Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maybury Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 313 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

My son goes to Maybury. He has for now 3 years. I am a very involved parent within the school. Last year he was in Mrs. Blackstone's class, and let me just tell you she is an amazing teacher. Maybury needs more parent involvement as with any other school. As long as you make your presence know and your expectations the staff does what it takes to make sure the needs are meant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

Maybury has had their difficulties but the school is doing more than it ever has before in order to make sure our children are successful with the limited resources that they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

We do not live in the school district for Maybury, but we chose to send our child to Maybury because we had heard so many good things about the teachers. We must say that we are very pleased with the academic progress our child made during the school year. When our child started kindergarten, he was right on grade level with reading. By the time he left kindergarten, he was reading on a 2nd grade level and writing on a 1st grade level. There are some behavior problems at this school, but I have no complaints in how they were handled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2004

Two years ago I removed one of my children from Maybury and placed them in private school due to issues that we had with the school that were not addressed to our satisfaction. Having one child still in Maybury and one in private school at the same time afforded me a view that not many parents get to see. I realized that not only was Maybury suffering in parent involvment, which is very important, but also was suffering academically, a whole year behind. I have since removed my second child from Maybury and placed her in private school. I now have a two year old and unless Maybury makes some major changes she too will go to private school. That is a shame since as a tax payer I feel we should all have access to good quality public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

I have read the review from posted by another parent, and I must say my satisfaction with Maybury Elementary goes in the other direction! My child has ADHD, and Maybury has not been any help to me at all. When I asked the teachers and the principal in the past about classes, program or anything else that can be done/used to help my son through the period of time when his medicine was being adjusted, I have had to go above their head to the Board of Education to receive information. The principal and teacher at this school were not forthcoming with any information unless I forced them by going to the Board of Education. Any suggestion I gave the school to help in the classroom..were more or less dissmisses. Any changes in the class room that were feasable and acceptable were not done,etc. the school needs big improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2003

I feel that Maybury Elementary School is a great school for my children, ages 9 & 6 to attend. We recently moved from Canton and while the schools there were good, parent involvement is so important. Parents at Maybury seem to care about their children's education. Of course, not all parents are able to take off from work to volunteer for the different events offered at Maybury, there are several who do. Parents are an essential part to their child getting a good education. My daughter's teachers at Maybury are very knowledgable and have taught my children many things. My daughter's third grade teacher is Educator of the Year and has worked with Amber on her self-esteem in many aspects of her life. She treats the children with respect and receives respect in return. I have not had a bad experience with Maybury Elementary School since my children began in August. I have found all of the staff to be friendly and willing to help if there are ever any problems. And while Columbus Public Schools are in Academic Watch, I don't believe Maybury falls into that category, the things that my kindergarten daugther has been learning are great. She has started learning addition and subtraction, writing paragraphs, and about dinosaurs and fossils. To me, Maybury is an excellent school and I hope that my children are able to continue to attend since we have moved to another school district.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female72%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanic61%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female72%
Male59%
Black, non-Hispanic64%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Female46%
Male28%
Black, non-Hispanic38%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female>=95%
Male61%
Black, non-Hispanic79%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female64%
Male54%
Black, non-Hispanic58%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female77%
Male69%
Black, non-Hispanic73%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students54%
Female59%
Male46%
Black, non-Hispanic50%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Above Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetAbove
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
85 (2011)
 
81 (2010)
 
80 (2009)
 
78 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 16%
White 14% 74%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Linda K. Cameron
Fax number
  • (614) 365-8505

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2633 Maybury Rd
Columbus, OH 43232
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT