway we are in the Columbus school district. I was hesitant about this at first, but Georgian Heights has been wonderful. My child has excelled at many subjects and now has a passion about other subjects as well. They focus on Math & Science, even send the kids to Science Camp. But the focus is on the child's interest as well. The have computers, music, chess club, math clubs, and even things like oragami. My child loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2005

I have 2 children at Georgian Heights Alternative Elem. School. The level of accademic quality programs appears to be high, however I do not believe that communication between the teachers at the school and the parents is good enough. I have had several issues, this year in particular, with the way certain situations were handled by individual teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

This is my daughter's 2nd year at Georgian Heights. She has really improved her reading skills, but I must admit that I believe that is mostly due to our diligence in encouraging her to read daily. Her teacher in 3rd grade was excellent - this is the start of 2nd quarter so I am not entirely sure about her 4th grade teacher yet. She doesn't seem very communicative at this point. There are not many extra-curricular activities to choose from. I am not impressed with the class size. I think that there are too many students in my daughter's class which could end up being detrimental to her academic achievement. The music program is good. I wish there were more opportunities for more one-on-one help when it's needed. Overall I am satisfied with GH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

I have two children that attend georgian heights and let me say it's the best school I have sent my sons . The teachers are great and take time out to talk about your childs learning , its a overall great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female74%
Male82%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Disabled42%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female77%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Disabled30%
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)80%

Reading

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled60%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female72%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial70%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students50%
Female47%
Male53%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial40%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4BelowMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
91 (2011)
 
90 (2010)
 
89 (2009)
 
86 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 74%
Black 12% 16%
Two or more races 12% 4%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Rhonda N. Peeples
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6885

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3771 Eakin Rd
Columbus, OH 43228
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5931

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Westside Academy
Columbus, OH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT