Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbus Preparatory Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
Thank you for having this school available for kids in Columbus. It's unique and effective. Thank you.

Columbus Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
These teachers are hilarious and have a very unique style of teaching the kids. Kind of the like the "cool big brother or big sister" that the kids look up to. My daughter adores all of them!


Columbus Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
There's no disputing this. hahaha. Yes! They expect a lot from their students. There's always a chance to fix their path and try harder.

Columbus Preparatory Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
Part of the classwork helps them learn this this through group exercises. My daughter talks about this part of her week with me. I'm glad they do it.

Columbus Preparatory Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
They teach the kids things such as "making new friends" and "feelings" as part of their weekly school work!!! They have a part of the week where they learn to be honest members of a community. I feel like that's why bullying isn't too much of an issue, or at all.


Columbus Preparatory Academy 5

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
I absolutely and wholeheartedly love this school! I've never met a group of such amazing teachers and families. The teachers are this hilarious team that the kids look up to. My daughter goes on and on about how much she loves them and how fun this school is to her, which continues to make make me so happy we chose this school. At this school my daughter is surrounded by teachers, students and parents who truly care about education (thank.... God! hahaha). I have to agree that your family and child needs to be prepared to have the educational part of school as your priority. This is soooo why I picked this school though. I didn't want my kids in the public schools where'd they be surrounded by the inevitable groups of kids who don't value school or are unmotivated. This school has a bunch of kids who are intelligent, motivated, and kind. Bullying is so not an issue at this school. There is such a diversity of kids and backgrounds and they all get along and thrive!! I love it, and I am proud to be a part of that. I am so thankful that this school was an option for us. It has the private school feel, the private school motivation that I wanted for my child. My son will be starting school next year and there is no doubt about where we will be sending him. I enjoy this school so much that I actually took time to write this review hahaha. I hope that it helps someone.

Columbus Preparatory Academy 2

Posted September 16, 2015
- a parent
All they care about at this school is test scores and while some may think that is great, if you only have an average or slightly above average child, this school is not for you. They make sure they get rid or retain any child who would normally be passing at a regular school because they only want kids who are advanced, to have bragging rights that they have the highest test scores in the state. Well yeahhh if all schools could choose only the most advanced kids and kick out average kids than yeah you'll have better statistics. Statistics doesn't mean you are a better school especially when you dispose of average kids in a heartbeat. I see other parents are not happy with Mr. Carr too. He is most definitely a bully and belittles kids in front of everyone. He lacks tact or compassion and only cares about the few select highly advanced kids. They have longer hours (my son is picked up at 6:05 am and dropped off at 4:15-4:30pm at the bus stop) then there's homework almost every night so my son is mentally exhausted by the time he goes to bed and has no time to be a kid. On top of that they start the first week of August and expect kids to be in title 1 tutoring during their free time at school, tutoring after school and 4 weeks summer school. It's just too much. This school would be nice if they didn't let statistics run the school and put the best interest of the child first instead.

Columbus Preparatory Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The teachers seem really great. They seem to fear the principle like every one else in the building. Plus, got to keep those test scores up if you want to keep your job!


Columbus Preparatory Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
More than an hour a day on homework. Really? My child comes home emotionally exhausted everyday and then has to sit down and do homework for an hour.

Columbus Preparatory Academy
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
You better be determined. The principle reminds kids on a daily basis that losers go to public schools. He also reminds them that only the top performers get to come back the next year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus Preparatory Academy
3330 Chippewa St, Columbus, OH  43204
(614) 275-3600
Last modified Columbus Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus Preparatory Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. Top