Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Columbus Alternative High School

Public | 9-12 | 685 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 25, 2013

I truly love this school and love coming here everyday. It gives me a chance to be challenged which is something that has not always been done for me in Columbus City Schools. The teachers at CAHS really care about their students and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure their students succeed in their classes such as staying after school and replying to students texts and emails in a timely fashion. As much as I love CAHS, i would not recommend it to students who are not prepared to work hard for their grades. CAHS is not a place to simply 'get by', you must work hard. The teachers are always there to help you but you must be willing to utilize them; they won't come to you, you must come to them. CAHS is a place for students who want to make it to the best colleges and be prepared for the curriculum that those colleges have waiting for them. As hard as CAHS is, I would not choose any other high school to go to. No other high school in the CCS district can compare.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2013

I'm currently a junior at CAHS and is by far the best school in the CCS District. The teachers and administrators truly care about each in every student being prepared for college and exceeding the normal requirements of high school. CAHS is, has been and will continue to be a nationally ranked high school. Each year the school has been substantially increasing in test scores, rating, etc. With a lot more new technology and some major renovations to the school, CAHS could go 20X further academically then many other nationally ranked schools. CAHS is known as the school of promise and its mission is to have each and every student fully prepared for the real world.


Posted September 20, 2012

I go to CAHS, it has swagg, and I love it sooooo much. All day everyday. Ms.R is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2011

this is the best school my mother could have placed me in i am learning this first and second year college students are. this school will show what hard work means if anything this school deserves an award for best school in Columbus.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2010

I am a former student, the ciriculum at CAHS prepares you for the real world and makes college much easier than it would for a person who went to a regular high school. I recomend it to anyone who wishes to give their child the best education possible.


Posted May 1, 2010

Awww; thiss is school for the reallt dedicated students that want to achieve a great education unhampered by the ones that wind up in our alternative school. Now I get it!! Thanks and best of luck, though I don't think you need luck, with your program. Sounds like the Walnut Hills of old in Cincinnati
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

The writer below is obviously not familiar with CAHS. Students who choose CAHS get an opportunity to learn about humanities and to go to Stratford, Ontario to see Shakespeare performed. Since there is no sports they do not get swept into football and other sports as in a traditional high school. CAHS gives students a chance to get involved in education - the purpose of schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

This is without a doubt the best high school in the city--and one of Columbus's best kept secrets, too. It's a rigorous college-prep school with dedicated teachers, serious students, and a community that doesn't exclude anyone. I've never seen high school students happier or more stimulated by their coursework. No sports, and that puts some people off, but I'm convinced it's one of the main reasons the school works as well as it does on so many levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

CAHS, a public school, consistently ranks in the top 25 schools nationally, along with private prep schools, etc. Students and teachers are challenged and respected, the arts and sciences flourish with genuine student leadership. CAHS is - and should be - a model for excellence in public urban education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My daughter is a freshman. CAHS is providing her with a very challenging education. I do wish the music program was stronger, though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

I am currently a student at CAHS and all teachers also principles does a great job in educating all students they are fair and any problems that anyone has they solve them fair and square.Now lets not forget the staff in the lunchroom they also do an awesome job food is great especially the salad bar man awesome everything is fresh and neat keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2006

CAHS does a great job of educating all students. This is a rich, diverse population. Students have respect for each other, their focus tends to be on academics. Teachers are good and strong in their areas. Opportunities abound. There are no sports at CAHS but your student can participate in their home school. CAHS is a lottery school and application is through lottery only. This is a school for academically driven students. If your student doesn't want to be at CAHS, you might want to consider looking at their home school because they will have to work at CAHS and if they don't want to be there, they can sabotage their success. Parents are involved and are supportive of the academic mission. There are many tasks that parents fulfill to make CAHS a better place. Students need some motivation to make the most of what CAHS has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

We have put 5 children through CAHS. Two went to the colleges of their choice. The other three are still there. They have all been challenged and had opportunities to do more than I believe they would have anywhere else. The peer culture is such that being smart is valued; the geniuses are cheered for. The social life is built around theatre, chess, Dungeons and Dragons, and political action. Not a school for the lazy. A kid trying to just get by will be blown away by the college level course content. When my daughter went to the college fair, one college's recruiter said she should not bother to apply unless she was in the top 10% of her class, when the recruiter heard my daughter was from CAHS, she said 'Nevermind; apply-CAHS is different.' We could easily afford the suburbs, but it would be a step down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

CAHS has been a challenging road for me and for many of my fellow students. The hours of homework not only during school but during break were massive. But I feel that it was all worth it. The faculty at CAHS seem to find the smallest ounce of potential within all their students to help them grow. Once ignorant freshmen, the now proud seniors look back at their 4 years through these halls and thank those who have helped them become the adults they now are. I feel that the parents reading this should send their children to CAHS because unlike many other schools in Columbus, intelligence is respected here. What can make CAHS hard for kids is the fact that every teacher here expects your best, because they can see your potential. Sometimes it's hard for kids to live up to those great expectations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2005

I am a graduate of Columbus Alternative High School, and am pleased that others can reap its benefits. My time there was enjoyable and enriching,and it equipped me for an open mind in an increasingly connected world. As a teacher now, I understand even more the greatness of this school. Kudos to the teachers and the staff!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2005

This is an excellent college prep school in a public school district. There is a wide variety of students and staff to help students develop in ways that is unimaginable in a private school. But the level of learning and teach can only be match by a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Columbus Alternative High School is probably one of the best public high schools in the nation. As a college preparatory high school, the students are expected to meet standards, but this is easily acheived in a helpful and informative atmosphere. The school has a diversity of students and teachers, which goes beyond race, and is excellent for getting a head start and college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2004

I loved this school. I went there as a child and now my child goes there. I would recommend it to everyone who wants a higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

This school is okay but your child has to be focused or when they come they will be lost! The program is very hard but it does help in the end. My child is at Penn State University on a full ScholarShip
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic>=95%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic88%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male>=95%
Black, non-Hispanic94%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Writing

All Students96%
Female>=95%
Male94%
Black, non-Hispanic94%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Economically disadvantaged>=95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled>=95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
106 (2011)
 
103 (2010)
 
104 (2009)
 
103 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

77%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

92%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 16%
White 29% 74%
Asian 4% 2%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Female 60%N/A49%
Male 41%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 6%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sharee N. Wells
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6300

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2632 McGuffey Rd
Columbus, OH 43211
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT