Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a student
I go to this school and its the best they encourage you to do better and not give up

Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a student
I truly love this school and love coming here everyday. It gives me a chance to be challenged which is something that has not always been done for me in Columbus City Schools. The teachers at CAHS really care about their students and are always willing to go the extra mile to make sure their students succeed in their classes such as staying after school and replying to students texts and emails in a timely fashion. As much as I love CAHS, i would not recommend it to students who are not prepared to work hard for their grades. CAHS is not a place to simply 'get by', you must work hard. The teachers are always there to help you but you must be willing to utilize them; they won't come to you, you must come to them. CAHS is a place for students who want to make it to the best colleges and be prepared for the curriculum that those colleges have waiting for them. As hard as CAHS is, I would not choose any other high school to go to. No other high school in the CCS district can compare.


Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
I'm currently a junior at CAHS and is by far the best school in the CCS District. The teachers and administrators truly care about each in every student being prepared for college and exceeding the normal requirements of high school. CAHS is, has been and will continue to be a nationally ranked high school. Each year the school has been substantially increasing in test scores, rating, etc. With a lot more new technology and some major renovations to the school, CAHS could go 20X further academically then many other nationally ranked schools. CAHS is known as the school of promise and its mission is to have each and every student fully prepared for the real world.

Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a student
I go to CAHS, it has swagg, and I love it sooooo much. All day everyday. Ms.R is the best.

Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted August 10, 2011
- a student
this is the best school my mother could have placed me in i am learning this first and second year college students are. this school will show what hard work means if anything this school deserves an award for best school in Columbus.


Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted December 02, 2010
- a community member
I am a former student, the ciriculum at CAHS prepares you for the real world and makes college much easier than it would for a person who went to a regular high school. I recomend it to anyone who wishes to give their child the best education possible.

Columbus Alternative High School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
Awww; thiss is school for the reallt dedicated students that want to achieve a great education unhampered by the ones that wind up in our alternative school. Now I get it!! Thanks and best of luck, though I don't think you need luck, with your program. Sounds like the Walnut Hills of old in Cincinnati

Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a parent
The writer below is obviously not familiar with CAHS. Students who choose CAHS get an opportunity to learn about humanities and to go to Stratford, Ontario to see Shakespeare performed. Since there is no sports they do not get swept into football and other sports as in a traditional high school. CAHS gives students a chance to get involved in education - the purpose of schools.


Columbus Alternative High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
This is without a doubt the best high school in the city--and one of Columbus's best kept secrets, too. It's a rigorous college-prep school with dedicated teachers, serious students, and a community that doesn't exclude anyone. I've never seen high school students happier or more stimulated by their coursework. No sports, and that puts some people off, but I'm convinced it's one of the main reasons the school works as well as it does on so many levels.

Columbus Alternative High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
CAHS, a public school, consistently ranks in the top 25 schools nationally, along with private prep schools, etc. Students and teachers are challenged and respected, the arts and sciences flourish with genuine student leadership. CAHS is - and should be - a model for excellence in public urban education.

Nearby schools

Columbus Alternative High School
2632 McGuffey Rd, Columbus, OH  43211
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (614) 365-6006
Last modified Columbus Alternative High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top