Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oakstone Community School 1

Posted April 23, 2016
- a community member
Poor leadership! As long as you don't challenge or ask questions you will be fine. As a concerned parent, I called for a meeting to discuss a few issues, I left the meeting with nothing being resolved and a letter sent by email that my child was terminated from the school. My child was disciplined for minor behaviors ( such as being caught on a phone ) and placed in a room all day alone. They also went against his IEP. Do your research before putting your child here!

Oakstone Community School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
My child consistently finishes her work at school and is able to use her time wisely to finish most of her projects at school. This ensures that she is working independently and is learning the material with the instruction of the special education team at school.


Oakstone Community School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Students here are on an IEP. The students are given goals and then there is a plan put in place to help the student develop these goals.

Oakstone Community School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Students are expected to show respect and appropriate behavior towards one another. Teachers treat students with respect and in turn, expect respectful behavior.

Oakstone Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
My child has needed the school's compassion and they have shown my child ways to combat stress and bullying.


Oakstone Community School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to treat their peers and teachers with respect. When a student has been disrespectful there have been steps taken to correct the behavior and this has made my child feel safe.

Oakstone Community School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been very successful at Oakstone Academy. She has an ASD. With the direction and care from a wonderful staff in a school that makes her feel safe and encouraged she has excelled and made great strides at this school.

Oakstone Community School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter loves Oakstone! She has excelled as a peer model and has made good friends. The teachers and staff have been easy to communicate with also. I am happy I chose Oakstone, I hope to keep my daughter enrolled there throughout.


Oakstone Community School 5

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
Supporting what I've written previously, especially to parent/s who've had a bad experience with the staff @ Oakstone Academy, how did you handle the situation? I'm sorry that you've had such a bad experince, because they are really good and I wish & pray that things have/should change for you & your child to have a positive experience like us @ this school.I'm glad because they have high school now, & my son will be there unless we move out of the state/country.

Oakstone Community School
no rating

Posted December 29, 2009
- a community member
Oakstone has the best intentions for the students with autism, autism-related diagnois and the peers. I know the majority of the teachers give their 110%, are fully dedicated and commited to serving the children in order to push them to their fulliest potiential. I personally love the Oakstone program and would reccommend it to every family that wants their child to have more a individualized and specialized education...which is hard to find these days.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oakstone Community School
5747 Cleveland Ave, Columbus, OH  43231
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (614) 865-9643
Last modified Oakstone Community School is a Charter school that serves grades 1-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top