Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northland High School

Public | 9-12 | 1202 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2013

Very good school so glad Mr Donahue is their this year I have worked with him for several years at Woodward Park and enjoyed everyone....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I am a 2009 graduate of Northland High School and I'm glad to went to Columbus City Schools rather than a suburban school. Being a student at Northland meant I was subject to diversity that private and suburban schools would be afried of. Aside from that, Northland has an excellent music program, undoubtedly the best band in the City, great athletics, especially basketball and outstanding acedemics.If you are a parent trying to decide whether or not to send a child to a CCS I highly recommend it especailly at Northland since it is the best in the district. Go Vikings! 2009!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2009

I am so happy that we made the decision to send our child to Northland. Academics, Sports, and Music Departments are all outstanding! We also have the best Athletic Director. The staff is pleasant and very courteous. Northland is not just a school it is family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2009

Its one of the greatest schools in Columbus Academically and has one of the best Sports Programs. Northland also has the largest and best Bands in Ohio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I am a freshman at Northland and I have to say that it is truly a great school. The staff is on top of academics and makes sure that you are doing your best. I love the people here and it is a great environment. The sports teams are great here and we have the best band ever! I love Northland! GO Vikings!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

Im a current student at this school, its a great school with excelent honers classes which im in. The teacheres are verry good and help out the students. The basketball team is susposed to be going State this year and our test scores are high along with our graduaton rate which is what 97% But as a student i must say there are alot of students that dont care at this school but that dosent effect you or your children as long as they dont become one of them. And this year the fights have deplinished by atleast 70% and we have exlclent security and staff. If your a parent thinking of sending your child to this school id tell you to send them here, its a great school and theyll learn alot and have alot of fun. Proud to be a VIKING, 2011!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

i love my school it is awesome and the staffs are well respected
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

I have great respect for the staff at Northland. My son is a junior this year and I am an active parent and the staff is very supportive. I am well informed in the actions of my son because I am not afraid to ask and take preventative measures in his education. He is an active participant in band and sports and has a great circle of friends at Northland. Parent participation is very high at this school which helps, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

Northland has improved immensely since I've been in this school district,(Grandmother of 3 Grandchildren Northland Graduates), there are currently three to graduate. The parents should be more involved in all aspects of their childrens lives, especially schooling and teachers should reassure parents are notified often of students progress, failures, dispositions, behaviors etc


Posted January 30, 2008

I think Northland is on the upswing. My son started there this year and is very happy. The administration and teachers seem very committed to success, the instrumental program is unparalleled and there are tons of parents involved. There will always, at any school, be children and parents uninterested and an obstacle to themselves, but the kids I know do not allow this to color their experience. Too bad for those other kids. We've been happy here so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

I love the people but just a bad overall neighborhood


Posted July 28, 2005

I currently attend Northland HS and I love it. I am very involved. The Marching Band is great and the sports teams are at a very high level. Academics are important at NHS because you have to have good grades to become active in the extra activites. I believe that it is like any othe public school, where there are very highly motivated students and some that could care less. The students that dont care should not change any one elses attitude. Northland is a very good school, and there are some things that need to be fixed, but I am proud to say I am a Northland High School Student!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2005

The quality of academics at Northland have diminished over a 2 year period. Extracurricular activities are so restricted that students with the talents don't participate. There is very little parental involvement. Those that are feel overly scrutinized by the most of the staff. My experience with this school has been challenging, in that the intergrity of the school and the quality of educators interest in developing the students academics is low. This is based in part on the institutionalization process that is being inducted by the principal. There needs to be some changes, before the school falls completely apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

My daughter loved Northland High School as an incoming freshman, 4 years ago. She wanted to go there and we sent her there because of the Instrumental Music program, which is still a wonderful program, but the attitude of the students has gone down hill. She is there to learn and tells me most other children just don't care. She cannot wait to graduate this June.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

Northland High School needs improvement. There are alot of great teachers that truly care about students. The problem is the student attitudes are terrible, most of these students don't respect themselve and others. Therefore the school is starting to get a bad rep. It's really sad because there are some great kids at the school that want to achieve, but yet their education is interupted by Kids taking up space. I really hope Northland will have more to offer in the future as for now...I am very close to taking my children out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

Northland has a fantastic music program and marching band. They offer AP English 11 and 12 and a KAP class. However, the district has declared that they may no longer offer English Challenge/Honors classes.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic70%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabled31%
Non-disabled78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)76%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Disabled38%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)73%

Science

All Students61%
Female59%
Male62%
Black, non-Hispanic58%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)49%

Social Studies

All Students67%
Female65%
Male70%
Black, non-Hispanic66%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Disabled29%
Non-disabled74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)55%

Writing

All Students79%
Female87%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanic78%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Disabled37%
Non-disabled86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Graduation Test (OGT) to test students in grade 10 in reading, writing, math, science and social studies. State averages displayed on public school profiles include public schools only. State averages displayed on private school profiles include private schools only. The OGT is a high school graduation requirement for public schools and chartered private schools. The OGT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
91 (2011)
 
91 (2010)
 
89 (2009)
 
91 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

No Value-Added data was reported for this school.

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

72%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

89%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores, ACT participation (% of 11th graders taking the ACT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 75% 16%
White 12% 74%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A47%
Female 48%N/A49%
Male 52%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 15%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Duane R. Bland
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6479

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1919 Northcliff Dr
Columbus, OH 43229
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5342

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Marburn Academy
Columbus, OH


Zenith Academy
Columbus, OH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT