Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Columbus, OH
Students enrolled: 462
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 4

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Is very Good School,my son is in Grade 6, has earned the motivation, inspiration and above all, attention from their teachers and principal Sr

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My grandson attended Monroe last year for 8th grade after coming to live with us. I cannot say enough about the teacher and staff support given to my grandson while trying to adapt to his new environment both at home and in school. The school expects each student to do their best work and they provide a challenging curriculum. I loved the online grading program so as parents you can stay on top of your students progress. The Accelerated Reader program encourages independent reading by each student. The teachers were receptive to email or phone calls and were great about returning responses to address concerns. The principal, Mr. Freeman, sends a phone message each Sunday with school updates to keep families informed of school activities and weekly expectations. Communication is key especially with tweens. Parental involvement could be better but I understand with most parents working it is difficult for most.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
Monroe is a very good school! It has good academics from what my child says... But leadership and involvement wise, they could do much better

Monroe Alternative Middle School 1

Posted February 25, 2010
- a student
This school has poor acadimics also the sports are greal and volleyball team is very good coached by mrs.Philmoor and they are 2 time city and division champions

Monroe Alternative Middle School 1

Posted January 13, 2009
- a student
I am unsatisfied with this schools preformence. Though Monroe might be a top school it's prefomance did not reach my high standard goals.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 4

Posted October 29, 2008
- a parent
Monroe teachers hold the kids to a higher level of responsibility than do most of the high schools that I'm familiar with. I believe their higher grading structure prepares the kids for the rigourous requirements of college prep courses in high school.

Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted October 23, 2008
- a student
this school is the best school around. all CCS should be more like Monroe Traditional Alternative Middle School!!

Monroe Alternative Middle School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a community member
Monroe Middle School is an outstanding school. The school has many wonderful programs to offer students. The school is very structured, and orderly. Students are required to wear uniforms to school each day. Students are taught by high qualified, caring teachers. The teachers for the most part are some of the best in Columbus. The administrators are very visible and accessible by email, phone, face to face, and cell phone. Monroe MS has improved it rating on the Ohio State Report Card to 'effective'. The school also has maintained a positive 'value added' rating for the past two years. I would urge parents and any other interested families to visit the school. I know that you will be pleased.


Monroe Alternative Middle School 5

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
Monroe is a great school. I understand that the children are unruly and what not but that isn't the schools fault. The school has amazing test scores and curriculum and they allow the students to express who they are. I know this as an experience, because my daughter attends this school at the moment. She has been in this school for two years and as she puts it 'it rocksm' Monroe is an excellent school to attend

Monroe Alternative Middle School
no rating

Posted May 06, 2008
- a parent
The discipline in this school is horrible they show favoritism in this school and I would not recommend this school to anyone let alone any columbus city school. Your tax dollars are not going to far are they

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monroe Alternative Middle School
474 North Monroe Ave, Columbus, OH  43203
(614) 365-6124
Last modified Monroe Alternative Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Monroe Alternative Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top