Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 4

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Is very Good School,my son is in Grade 6, has earned the motivation, inspiration and above all, attention from their teachers and principal Sr

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My grandson attended Monroe last year for 8th grade after coming to live with us. I cannot say enough about the teacher and staff support given to my grandson while trying to adapt to his new environment both at home and in school. The school expects each student to do their best work and they provide a challenging curriculum. I loved the online grading program so as parents you can stay on top of your students progress. The Accelerated Reader program encourages independent reading by each student. The teachers were receptive to email or phone calls and were great about returning responses to address concerns. The principal, Mr. Freeman, sends a phone message each Sunday with school updates to keep families informed of school activities and weekly expectations. Communication is key especially with tweens. Parental involvement could be better but I understand with most parents working it is difficult for most.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Monroe is a very good school! It has good academics from what my child says... But leadership and involvement wise, they could do much better

Monroe Alternative Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
This school has poor acadimics also the sports are greal and volleyball team is very good coached by mrs.Philmoor and they are 2 time city and division champions

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 1

Posted January 13, 2009
- a student
I am unsatisfied with this schools preformence. Though Monroe might be a top school it's prefomance did not reach my high standard goals.

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Monroe Alternative Middle School 4

Posted November 17, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
Monroe teachers hold the kids to a higher level of responsibility than do most of the high schools that I'm familiar with. I believe their higher grading structure prepares the kids for the rigourous requirements of college prep courses in high school.

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a student
this school is the best school around. all CCS should be more like Monroe Traditional Alternative Middle School!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monroe Alternative Middle School
474 North Monroe Ave, Columbus, OH  43203
(614) 365-6124
Last modified Monroe Alternative Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monroe Alternative Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top