Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shady Lane Elementary School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
Shady lane has an awesome principal (Mr. Hainer) who puts his heart and soul into his staff, school and students. The teachers care about their students and fellow colleagues. The kids are well behaved and want to learn.

Shady Lane Elementary School 1

Posted January 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is so focused on discipline that there is no time left for learning. We're half way through the year and I haven't seen any academic progress in my child. Yet he comes home several days a week having had all recesses taken away for the entire class for one silly reason or another. I believe six year olds will learn better with time to play. It is not an environment conducive to learning. I am doing all I can to find another school for my child next year.


Shady Lane Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2010
- a community member
I attended this school way back in kindergarten. 1960-61. I am glad it is still around and in such good shape. I don't remeber the teachers names, but I do remeber always learnig a lot for my later schools.

Shady Lane Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2008
- a parent
shady Lane is awsome! My daughter has been going here for 5 ys begining in 1st grd now she is in 5th. I wish she could go to this school all the way to 12th. the staff, teachers and Mrs Burris are amazing, the care and concern they have for these children doing well and learning all they can is above and beyond the norm. I comend them for the hard work and dedication they have everyday. They will be missed and thought of often when my daughter has to go to middle school and I can only hope her next school can compare to the last 5 years at Shady Lane.

Shady Lane Elementary School 4

Posted October 03, 2006
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Shady Lane. We have had some behavior issues and the staff, teachers and administrators have been excellent to work with. The other parents seem to have very little interest in thier children but in spite of that Mrs. Burris and her staff are doing great things. As much negative press as public schools get have been surprised at how caring, professional and effective this school is.


Shady Lane Elementary School 4

Posted October 13, 2004
- a parent
My kids have been at Shady Lane for 5 years and I believe the school has really improved. The teachers, school staff and principal are working hard to improve the reputation of this inner city school. I hope more parents make the choice to get involved, and with this parent involvement we will see great returns. Shady Lane is a good school.

Shady Lane Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2004
- a parent
I personally had a really bad experience at Shady Lane with my kindergartener. My child is still tramatised from the experience. He was constantly being disciplined for things he wasn't doing because he is a big child. I wouldn't think anything of it if I wouldn't have went into the school to observe it for myself. I was also treated very badly by all the staff especially the secretary. Personally I will never send my child there again.

Shady Lane Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2003
- a parent
After moving our daughter from a private school to Shady Lane, she absolutely blossomed. Mrs. Burris (the principal) asks for teachers to commit to the students, students to commit to learning and the parents to commit to supporting the students and teachers. We were initially worried about discipline, but we wish we would have moved our daughter to Shady Lane earlier. We love it!


Shady Lane Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2003
- a community member
The school is really improving they need more parent involvement. The principal asks for 110 percent involvement from the students, so we need that from the parents also.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shady Lane Elementary School
1444 Shady Ln Rd, Columbus, OH  43227
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (614) 365-5391
Last modified Shady Lane Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top