Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eastgate Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 256 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

If I could put zero stars I would! The behavior of the students and how they deal with it is really horrible! I've never seen anything like it! My kids won't be here next year! I absolutely hate This school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Eastgate Elementary School is striving to do its best in academics. Also bullying is not tolerated. Our grandchildren are new to the school this year from Beaufort, SC and are enjoying the new experience. Cub Scouts meet during the school day for one and theother loves art and music.


Posted September 26, 2013

I rate my Godson's school, 5 STARS ! His teacher is excellent and the administrative staff makes every effort to promote academic excellence in all areas of the school environment.


Posted September 14, 2011

I went to school here for 1st through 5th grade in 1998-2003 and i absolutely love the teachers, principal and the lunch ladies. from personal experience when i hav children i want the to go here. i really enjoyed coming to school everyday. Thanks Eastgate for making my Elementary years a blast.


Posted February 25, 2011

This is a great school. The teachers really care about the students and do their best to see that that succeed. Eastgate has a new building and is equipped with state of the art classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I love this school... I had a son go there for 5yrs, and another his 2nd year there... I think the staff is wonderful! The receptionist is not rude normally she has been great to me the whole 6yrs I've been there....we all have are bad days.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

The receptionist at the front desk is extremely rude. i found my son's teacher to have no compassion for his emotional disorders. The principal tries her best to smooth things over but still the experience here is less than desirable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I loved this school so much that when I moved out of the district I went through the Board of Education and filed in out of district application just so my kids could still attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female18%
Male29%
Black, non-Hispanic23%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students32%
Female46%
Male24%
Black, non-Hispanic31%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students30%
Female17%
Male40%
Black, non-Hispanic28%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female39%
Male56%
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
Female22%
Male14%
Black, non-Hispanic18%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled25%
Non-disabled16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female26%
Male29%
Black, non-Hispanic32%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled25%
Non-disabled28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students21%
Female13%
Male29%
Black, non-Hispanic24%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabled25%
Non-disabled19%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5AboveMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
75 (2011)
 
73 (2010)
 
66 (2009)
 
74 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 88% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
White 4% 74%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 17%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carol A. Wheat
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6131

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1925 Stratford Way
Columbus, OH 43219
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6132

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mansion Day School
Columbus, OH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT