Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parsons Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 431 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2013

Both my children attend Parsons. My oldest son is in 3rd grade and has nothing but the best teachers who have all been attentive to his own individual needs. In 1st grade he struggled with reading and without me having to say something or having to go rounds with the school his teacher got him assigned a reading tutor and his reading improved drastically over the next few months. My youngest started kindergarten this year and I was extremely nervous because he is a handful. His teacher has said nothing but good things about him and he comes home almost every day with green days. I love this school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

I know this is a good school, but the handling of my daughter is unacceptable. She is in preK and having trouble adjusting. She is acting out, and they carried her in a innapproproate way to the Peak room, which is tiny, and cornered her in there with the lights out with three adults she does not know. She threw a horrible fit, and they proceeded to tell me she isn't right and that she belongs in special needs. I think how they handled it was the wrong way and when we left, she calmed down and told me she wasn't scared anymore. The principal's actions left me feeling insulted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This is my son's first year at Parsons Elementary. We have been through many different types of schools, and the first impression means a lot to me. From the second we walked in the front doors to enroll my son, we have felt more than welcomed and like we have been part of the family for years. I truly feel we couldn't have found a better staff to help my son and family through another tough transition. I just want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart. Sarah Armakovitch-parent of a 5th grader :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

My grandson began attending kindergarten this year at Parsons Elementary School, and he is so happy. He speaks fondly of his teacher, Mr. Shafer, and this year he is making outstanding progress in reading. He is off to a great start start, and I hope this enthusiasm for school continues!


Posted June 6, 2007

I wish all schools had a principal as Great and hands on as Mrs Nespeca if so my 6th grader probably would not be on ecot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

parsons is the best school there academic programs are great the kides are great words can not say. the best in columbus,ohio
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 74% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female73%
Male65%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Disabled53%
Non-disabled72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female70%
Male57%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Disabled20%
Non-disabled72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female48%
Male64%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Disabled13%
Non-disabled73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female61%
Male75%
Black, non-Hispanicn/a
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Disabled47%
Non-disabled77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female66%
Male42%
Black, non-Hispanic46%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Disabled30%
Non-disabled57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female53%
Male42%
Black, non-Hispanic27%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Disabled20%
Non-disabled52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students30%
Female25%
Male34%
Black, non-Hispanic18%
Asian or Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Disabled30%
Non-disabled30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Ohio used the Ohio Achievement Assessment (OAA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The OAA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Ohio. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Ohio Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

In 2010-2011, this school received an Overall Rating of "Met Expected Growth".

Math

Reading

Grade 4AboveMet
Grade 5BelowMet

About the tests


In 2010-2011, the Ohio Department of Education used the Value-Added Measure to show how much growth students made on the Ohio Achievement Test since the last school year. The state expects that student test scores will show an average year's worth of growth compared to test scores from the previous year. Ohio's Value-Added Measure is not the same as Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), a federal measure which uses different criteria.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

 
86 (2011)
 
83 (2010)
 
85 (2009)
 
82 (2008)

0
60
120

About the tests


Ohio uses the Performance Index to provide an overall indication of how well students perform on its standardized tests each year. The Performance Index scores are based upon how well each student does on all tested subjects in grades 3 through 8 and 10. Schools and districts earn anywhere from 1.2 points for each student scoring at the advanced level to zero points for each untested student. The Performance Index ranges between 0 and 120, with 100 as the statewide goal for all students.

Source: Ohio Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
54%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Ohio. Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 OAA/OGT results from the state of Ohio.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value-added estimates from the state of Ohio.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 74%
Black 11% 16%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Asian N/A 2%
Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Female 44%N/A49%
Male 56%N/A51%
Students with disabilities 20%N/A15%
Source: OH Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Candace M. Nespeca
Fax number
  • (614) 365-5115

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3231 Lee Ellen Place
Columbus, OH 43207
Website: Click here
Phone: (614) 365-5099

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Starr Columbus
Columbus, OH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT