Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oakland Park Alternative Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 357 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

I have my 2 kids in this school the Teacher are wonderful but 1 thing is the bully in school I have give complaints in the office and they don't do noting about it but of course is not their kid's that is getting bully so now I have to move because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

I am considering enrollment of grandkids into this neighborhood school and interested in the values and teachings.


Posted April 15, 2012

Not good.I know a parent that had to take a student out of school.You may get made fun of because of your race


Posted January 11, 2011

My child has attended OPTS since Kindergarten. She is now in the 4th grade. I feel it is one of the best elementary schools in the Cols City School system. Her teachers have been great. I have always felt welcome there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

I have a 1st grader in this school who is really doing great in all of her subjects. All of the teachers are wonderful and really care about there students. I would recomend this school to anyone is looking for a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Academically, OPTS is great. It's nice to have my children challenged. They're learning a lot. Their test scores have improved. Personally my children have not fit in. Some fellow students aren t open-minded about differences. This has caused a few problems. Some teachers are great at addressing problems. However, you can tell some simply don't care or don't want to offend anyone. There are also a couple of teachers that lack with communication to parents. Other teachers are awesome with it. As a parent, I m pleased. I think most of the staff is great. Although we ve had some problems, things are improving. I knew there was going to be more work assigned but I might have chosen differently if I knew how much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

The numbers don't lie! OPTS is awesome. Out of 94 elementary schools in the district- OPTS scored in the top 10 in all categories. Hard work from the students and staff pays off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

a very good school if you want your child to be challenged. it help my kids improve in many subjects that i thought that i would normally get a tutor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

Oakland Park is an outstanding school. I am currently raising my sisters children while she is overseas fighting for our nation. The children absolutely love their teachers and they look forward to school. I do find that the school is challenging to them and they love taking on the challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

My oldest child attends this school and I have already put in my application for my youngest. This school provide you with a welcome feeling right from the beginning. I particularly like the structure and the uniform policy. I know the prinicipal cares for each of these children and even knows them by name. The teachers work hard to help the students succeed and have a genuine love for this job. For me elementary wise, it's Oakland Park or burst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

Both of my children attended Oakland Park Traditional School. We were fortunate that my youngest was admitted in kindergarden. We have been very pleased with their education. The staff seems to truly have a heart for the kids. OPTS is a very traditional environment with structure and rules in place. The kids know what is expected of them and are encouraged in a very positive setting to live up to those expectations. I would highly recommened OPTS to any parent wants their child to have a conservative education in a traditional classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female76%
Male71%
Black, non-Hispanic81%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female76%
Male68%
Black, non-Hispanic76%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Black, non-Hispanic51%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female85%
Male72%
Black, non-Hispanic77%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male48%
Black, non-Hispanic48%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
Black, non-Hispanic55%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students23%
Female23%
Male22%
Black, non-Hispanic20%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Disabledn/a
Non-disabled23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4MetMet
Grade 5MetMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
88 (2011)
 
86 (2010)
 
87 (2009)
 
88 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 16%
White 29% 74%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Hispanic N/A 4%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A47%
Female 46%N/A49%
Male 54%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 14%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Mary C. Allen
Fax number
  • (614) 365-6057

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3392 Atwood Ter
Columbus, OH 43224
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-6058

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT