Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Indianola Informal K-8 School

Public | K-8 | 572 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2012

My son attended Indianola from Kindergarten to eighth grade. Indianola is a public school with a staff that works very hard to bring excellent education to all children. I am in the education profession and would highly recommend Indianola to all students. I always felt that the staff put children first and made learning fun and challenging for all children. My son starts high school in fall 2012, and it is very hard to leave a school that treated him like family. The staff worked very well together to create an excellent education for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I am a student going into 5th grade,and if there was a star for 3.5 thats what I would give my school. I love my school because it is creative,has nice teachers,the gifted programs are really fun, and the teachers are very flexible. I am currently looking for a new middle school though, because in science on the OAA we had many questions that weren't even a part of our curriculum, we have to go out of our comfort zone to do music warm-ups, and there are a ton of random roaches that fall on you. I like school overall and would just like to thank my many teachers for there epicness.But will you please teach more science:)lol.


Posted November 19, 2010

This school has been a big dissapointment. Unless you are part of the "Indianola Family" be prepared to be dismissed or patronized by the administration if you have any problems with student/teacher ratio or bullying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

informal learning is great! our kids love going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

This school has consistantly carried the highest reputation in our city. And it has the greatest PARENTS.


Posted April 16, 2010

They do a phenomenal of creating a unique and enriching educational experience well beyond many 'traditional' schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

The staff really cares about the students' well-being and create many opportunities for parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Great teachers who are focused on the whole child and individual growth. Wonderful community made up of compassionate parents who love the world and all its children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

My child has been attending Indy since KD. She is now in third grade! While I was initially concerned that all of the recent building - hopping and rapid growth of the school would diminish what makes the school such a special place, I have since been pleasantly surprised. The school definitely feels less intimate than before, but the teachers and the PTO continue to strive to provide a communal experience for the students. The best part is: my child loves her school. She is excited about learning and she feels free to express her ideas. Our family has had a positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

Great education, great people, great location. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

Superior parent involvement, caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

supportive staff, creative curriculum, lots of opportunities for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Indianola recently received among the highest standardized test scores in the district. As of this review, the program's off to an excellent start in a renovated building. For a program to have performed so well through a rough transition in a temporary building (confusing, cobbled-up physical space, lackluster resources) it is sure to make the utmost of the great resources that the permanent location offers. The Columbus School district is notorious for loosing student population to suburban flight(1971 body of 110.000; 55,000 in 2007). Rather than flee the district in the hopes of a better program, a community has instead galvanized around the concept of 'Quality Neighborhood Schools'. That's the difference. Rather than move individually to where a good school is offered, a community has decided to take it upon it's collective self to create a great school...and it's succeeding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I love this school! The teachers and staff work hard to give the students a well rounded education to prepare them to be global minded citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

Kindergarten is too rigorous and the classes are quite large. One teacher is not sufficient for 28 students. Not a good school if your child needs individual attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I find this school very clique-ish and the parents are judgemental toward those who aren't 'alternative' enough. My child is very happy at Indianola, but I won't be sad to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

I attended Indi from Kindergarten all the way through 8th grade. This is a school with an amazing and involved community, and a school that has wonderful academic, arts, and extracurricular programs. The addition of sports teams this year and the completion of the middle school expansion have succeeded in making it even an even more well rounded program. All of my teachers at Indi have understood us as people and students; connected with parents and student alike; met our learning needs; and taught in an effective, interesting, informative, and useful way. I leave Indianola with fond memories and a excellent education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2009

What a breath of fresh air- excellence abounds here. Teachers and parents work in concert to make sure these children thrive with individualized programs designed to unearth their talents. With a connection to OSU, they have access to things like Italian classes and photography atypical for any elementary. Lottery is tough- more than 300 waitlisted in Kindergarten each year, but worth going for it. As a UA grad, I wanted something amazing without the attitude, and my family found that here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Indianola is such a great school with a wonderful community a great curriculum really nice techers and we have great arts and now that we have moved to another building we have gym as do other schools. It think its good that we have dance and gym because dance keeps us active and energetic and gym encourages kids because its fun. We have a bigger building but its still not enough. Which is a problem. But overall its great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2007

I am a student in 4th grade at this school i just am starting 5th! I do agree that we have such a great community no one is excluded we respect differences and we have the most amazing teachers!but we have a lousy district and a bad school location I am glad we are expanding to k-8 and yesterday was our last day in the building (almost 100 years old!) I don't think our school has as much active/ athletic education as it should have but I think were growing and were becoming a larger group which will change things alot! -mounir lynch
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female71%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic63%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled50%
Non-disabled85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Black, non-Hispanic63%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabled57%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanic31%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female85%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Disabled30%
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female91%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Disabled70%
Non-disabled90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students65%
Female68%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic36%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Disabled40%
Non-disabled71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female93%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic69%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female>=95%
Male91%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male83%
Black, non-Hispanic67%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female81%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanic65%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled33%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female92%
Male79%
Black, non-Hispanic85%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled56%
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic50%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Disabled28%
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet
Grade 5AboveAbove
Grade 6BelowMet
Grade 7MetAbove
Grade 8MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
99 (2011)
 
97 (2010)
 
100 (2009)
 
96 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 74%
Black 24% 16%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A47%
Female 54%N/A49%
Male 46%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kathryn M. Moser
Fax number
  • (614) 365-8324

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

251 East Weber Rd
Columbus, OH 43202
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5579

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Clinton Elementary
Columbus, OH





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT